4.4 - 1342 Reviews

SIT Study Abroad

https://www.sit.edu/

SIT Study Abroad is a program provider offering 72 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Internship abroad programs in 38 countries such as Australia, Cameroon, Chile, and Ecuador.

A pioneer in experiential, field-based study abroad, SIT Study Abroad provides academically engaging semester and summer programs in Asia and the Pacific, Africa, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East for undergraduate students.

SIT Study Abroad programs examine critical global issues in a specific cultural and geographical context. Studying with host country faculty and living with families, students gain a deep appreciation for local cultures, develop language skills, and become immersed in diverse topics ranging from the politics of identity to post-conflict transformation, from global health to environmental policy.

For more information, visit our website at https://www.sit.edu/.

Study Abroad with SIT Study Abroad

OVERALL RATING 4.4
Based on 1342 Reviews
Healthcare
Admin
Housing
Academics
Social/Cultural
Overall Experience
April 21, 2024
02/18/2023 A Family Of 17! SIT Study Abroad: IHP - Cities in the 21st Century: People, Planning and Politics

"I learned a whole new discipline, gained long life friends, and had my eyes opened to whole new ways of being. It was an indispensable life experience."

Middlebury College
02/17/2023 I Enjoyed My Stay In Jordan SIT Study Abroad: Jordan - Refugees, Health, and Humanitarian Action

"Attending the SIT Jordan program was worthwhile. my experience abroad has broadened my perspectives about refugees and humanitarian crisis. I also learned more about Arab culture. Moreover, I gained hands-on experience about supporting the most vulnerable communities in Jordan by interning at the Jordanian NGO that works in HIV..."

University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
02/16/2023 Sit Argentina: Amazing Combination Of Environmental Science And Spanish Language SIT Study Abroad: Argentina: People, Environment, and Climate Change in Patagonia and Antarctica

"Absolutely! I gained the ability to adapt to another culture, the ability to speak Spanish effectively, confidence in myself, an understanding of a unique ecosystem, experience in a research lab, and many new friends!"

Allegheny College
02/13/2023 Life Changing Experience: Best Study Abroad Program! SIT Study Abroad: Australia - Rainforest, Reef, and Cultural Ecology

"I gained a lot of fieldwork experience, which is what I was looking for. I learned to be a hands on learner and feel as though I'm more of a versatile learner and worker. "

Oregon State University
02/12/2023 Best Experience Learning About Australia And Myself SIT Study Abroad: Australia - Rainforest, Reef, and Cultural Ecology

"I learned that I want to pursue environmental research after college and earn a Ph.D. I gained laboratory research and fieldwork experiences, which will help me when applying for future internships."

Oberlin College
01/30/2023 Great Experience For People Who Want To Study Food Systems SIT Study Abroad: IHP Food Systems - Agriculture, Sustainability, and Justice

"Deeper understanding of international food systems and food systems issues within different countries "

Middlebury College
01/25/2023 Enriching Learning Experience In One Of The Finest Cities In Latin America! SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Social Movements and Human Rights

"I gained a deeper understanding of what the concept of human rights entail and how important perspectives from other cultures are to understand it. It was 100% worthwhile and has changed the way I view everything I studied before it and everything I will study now. Could not be more glad that I chose this program. "

Wellesley College
01/23/2023 Oaxaca Para Siempre SIT Study Abroad: Mexico - Migration, Borders, and Transnational Communities

"I honestly learned so much that it is not feasible to put into words. I learned about imbedded internationally imposed structures of inequality, community, privilege, and so much more. It was 100% worthwhile."

Wellesley College
01/20/2023 Incredible And Wild Time In Madagascar SIT Study Abroad: Madagascar - Biodiversity and Natural Resource Management

"I loved how to put myself into uncomfortable situations, or situations that I could be nervous about, and make the most out of it. I learned to not take myself so seriously. "

Middlebury College
01/18/2023 Quirky Semester In Incredible Patagonia And Antarctica SIT Study Abroad: Argentina: People, Environment, and Climate Change in Patagonia and Antarctica

"Learned to say yes to more experiences and to not take things too seriously. "

Middlebury College
01/17/2023 An Unforgettably Experience In Field Biology In North Queensland, Australia SIT Study Abroad: Australia - Rainforest, Reef, and Cultural Ecology

"On top of this being an experience of a lifetime, I learned so much about myself, and my field of study. The program allowed for a lot of independence, and for individuals to get out of it what they put in. Academically, I feel like I learned more that in any semester of college up until this point. "

Middlebury College
01/11/2023 A Study Abroad Like No Other SIT Study Abroad: Samoa - Social and Environmental Change in Oceania

"I was able to experience a different way that life can be. This program gave me knowledge, perspective, community, and field research experience."

Wellesley College
01/10/2023 Amsterdam Is An Incredible City To Study In SIT Study Abroad: Netherlands - International Perspectives on Sexuality and Gender

"It was absolutely worthwhile. I learned so much from being on a program with primarily queer, non-binary, and trans folk, and learned more about myself and my wants from living abroad on my own. "

Brandeis University
01/06/2023 Exploring Iceland’s Spectacular Natural Beauty! SIT Study Abroad: Iceland - Climate Change and the Arctic

"I gained an understanding of Icelandic culture and how it may influence their sustainability. I met a lot of Icelandic people as well as fellow American students that I learned a lot from. I loved exploring the diverse and beautiful natural places. I also thought the Arctic Circle conference was a very valuable experience"

Middlebury College
01/05/2023 Surpassed All My Expectations!!!! An Amazing Experience! SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Social Movements and Human Rights

"I learned about myself and gained so much maturity, confidence, and patience. I felt like a part of the local culture with friends in my community. I gained new inspiration and perspective about social movements and human rights, especially in Latin America and the Global South, which you can't get at a US university. I felt emp..."

Occidental College
01/03/2023 Lifelong Friendships And Family Made SIT Study Abroad: Rwanda - Post-Genocide Restoration and Peacebuilding

"As someone who hadn't travelled internationally before, I gained a lot of confidence exploring and building connections with people on my own. I also made incredibly significant relationships that I will keep for a long time."

Wellesley College
12/22/2022 An Incredible Learning Experience With Support And Love SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Social Movements and Human Rights

"I learned so much about my self - my ability to be independent and carry myself in difficult situations. I also learned a lot about other life experiences, histories, and government systems. "

Vassar College
12/16/2022 Challenging But Rewarding SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Social Movements and Human Rights

"My abroad experience was worthwhile but I wish I had a better mental health support system on hand that the program provided."

Davidson College
12/14/2022 Endless Personal And Educational Growth SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Social Movements and Human Rights

"I learned about myself. Gained independence. Learned to trust my own abilities. Improved my Spanish. Saw more of the world. Learned how many more types of experiences are out there. Saw other ways to approach the idea of social movements. Spoke with local communities that I never could have imagined being able to meet without th..."

Knox College
12/07/2022 I Learned About The Differences And Similarities Public Health Structures SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Public Health in Urban Environments

"Yes, i learned to research a countries key indicators of a lot of things before going."

Brandeis University
09/19/2022 One Of The Best Experiences Of My Life SIT Study Abroad: Jordan - Geopolitics, International Relations, and the Future of the Middle East

"I learned so much about Jordan and the region at large on this program, and made so many connections that I will value for the rest of my life. I am a more well-rounded and open-minded person after my experience in Jordan, and I even learned a bit of a completely new language to me including a whole new alphabet! I wholeheartedl..."

Brandeis University
09/14/2022 Perfectly Amazing And Life Changing SIT Study Abroad: Chile - Cultural Identity, Social Justice, and Community Development

"I gained a lot of confidence and self assurance. So so worth it."

Brandeis University
09/12/2022 Challenging And Invigorating! SIT Study Abroad: Ecuador - Development, Politics and Languages

"With a focus on the goals of the program, I learned from the ground-up topics affecting daily life in Ecuador and my own. My world-view was expanded immensely from the immersion and challenges to my own ways of thought. I made great friends and experienced amazing places at the same time."

University of Nebraska - Lincoln
09/11/2022 A Splendid Semester In Ecuador SIT Study Abroad: Ecuador - Development, Politics and Languages

"I gained knowledge about a place and culture that I had not known a lot about before, greatly improved my language skills, made meaningful connections, and grew as an individual. "

Oberlin College
09/08/2022 Iceland: An Amazing Experience SIT Study Abroad: Iceland - Climate Change and the Arctic

"A lot about climate change in the Arctic, Icelandic history and culture, some of the language, and how to climate model. "

Bates College