4.4 - 1338 Reviews

SIT Study Abroad

https://www.sit.edu/

SIT Study Abroad is a program provider offering 70 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Internship abroad programs in 38 countries such as Australia, Cameroon, Chile, and Ecuador.

A pioneer in experiential, field-based study abroad, SIT Study Abroad provides academically engaging semester and summer programs in Asia and the Pacific, Africa, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East for undergraduate students.

SIT Study Abroad programs examine critical global issues in a specific cultural and geographical context. Studying with host country faculty and living with families, students gain a deep appreciation for local cultures, develop language skills, and become immersed in diverse topics ranging from the politics of identity to post-conflict transformation, from global health to environmental policy.

For more information, visit our website at https://www.sit.edu/.

Study Abroad with SIT Study Abroad

OVERALL RATING 4.4
Based on 1338 Reviews
Healthcare
Admin
Housing
Academics
Social/Cultural
Overall Experience
February 23, 2024
02/22/2024 Tashi Delek! SIT Study Abroad: Nepal - Tibetan and Himalayan Peoples

"I gained confidence in myself and ability to connect with anyone, as well as in my skills as a researcher and writer. "

Gustavus Adolphus College
02/18/2024 Incredible Adventure! SIT Study Abroad: Panama - Tropical Ecology, Marine Ecosystems, and Biodiversity Conservation

"I learned so much about so many different environments and communities"

School for International Training
02/18/2024 Learning And Growing In Peru SIT Study Abroad: Peru - Indigenous Peoples and Globalization

"It was absolutely worthwhile and I would do it again in a heartbeat. I learned so much about the Andean region and their beautiful culture."

Middlebury College
02/17/2024 Amazing SIT Study Abroad: Indonesia - Biodiversity and Conservation in Bali and Borneo

"I learned a lot, I learned about other cultures, religions, foods, architecture, nature, and ecology, I could go on and on about all that I gained from this program. "

Denison University
02/10/2024 It's Nepal, Man SIT Study Abroad: Nepal - Tibetan and Himalayan Peoples

"I learned how to operate freely but respectfully in a culture completely different to my own. I also learned how to think critically about complex issues without taking sides. "

Middlebury College
02/07/2024 An Exciting, Field Oriented Program! SIT Study Abroad: Australia - Rainforest, Reef, and Cultural Ecology

"Definitely worthwhile. ISP helped me to figure out what I want to do with my career."

Brandeis University
02/07/2024 Incredible, Amazing, Special Memories Made With Sit Panama! SIT Study Abroad: Panama - Tropical Ecology, Marine Ecosystems, and Biodiversity Conservation

"With SIT Panama, I grew in every imaginable way! Most notably, I have so much more confidence in my capabilities as a student, and as a thinker. Being a student is hard! I am more driven than ever to put myself into the work I am doing, and the work I will do after I graduate. My classmates and the people I was surrounded by whi..."

University of North Carolina - Asheville
02/01/2024 Good Bang For The Buck SIT Study Abroad: Panama - Tropical Ecology, Marine Ecosystems, and Biodiversity Conservation

"It was very worthwhile. I gained new perspectives and experienced many new unique things and environments."

Georgetown University
01/31/2024 Very Fun! Definitely Recommend! SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Public Health in Urban Environments

"I learned to be confident in navigating throughout a city on my own. I learned to be more confident in my spanish speaking skills. "

Wellesley College
01/30/2024 An Amazing Experience That Re Ignited My Passion For Learning In Community! SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Social Movements and Human Rights

"I learned what intellectualism, activism, and local organizing can look like outside the U.S. I also gained many parallels between social issues in the U.S. and Argentina, which enables me to put into use so much of the knowledge I gained from members of the community in Argentina. "

Wellesley College
01/26/2024 Awesome SIT Study Abroad: Nepal - Tibetan and Himalayan Peoples

"Learned how to adapt to a culture very far from my own."

Middlebury College
01/25/2024 An Unforgettable Experience! SIT Study Abroad: Belgrade, Budapest, and Vienna - Comparative European Perspectives on Conflict and Democracy

"I learned a lot about new authoritarianism, illiberalism, and populism in Serbia, Austria, and Hungary and how the history of conflict from the Ottomans to WWI and II, to the Yugoslav Wars, all have immense influence on the region to this day, through memory politics, social norms, and more."

Wellesley College
01/23/2024 Who Needs Europe When You Have Jordan! SIT Study Abroad: Jordan - Geopolitics, International Relations, and the Future of the Middle East

"Totally worthwhile; I learnt alot of the language, more about how to navigate a new country, make friends in a short amount of time, be comfortable with change and constant travel, integrate into a new family and environment, learn about ME politics from firsthand experiences. "

Hamilton College
01/19/2024 An Education In Spontaneity SIT Study Abroad: Indonesia - Arts, Religion, and Social Change

"It's hard to put into words what I gained. I could list practical skills, like experience in the field conducting research, language fluency, and cultural knowledge and familiarity, but the most important thing I gained was connections with people and places. This includes not just the Indonesians I met on the program, but my gr..."

Brandeis University
01/17/2024 Live Laugh Love Jordan SIT Study Abroad: Jordan - Geopolitics, International Relations, and the Future of the Middle East

"This is truly once in a lifetime. What you learn about the world around you and yourself will help you through the rest of your life."

University of South Florida
01/17/2024 Semester In Amman SIT Study Abroad: Jordan - Refugees, Health, and Humanitarian Action

"Living in Amman changed my perspective on the Middle East, international politics, and refugee matters. I'm so grateful for the experience and can't wait to go back."

Pomona College
01/10/2024 Exploring Northern Queensland SIT Study Abroad: Australia - Rainforest, Reef, and Cultural Ecology

"Worthwhile. My ISP gave me many research connections. "

Middlebury College
01/10/2024 I Had An Excellent Experience Traveling And Exploring Switzerland. SIT Study Abroad: Switzerland - Banking, Finance, and Social Responsibility

"I gained a myriad of professional and social connections, which made this entire experience worthwhile. "

Middlebury College
01/09/2024 Cultural And Linguistic Immersion In An Amazing, Lively City SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Public Health in Urban Environments

"In addition to the tangible class knowledge, living and figuring out a city on my own proved to be a great learning experience. Budgeting, figuring out public transit, and exploring a new place is a form of learning on its own."

Duke University
01/09/2024 A Really Fruitful And Growth Inducing Experience SIT Study Abroad Nepal: Development, Gender, and Social Change in the Himalaya

"Yes, it was worthwhile! I am super happy that I can speak in Nepali now. I also gained completely new perspectives on being an American in a foreign country, the drawbacks of development aid efforts, INGOs, etc. "

Middlebury College
01/08/2024 A Semester Full Of Fun, Exploration, And Independence SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Public Health in Urban Environments

"I greatly improved my Spanish, and with the public health courses/activities my passion and future career goals were reaffirmed. I also learned a lot about myself living alone in a new city, as well as about relationships between friends, family at home, and my host family."

Rice University
01/08/2024 Challenging But So Worth It! SIT Study Abroad: Chile - Cultural Identity, Social Justice, and Community Development

"I became so much more comfortable speaking Spanish, but overall I think my biggest takeaway was how much my confidence grew. I interviewed strangers, lived with a new family, navigated a new city, made new friends, and experienced new cultures. "

Bethel University
01/06/2024 I Built A Life For Myself In Buenos Aires SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Social Movements and Human Rights

"I grew significantly in my Spanish ability. I also gained a sense of independence that I did not in 3 years of college in the United States. It was incredibly worthwhile and will inform how I think about what I want to do/where I want to live after college. "

Macalester College
01/06/2024 Great City, Great People And Fascinating Classes! SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Public Health in Urban Environments

"I would recommend this program because I loved how intimacy and specificity of the program. The small group was great because we were able to all get to know one another really well and the program staff were able to be attentive to our unique needs. The small program also allowed us to go on many excursions and visits that woul..."

Claremont McKenna College