4.4 - 1232 Reviews

SIT Study Abroad

http://www.sit.edu

SIT Study Abroad is a program provider offering 98 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad, Internship, Intensive Language, and Online Program abroad programs in 47 countries such as Australia, Bolivia, Cameroon, and Chile.

A pioneer in experiential, field-based study abroad, SIT Study Abroad provides academically engaging semester and summer programs in Asia and the Pacific, Africa, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East for undergraduate students.

SIT Study Abroad programs examine critical global issues in a specific cultural and geographical context. Studying with host country faculty and living with families, students gain a deep appreciation for local cultures, develop language skills, and become immersed in diverse topics ranging from the politics of identity to post-conflict transformation, from global health to environmental policy.

Study Abroad with SIT Study Abroad

OVERALL RATING 4.4
Based on 1232 Reviews
Housing
Social/Cultural
Healthcare
Admin
Academics
Overall Experience
February 5, 2023
01/30/2023 Great Experience For People Who Want To Study Food Systems SIT Study Abroad/IHP: Food Systems: Agriculture, Sustainability, and Justice

"Deeper understanding of international food systems and food systems issues within different countries "

Middlebury College
01/25/2023 Enriching Learning Experience In One Of The Finest Cities In Latin America! SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Social Movements and Human Rights

"I gained a deeper understanding of what the concept of human rights entail and how important perspectives from other cultures are to understand it. It was 100% worthwhile and has changed the way I view everything I studied before it and everything I will study now. Could not be more glad that I chose this program. "

Wellesley College
01/23/2023 Oaxaca Para Siempre SIT Study Abroad Mexico: Migration, Borders, and Transnational Communities

"I honestly learned so much that it is not feasible to put into words. I learned about imbedded internationally imposed structures of inequality, community, privilege, and so much more. It was 100% worthwhile."

Wellesley College
01/18/2023 Quirky Semester In Incredible Patagonia And Antarctica SIT Study Abroad: Argentina: People, Environment, and Climate Change in Patagonia and Antarctica

"Learned to say yes to more experiences and to not take things too seriously. "

Middlebury College
01/17/2023 An Unforgettably Experience In Field Biology In North Queensland, Australia SIT Study Abroad: Australia - Rainforest, Reef, and Cultural Ecology

"On top of this being an experience of a lifetime, I learned so much about myself, and my field of study. The program allowed for a lot of independence, and for individuals to get out of it what they put in. Academically, I feel like I learned more that in any semester of college up until this point. "

Middlebury College
01/10/2023 Amsterdam Is An Incredible City To Study In SIT Study Abroad: Netherlands - International Perspectives on Sexuality and Gender

"It was absolutely worthwhile. I learned so much from being on a program with primarily queer, non-binary, and trans folk, and learned more about myself and my wants from living abroad on my own. "

Brandeis University
01/06/2023 Exploring Iceland’s Spectacular Natural Beauty! SIT Study Abroad: Iceland and Greenland - Climate Change and the Arctic

"I gained an understanding of Icelandic culture and how it may influence their sustainability. I met a lot of Icelandic people as well as fellow American students that I learned a lot from. I loved exploring the diverse and beautiful natural places. I also thought the Arctic Circle conference was a very valuable experience"

Middlebury College
01/05/2023 Surpassed All My Expectations!!!! An Amazing Experience! SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Social Movements and Human Rights

"I learned about myself and gained so much maturity, confidence, and patience. I felt like a part of the local culture with friends in my community. I gained new inspiration and perspective about social movements and human rights, especially in Latin America and the Global South, which you can't get at a US university. I felt emp..."

Occidental College
01/03/2023 Lifelong Friendships And Family Made SIT Study Abroad: Rwanda - Post-Genocide Restoration and Peacebuilding

"As someone who hadn't travelled internationally before, I gained a lot of confidence exploring and building connections with people on my own. I also made incredibly significant relationships that I will keep for a long time."

Wellesley College
12/22/2022 An Incredible Learning Experience With Support And Love SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Social Movements and Human Rights

"I learned so much about my self - my ability to be independent and carry myself in difficult situations. I also learned a lot about other life experiences, histories, and government systems. "

Vassar College
12/16/2022 Challenging But Rewarding SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Social Movements and Human Rights

"My abroad experience was worthwhile but I wish I had a better mental health support system on hand that the program provided."

Davidson College
12/14/2022 Endless Personal And Educational Growth SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Social Movements and Human Rights

"I learned about myself. Gained independence. Learned to trust my own abilities. Improved my Spanish. Saw more of the world. Learned how many more types of experiences are out there. Saw other ways to approach the idea of social movements. Spoke with local communities that I never could have imagined being able to meet without th..."

Knox College
12/07/2022 I Learned About The Differences And Similarities Public Health Structures SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Public Health in Urban Environments

"Yes, i learned to research a countries key indicators of a lot of things before going."

Brandeis University
09/19/2022 One Of The Best Experiences Of My Life SIT Study Abroad: Jordan - Geopolitics, International Relations, and the Future of the Middle East

"I learned so much about Jordan and the region at large on this program, and made so many connections that I will value for the rest of my life. I am a more well-rounded and open-minded person after my experience in Jordan, and I even learned a bit of a completely new language to me including a whole new alphabet! I wholeheartedl..."

Brandeis University
09/14/2022 Perfectly Amazing And Life Changing SIT Study Abroad: Chile - Cultural Identity, Social Justice, and Community Development

"I gained a lot of confidence and self assurance. So so worth it."

Brandeis University
09/12/2022 Challenging And Invigorating! SIT Study Abroad: Ecuador - Development, Politics and Languages

"With a focus on the goals of the program, I learned from the ground-up topics affecting daily life in Ecuador and my own. My world-view was expanded immensely from the immersion and challenges to my own ways of thought. I made great friends and experienced amazing places at the same time."

University of Nebraska - Lincoln
09/11/2022 A Splendid Semester In Ecuador SIT Study Abroad: Ecuador - Development, Politics and Languages

"I gained knowledge about a place and culture that I had not known a lot about before, greatly improved my language skills, made meaningful connections, and grew as an individual. "

Oberlin College
09/08/2022 Iceland: An Amazing Experience SIT Study Abroad: Iceland and Greenland - Climate Change and the Arctic

"A lot about climate change in the Arctic, Icelandic history and culture, some of the language, and how to climate model. "

Bates College
09/05/2022 Challenging Yet Fulfilling SIT Study Abroad: Switzerland - International Studies and Multilateral Diplomacy

"This program was very different from a regular university experience. We were encouraged to treat the city of Geneva and other cities in Europe as our classrooms. The independent research component helped us utilize resources, both private and public, which further gave us a glimpse at post graduate or other research opportuniti..."

Oberlin College
09/03/2022 If You Are Interested In Global Affairs, Geneva Is The Place To Be SIT Study Abroad: Switzerland - International Studies and Multilateral Diplomacy

"I expanded my network and learned a ton about human rights and humanitarian work. "

University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
08/29/2022 Sit's Study Abroad Program In Prague Was Amazing! SIT Study Abroad: Czech Republic - Arts and Social Change

"My study abroad experience was filled with cultural immersion and experiential learning. I learned how to live independently and interact effectively with people of different cultural backgrounds."

Villanova University
08/28/2022 Geoscience In The Himalaya By A Geographer SIT Study Abroad: Nepal - Geoscience in the Himalaya (Summer)

"During my seven weeks in Nepal for the Geoscience in the Himalaya program hosted by SIT Study Abroad during the summer of 2022 the program traveled everywhere from Kathmandu to Beni where we walked along the road to Kagbeni and back. On the way from Beni to Kagbeni our class was Earth Science Field Methods which was taught by a ..."

Valdosta State University
08/19/2022 Absolutely Life Changing!!! SIT Study Abroad: Nepal - Geoscience in the Himalaya (Summer)

"I grew mentally, academically, spiritually, and physically in the just 7 weeks. "

University of Colorado - Boulder
08/14/2022 A True Immersive Experience SIT Study Abroad: Panama - Tropical Ecology, Marine Ecosystems, and Biodiversity Conservation

"I grew infinitely more confident in my abilities as a person from the obstacles and challenges of this program. The program gives students freedom and choice that requires one to really step up and make their own choices. It means that this program is what you make of it in the best way possible. "

Gettysburg College