4.4 - 1364 Reviews

SIT Study Abroad

https://www.sit.edu/

SIT Study Abroad is a program provider offering 71 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Internship abroad programs in 38 countries such as Australia, Cameroon, Chile, and Ecuador.

A pioneer in experiential, field-based study abroad, SIT Study Abroad provides academically engaging semester and summer programs in Asia and the Pacific, Africa, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East for undergraduate students.

SIT Study Abroad programs examine critical global issues in a specific cultural and geographical context. Studying with host country faculty and living with families, students gain a deep appreciation for local cultures, develop language skills, and become immersed in diverse topics ranging from the politics of identity to post-conflict transformation, from global health to environmental policy.

For more information, visit our website at https://www.sit.edu/.

Study Abroad with SIT Study Abroad

OVERALL RATING 4.4
Based on 1364 Reviews
Healthcare
Admin
Housing
Academics
Social/Cultural
Overall Experience
July 15, 2024
07/11/2024 I Learned And Loved A Lot! SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Public Health in Urban Environments

"I learned a lot about social work and the structure of the healthcare system in Argentina."

Bates College
07/11/2024 Amazing People, Amazing Country, Amazing Experience! SIT Study Abroad: Indonesia - Arts, Religion, and Social Change

"New families all the way across the world, new friends, an appreciation for Indonesian culture, and so many amazing memories. I would do it 100 times over again if I had the chance. "

Washington and Lee University
07/10/2024 A Great Experience In An Often Overlooked City! SIT Study Abroad: Belgrade, Budapest, and Vienna - Comparative European Perspectives on Conflict and Democracy

"I've been abroad a few times before this experience, so I couldn't help but compare and contrast my experiences with each other. However, this semester was overall great and I would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone looking for a semester in a city that's not traditionally chosen by US college kids! "

Colorado College
07/09/2024 A Great Experience! SIT Study Abroad: Belgrade, Budapest, and Vienna - Comparative European Perspectives on Conflict and Democracy

"I gained academic and professional knowledge through my coursework and internship during independent study month. I now have a unique perspective to bring back to my academic endeavors in the US, as well as my future career. I also gained confidence from trying new things and learning to adapt in a new environment."

San Diego State University
07/09/2024 The Greatest And Most Peaceful Time In My Life. SIT Study Abroad: Chile - Cultural Identity, Social Justice, and Community Development

"I gained valuable friendships and learned to be independent. It also reassured my aspiration to work in the nonprofit sector and want to continue to help the Latinx community. It showed me different ways that I could do this."

Gettysburg College
07/08/2024 What A Time To Be In Argentina! SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Social Movements and Human Rights

"Language skills, lifelong friends, and the opportunity to be pushed outside of my comfort zone and learn to live in a big city. It was absolutely worthwhile and I would do it again if I could. "

Georgetown University
07/07/2024 Reliving The Rainforest SIT Study Abroad: Australia - Rainforest, Reef, and Cultural Ecology

"I learned a lot about the biota of another continent and about how to live in another country. I also learned a lot about collecting data and writing scientific papers."

Middlebury College
07/04/2024 Best 3 Months Of My Life! SIT Study Abroad: Panama - Tropical Ecology, Marine Ecosystems, and Biodiversity Conservation

"This program really pushed me out of my comfort zone and made me a lot more comfortable interacting with people I've never met before. I learned so much about the many different cultures and peoples represented in Panama, and about a range of biological, environmental, and social issues. "

Gettysburg College
07/04/2024 Healing, Reconnecting, And Hope For The Future. SIT Study Abroad: Australia - Sustainability and Environmental Action

"Oh my god-- SIT Australia: Sustainability and Environmental Action did not disappoint. I came to this program weary, burnt out, and cynical about our individual ability to make meaningful change in the face of climate change, rising threat of fascism, deepening social inequality, etc. This program reconnected me to just how good..."

Grinnell College
07/03/2024 A Great Semester Exploring Argentina & Antarctica! SIT Study Abroad: Argentina: People, Environment, and Climate Change in Patagonia and Antarctica

"I improved my Spanish and learned a lot in each course. I also learned how to live well with my host family, assimilate to a foreign culture, and a lot about how I see the world. "

Middlebury College
06/28/2024 Great Experience! SIT Study Abroad: Iceland - Climate Change and the Arctic

"Learning about Icelandic culture Scientific writing and talking more about climate change Independent living "

Bowdoin College
06/26/2024 Best Four Months Of My Life!! SIT Study Abroad: Iceland - Climate Change and the Arctic

"I learned that I can be more independent than I originally thought. This program really encouraged you to navigate issues on your own which taught me a lot of important skills. It taught me what aspects in life are really important to me and gave me more of an idea of what I want my future to look like. It was 100% worthwhile, n..."

Franklin & Marshall College
06/25/2024 Experience Of A Lifetime SIT Study Abroad: Iceland - Climate Change and the Arctic

"Gave me a new perspective of the world. I especially learned a lot during the ISP period, doing research with the Icelandic Seal Center. "

University of Washington
06/24/2024 Inspiring, Transformative, Cultivating Intercultural And Biophilic Mindsets SIT Study Abroad: Ecuador - Development, Politics and Languages

"I feel very confident in my ability to communicate in Spanish. I have made lifelong connections (program peers, local friends, and homestays). I have discovered different perspectives, alternative ways of living and knowing. Deepened intercultural and biophilic mindsets. "

California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
06/23/2024 Such A Rewarding And Fun Experience SIT Study Abroad: Jordan - Counseling & Humanitarian Action Internship

"-learned alot about the humanitarian and refugee crisis and the role imperialism and colonialism had creating the crisis - I learned a lot about humanitarian standards "

Wellesley College
06/22/2024 Immersive Experience Learning About Immigration SIT Study Abroad: Mexico - Migration, Borders, and Transnational Communities

"I was able to see first-hand the conditions of both of Mexico's borders. I gained a new sense that immigration is the area that I want to pursue. "

Washington and Lee University
06/20/2024 An Unforgettable, Educational Experience SIT Study Abroad: Panama - Tropical Ecology, Marine Ecosystems, and Biodiversity Conservation

"Not only did I learn information from my professors during our units, but I also learned life lessons during the program. I learned how to be on my own. I learned how to step out of my comfort zone when meeting new people and when speaking a different language. I learned how to go with the flow because not everything can go to p..."

Ursinus College
06/18/2024 Once In A Lifetime Experiences, Over And Over Again SIT Study Abroad: Ecuador - Comparative Ecology and Conservation

"Absolutely worthwhile! I got many more hours' worth of fieldwork experience in a variety of sub-disciplines and exposure to topics that are helping me to inform future career choices, as well as the opportunity to see through an intensive research project by myself, increasing my skills and confidence as a scientist. I also gain..."

Pomona College
06/17/2024 Changed My Life In 10000 Ways SIT Study Abroad: Panama - Tropical Ecology, Marine Ecosystems, and Biodiversity Conservation

"Social skills, confidence traveling abroad, learning a language, overcoming language barriers, field methods, cultural immersion, place-based learning, seeing insane plants and animals, meeting incredible people from all walks of life, being reminded of the innate beauty and kindness of people. "

Middlebury College
06/14/2024 Truly A Once In A Lifetime Experience SIT Study Abroad: Panama - Tropical Ecology, Marine Ecosystems, and Biodiversity Conservation

"I gained a broader perspective on life, especially learning about people from different backgrounds than my own, and a deeper understanding of the overlap between environmental and social themes. It was definitely worthwhile! "

Georgetown University
06/06/2024 Awesome Semester Abroad SIT Study Abroad: Belgrade, Budapest, and Vienna - Comparative European Perspectives on Conflict and Democracy

"I got to learn about the history, culture, and politics of a whole new region about which I knew nothing before. I also got experience living in another country for the first time and navigating a brand new city in my day to day life."

Brandeis University
05/19/2024 Experience And Learn In 3 Different Cities SIT Study Abroad: IHP - Cities in the 21st Century: People, Planning and Politics

"I feel as though I have learned a lot through the experience and that it was definitely worthwhile. "

Wellesley College
04/11/2024 Embrace The Unkown! SIT Study Abroad: Vietnam - Culture, Social Change and Development

"i learned how to travel around SEA and live with another family and bridge language barrier and be grateful"

Middlebury College
03/19/2024 Take Lots Of Pictures And Do Everything!! SIT Study Abroad: Australia - Rainforest, Reef, and Cultural Ecology

"I learned so many field skills and got so much hands-on education about Australian ecology and conservation. Australia is one of the best places to learn about conservation and ecology in my opinion. I wish I could go back and do it all again!! Everyday we would go hiking to see different areas of rainforests or reefs, most day..."

Butler University
03/16/2024 A Beautiful Program, But Be Up For A Challenge SIT Study Abroad: Samoa - Social and Environmental Change in Oceania

"I learned a lot about the local culture and life in Samoa. I also learned a lot about the environment, how it has changed, and how this impacts the community and culture. I think it was very worthwhile, especially as someone who is studying the relationship between people and the environment."

Pomona College