4.5 - 825 Reviews

DIS - Study Abroad

http://www.DISabroad.org

DIS - Study Abroad is a program provider offering 3 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Research abroad programs in 2 countries such as Denmark and Sweden.

DIS is a non-profit study abroad foundation established in Denmark in 1959, with locations in Copenhagen and Stockholm. DIS provides semester, academic year, and summer programs taught in English, and offers high-impact learning experiences for upper-division undergraduate students from distinguished North American colleges and universities. The intellectually challenging curriculum is broad, cutting edge, and enriched by experiential learning components, including faculty-led study tours across Europe. It provides students with opportunities for meaningful cultural engagement and personal growth, which is further enriched through housing and extracurricular offerings.

Study Abroad with DIS - Study Abroad

OVERALL RATING 4.5
Based on 825 Reviews
Housing
Social/Cultural
Academics
Admin
Healthcare
Overall Experience
January 16, 2018
01/15/2018 An Engaging Experience Filled With Incredible Scandinavian Architecture. DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned that sometimes you need to get comfortable with being uncomfortable because sometimes that is when your most profound experiences occur."

Wellesley College
01/13/2018 Good For Traveling Europe DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"The main take away was that I got to experience living on my own in Europe which was not easy at all and that I got to travel all over Europe."

Middlebury College
01/13/2018 Meh DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned how to cook "

Middlebury College
01/08/2018 Great Experience DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned more about myself and got to experience different cultures of different countries. It was very worthwhile."

Middlebury College
01/07/2018 Abroad In Copenhagen DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned how to function as an independent adult in a foreign city. Definitely worthwhile."

Middlebury College
01/04/2018 Life Changing. DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I gained an international perspective on a country with a welfare state. "

Middlebury College
01/04/2018 Copenhagen Is Amazing! DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"great experience esp studying environmental studies"

Middlebury College
01/03/2018 Wonderful Semester If You Already Have Friends Coming With You! DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Living with the local family is an eye-opening experience. Keep an open mind, or else it won't be a study abroad experience you've dreamt of."

Wellesley College
01/03/2018 Enlightening DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"This was probably one of the most enlightening 4 months of my life. It was so worthwhile. DIS had a great balance of academics and free time for exploring. Often, courses took a culturally relevant approach, allowing me to experience my subject in a way I never could have imagined."

Wellesley College
01/03/2018 Could've Been Better (But Also Could've Been Worse) DIS Stockholm: Semester

"I spent a lot of my time focusing on my already existent friendships and boundaries with adults and other students. I think that time focusing was definitely worthwhile. I learned that I had strength within myself I didn't even know I had. "

Wellesley College
12/23/2017 Dis Stockholm DIS Stockholm: Semester

"I learned a lot about Sweden through my host family and through my courses. It was really cool to learn about the fields I have chosen to study, through a Swedish lens. I loved my host family, I loved the friends I made (a lot of whom were also homestay students), and I loved Stockholm. This program was definitely worthwhile. "

Brandeis University
12/20/2017 Wish I Could Go Back! DIS Stockholm: Semester

"I gained a lot of perspective on a unique culture that I previously knew nothing about. It was extremely worthwhile and I would recommend studying abroad to everyone."

Brandeis University
10/12/2017 Dream Semester For Design Lovers DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Life skills, new ways of thinking about design, lifelong friends, and a bit of Danish!"

Wellesley College
10/09/2017 I Learned More About Myself Than About Denmark DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Stronger design skills, more confidence and independence, travel skills, to enjoy life more for what is happening presently around me. "

Middlebury College
09/25/2017 Glamorous Excuse To Travel Europe DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Didn't change my life. Danish culture is very similar to western culture and everyone speaks English, so it won't "change your life" or make you grow. It might, however, be the best time of your life. Program isn't rigorous so it's possible to travel every weekend and see Europe, but you won't feel any attachment to Denmark. Sta..."

Claremont McKenna College
09/24/2017 A Growth Experience Filled With Fun, Learning, And Adventuring DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned how to be independent. That I really need meaning in my life, and part of that is because I lacked that in Denmark because I was having so much fun. "

Brandeis University
08/31/2017 Once In A Lifetime Experience DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"It was very interesting and a culture shock. It was cool to compare and contrast lifestyles."

Brandeis University
08/27/2017 The Summer Of A Lifetime! DIS Copenhagen: Summer

"My time abroad allowed me to become more independent. This was the first time I had been abroad by myself and I was a little nervous for it. But as soon as I got there, I was greeted by DIS staff that was friendly and made the transition easy. "

Trinity University
08/25/2017 The Bread Was Amazing DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"That food and fitness are very important to me"

Brandeis University
08/15/2017 Lived In A Dream World For Six Weeks! DIS Copenhagen: Summer

"I learned a lot about myself and was also very inspired by the Danish culture. It was definitely worth while "

Trinity University
08/12/2017 Integrating Into A Culturally Rich Country DIS Copenhagen: Summer

"I learned to appreciate the culture and enjoy the day as it comes rather than trying to figure out the future constantly. Danes like hygge, which can be understood as comfort, and it was very apparent in the city and the way people acted. There were blankets on every chair in an open cafe and there was no sense of rushing to eve..."

Trinity University
08/04/2017 Take Ii: Copenhagen After Sweden DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I feel far more globally aware as a result of my time abroad. The term "global citizen" is quite corny to consider when talking about yourself when you return from being abroad. Nonetheless, it is quite true. Being abroad undoubtedly allowed me to question at times both the culture I come from and the culture I was visiting. ..."

Middlebury College
07/24/2017 I Thought The Program Was Really Good But Mostly Interacted With Americans DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I gained some independence and got a chance to travel all around Europe."

Brandeis University
07/19/2017 Dis Spring Semester Review DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned that I was much stronger than I thought; that I could move to a foreign country and within four months make it into a home, with friends and meaningful events in my life that I wouldn't have had if I stayed home. I learned how to travel, and how essential it is to travel and see new places and people. "

Trinity University