4.5 - 801 Reviews

DIS - Study Abroad

http://www.DISabroad.org

DIS - Study Abroad is a program provider offering 3 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Research abroad programs in 2 countries such as Denmark and Sweden.

DIS is a Danish non-profit study abroad institution in Copenhagen offering semester, academic year, and summer programs taught in English. Established in 1959, DIS offers American students intensive, rigorous coursework enriched by field studies, hands-on learning opportunities, and study tours in Denmark and across Europe. These ensure students gain academic knowledge and intercultural leadership skills to prepare for their future careers in a globalized world. DIS students are usually undergraduate juniors or seniors from the most selective U.S. universities and 90% intend to go to graduate school.

DIS offers 190 elective courses and 22 different academic programs. The vast majority of courses are taught by Danish faculty. There is an average of 20 students per class. The three signature features of DIS are: (1) high academic quality, (2) course-integrated study tours all over Europe, (3) immersion opportunities allowing you to integrate into the Danish culture and meet Danes. Disabroad

Study Abroad with DIS - Study Abroad

OVERALL RATING 4.5
Based on 801 Reviews
Housing
Social/Cultural
Academics
Admin
Healthcare
Overall Experience
July 28, 2017
07/24/2017 I Thought The Program Was Really Good But Mostly Interacted With Americans DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I gained some independence and got a chance to travel all around Europe."

Brandeis University
07/19/2017 Dis Spring Semester Review DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned that I was much stronger than I thought; that I could move to a foreign country and within four months make it into a home, with friends and meaningful events in my life that I wouldn't have had if I stayed home. I learned how to travel, and how essential it is to travel and see new places and people. "

Trinity University
07/17/2017 Home Is Where The Heart Is (So Take Your Housing Choice Seriously!) DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I became more independent, met different people from all over the world, and really dug my heels into Danish culture. Absolutely worth it."

Middlebury College
07/13/2017 Copenhagen DIS Copenhagen: Summer

"I felt like a full blown adult. I was able to take care of myself and get around in a completely new city. I was able to explore different sides of myself in a completely new setting."

Trinity University
07/13/2017 Left My Heart In Denmark DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Absolutely. I gained a sense of calm and confidence that I didn't have before. Traveling on my own gave me a sense of independence and that I can handle whatever life throws my way. Living with a host family gave me a new appreciation for work/life balance and a determination to maintain it I haven't had before. "

Wellesley College
07/13/2017 Denmark Is Paradise! DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned about the culture and architecture of Denmark, as well surrounding European countries. I also gained many skills in travelling on my own, and getting around the city comfortably. "

Wellesley College
07/11/2017 A Great Time DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"It was very worthwhile."

Wellesley College
07/10/2017 The Best Six Weeks DIS Copenhagen: Summer

"I think studying abroad is just a priceless experience. It was worthwhile to me. "

University of Georgia
06/30/2017 Semester In Copenhagen DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Living in Copenhagen for six months was a dream. Classes were interesting, but were not too challenging. It is a good balance between school and fun. "

Trinity University
06/30/2017 Great Mix Of Both Unique Academics, Experiencing Copenhagen, And Travel! DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Learned a lot about independence, becoming comfortable not knowing the language spoken around you. "

Middlebury College
06/26/2017 Host Family Helpful DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"learned to be independent, confident, observant. how to evaluate others cultures"

Brandeis University
06/26/2017 Academically Mediocre And Socially Fun DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I made some amazing friends. It was worthwhile."

Middlebury College
06/25/2017 Spring Semester Abroad DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Studying abroad was definitely worthwhile because I was able to live with a host family and gain a better understanding of how a social welfare state works and compare it to the US. "

Brandeis University
06/20/2017 An Amazing Experience I Will Never Forget DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned so much about myself and about other cultures"

Brandeis University
06/19/2017 Going Abroad Was The Best Decision I Made In College DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learnt a tremendous amount about Denmark, and from my classes. I am now doing an internship in Denmark for the summer at DONG Energy in wind power. Most worthwhile. "

Brandeis University
06/18/2017 Great Experience To Travel In Europe, Didn't Love Dis Program Or Classes DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"How to be independent, engage with people from all different cultures, budgeting..."

Middlebury College
06/16/2017 Food, History, Castles, And Sarcasm DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I gained a more balanced perspective of my life and how I like to live and it challenged me and trained me to be more flexible. Definitely a worthwhile experience."

Brandeis University
06/15/2017 Globalization, Racism, Lonely, Contentment DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned how to be independent and how I can be comfortable being myself. "

Wellesley College
06/15/2017 Ditch Dis, Do Copenhagen On Your Own DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I am so glad I studied abroad, I just wish I had done an independent program at a local university. I feel like I have better learned how I am as a person in isolation, and how to take care of myself better. "

Wellesley College
06/15/2017 Let Yourself Be Open To New Experiences And Live Carefree DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned how to be more independent, take risks, be more open-minded, and have a greater worldview! This experience was definitely worthwhile, I would do it all over again! "

Brandeis University
06/15/2017 Searching For Hygge! DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Danish pastries and chai lattes make everything better. I also learned how to become more independent and flexible. "

Brandeis University
06/14/2017 Feels Like Second Home DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"The teachers and the courses make me more clear about what my real passion. And the teachers gave meaningful advices to expand my career in environmental studies. "

Brandeis University
06/12/2017 Copenhagen Is Amazing, But Dis Is An American Bubble DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned so much -- I got to travel to so many amazing places, learn a lot about Scandinavian culture, speak a little Danish, and enjoy all the amazing things Europe has to offer. "

Middlebury College
06/09/2017 Good, Not Fantastic DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I was able to take a much needed break from Wellesley's academics and campus life, in turn giving me a greater appreciation for it. The change of pace and scenery made me see how much I love my school, even if it can be stressful. Going abroad gave me an opportunity to get to know myself as a flourishing young adult, whether thr..."

Wellesley College
06/08/2017 Indefinite Stream Of Memories DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I was terrified to study abroad, as I had never done anything like nor had I ever been away from my family for such an extended period of time. All of my fears were eased as early as the first week, when I met some truly incredible students both on my program and in my residence building. The culture is simply amazing- minimalis..."

Brandeis University