4.4 - 870 Reviews

DIS - Study Abroad

http://www.DISabroad.org

DIS - Study Abroad is a program provider offering 3 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Research abroad programs in 2 countries such as Sweden and Denmark.

DIS is a non-profit study abroad foundation established in Denmark in 1959, with locations in Copenhagen and Stockholm. DIS provides semester, academic year, and summer programs taught in English, and offers high-impact learning experiences for upper-division undergraduate students from distinguished North American colleges and universities. The intellectually challenging curriculum is broad, cutting edge, and enriched by experiential learning components, including faculty-led study tours across Europe. It provides students with opportunities for meaningful cultural engagement and personal growth, which is further enriched through housing and extracurricular offerings.

Study Abroad with DIS - Study Abroad

OVERALL RATING 4.4
Based on 870 Reviews
Housing
Social/Cultural
Academics
Admin
Healthcare
Overall Experience
July 15, 2018
07/12/2018 Transformative DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I accomplished everything I wanted to accomplish."

Trinity University
07/06/2018 An Amazing Experience In A Fantastic C Ity DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned a lot about Danish culture, and ended up developing a real affinity for it. Great place, great people. I also learned about areas of neuroscience that aren't typically taught at the undergraduate level in the U.S., making it a really unique experience."

Middlebury College
07/03/2018 I Want To Live In Denmark Forever DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I have so many new friends and am obsessed with Denmark, and I know what I want to do for my career!"

Middlebury College
07/02/2018 Amazing! DIS Stockholm Semester

"Perspective "

Middlebury College
07/02/2018 Sweden Is A Better America DIS Stockholm Semester

"Sweden is a wonderful country with lovely people. It is very cold and dark during spring semester. "

Middlebury College
06/30/2018 Spring In Copenhagen: A Crash Course In Budgeting And Travel DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned a lot about how to budget and how to travel."

Middlebury College
06/29/2018 Great Experience In A Great Country. DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned a new language, made new friends, and traveled the world. "

Middlebury College
06/19/2018 Great Learning Experience! DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Becoming better acquainted with Danish culture was definitely worthwhile; understanding some of the issues in modern Danish society gave me a better appreciation for the United States and other countries I had previously visited. At the same time, I'm appreciative of the opportunity to have learned about Danish culture, understo..."

Wellesley College
06/19/2018 Lots Of Opportunity To Travel DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I really enjoyed all the traveling I was able to do. "

Wellesley College
06/11/2018 A Snippet Of Scandinavia, Hygge In Denmark DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I achieved my goals of being on this program: taking design classes that are not offered at my home institution and living in a Scandinavian country and exploring other European cities. In that aspect, I'd say the four months were successful. However, if I could choose again, I'd choose a full immersion program rather than DIS, ..."

Wellesley College
06/10/2018 Left A Piece Of My Heart In Copenhagen And I'm Going Back For It DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I actually learned a lot about myself and my current motivations and goals. "

Wellesley College
06/06/2018 Amazing Once In A Lifetime Experience In Copenhagen! DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I definitely learned to be more independent and stand up for myself. It can be difficult, especially while meeting so many new people to continue to remember who you are, but I definitely did! Going abroad was definitely worthwhile, because it forced me to break out of my shell. "

Brandeis University
05/30/2018 A Great But Expensive Semester DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"While I suppose I learned a bit academically, in reality I learned much more about living independently, the logistics of traveling, and getting by without speaking the local language (mainly in countries outside Western Europe where most people speak English)."

Middlebury College
05/24/2018 Good Exploring Experience Around Europe DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I have learnt a lot about Danish culture, education, and scientific research. It was worthwhile in terms of having a hub/home in Europe while exploring the region and of learning about the country im depth."

Brandeis University
05/23/2018 Copenhagen: A New Family In A People's City DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned a lot in my subject matter, but also grew as a person. "

Brandeis University
05/23/2018 Magical Copenhagen DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I gained a ton: more confidence to go out of my comfort zone, appreciation of the world and different cultures/histories, independance, strength in my Jewish identity and more friends/networks! Definitely worthwhile. This experience abroad is a door to many other opportunities in the future!!"

Brandeis University
05/18/2018 I Loved Dis And Highly Recommend It To Anyone Thinking Of Studying Abroad! DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Through my classes, field studies and study tour, I gained a new understanding of the health care systems throughout Europe. Through traveling, I also learned how to be more independent and outgoing. I learned a lot about Danish culture as well and grew to deeply appreciate Danish society."

Brandeis University
05/18/2018 I Promise, The Weather Will Get Warmer! DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Yes, the abroad experience was amazing. I learned to be more open minded and when looking at cultural norms and differences to ask why Danes do things a certain way rather than just accept/dismiss them. Flexibility is also a large part of study abroad (ie. the pending country-wide strike that almost prevented us from leaving the..."

Brandeis University
05/16/2018 Amazing Program And Wonderful City DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned independence, and proved to myself that I could live in a foreign country by myself. I made some great friends from DIS. I was also able to travel throughout Europe, which was great. And I also learned a lot from my classes. It was definitely a worthwhile program."

Brandeis University
05/13/2018 A Great Opportunity To Live In Another Country. DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned to adjust to life in another county and it was worthwhile. "

Brandeis University
05/12/2018 Copenhagen Is A Fun, Cold Place That You'll Cherish! DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I definitely became more independent. I traveled many times and now feel very comfortable going to other countries, planning itineraries, and understanding public transportation. "

Brandeis University
05/12/2018 Stockholm: A Slow Roasted Love DIS Stockholm Semester

"My experience was incredibly worthwhile. The field studies along with the interactive classroom setting was very refreshing. I got to explore Stockholm and other European countries and built invaluable friendships."

Brandeis University
05/12/2018 Amazing Experience And Exposure To Alternative Health Care Model DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"yes, I gained a new perspective on health care and definitely expand my knowledge of the medical and biomedical industries"

Brandeis University
04/10/2018 I Loved Abroad. DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"It was extremely worthwhile. I learned about living in a city, and living among people who were not American and adjusting to a new culture. "

Middlebury College
03/03/2018 Best Four Months Of My Life! DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"DIS Copenhagen changed me for the better. Yes, cliche, I know, but beyond true. I left having gained more independence and confidence, as well as best friends to love and support for the rest of my life. My life was enriched and every day was tinged with gold. My happiness level was through the roof, even when stressed about sch..."

Connecticut College