4.4 - 1146 Reviews

DIS - Study Abroad

http://www.DISabroad.org

DIS - Study Abroad is a program provider offering 3 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Research abroad programs in 2 countries such as Denmark and Sweden.

DIS is a non-profit study abroad foundation established in Denmark in 1959, with locations in Copenhagen and Stockholm. DIS provides semester, academic year, and summer programs taught in English, and offers high-impact learning experiences for upper-division undergraduate students from distinguished North American colleges and universities. The intellectually challenging curriculum is broad, cutting edge, and enriched by experiential learning components, including faculty-led study tours across Europe. It provides students with opportunities for meaningful cultural engagement and personal growth, which is further enriched through housing and extracurricular offerings.

Study Abroad with DIS - Study Abroad

OVERALL RATING 4.4
Based on 1146 Reviews
Admin
Housing
Social/Cultural
Academics
Healthcare
Overall Experience
October 2, 2022
09/07/2022 Best Semester Ever DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned how other countries were experienced by locals as opposed to just tourists. It made me excited to continue traveling and return to Copenhagen one day."

Middlebury College
09/06/2022 A Short But Deep Dive Into Sweden DIS Stockholm Semester

"It was extremely worthwhile. I matured in some aspects, found ways to cope with difficult emotions and situations, and learned a heck of a lot about Sweden and Swedish culture/history."

Middlebury College
09/05/2022 Once In A Lifetime Experience DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"My semester abroad made me a more confident person. I gained enormous confidence in my abilities to fend for myself in a foreign country, make new friends and have fun while doing so"

Wellesley College
08/29/2022 A Must Have Experience DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"International exposure. Seeing how other people interact and treat eachother. Learning how to solo travel. Living on your own away from all of your parents and friends"

Brandeis University
08/26/2022 Copenhagen Is The Best DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"It was very worthwhile and I learned so much and became much more worldly and independent."

Brandeis University
08/24/2022 An Unforgettable Semester DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I feel as though I learned a lot while not being overwhelmed with school work, which gave me the time to travel and experience both the local and international cultures. I also made some incredible, lifelong friends from universities all across the U.S. "

Middlebury College
08/23/2022 My Time In Copenhagen DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"It was very worthwhile and went to great lengths to develop my independence as a person"

Middlebury College
08/16/2022 Copenhagen Was A Cultural Adventure! DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Prior to going abroad, I knew almost nothing about the Scandinavian countries and the Nordic region. I think my main takeaway is that I am so happy to have gained so much cultural understanding and political background to the country and the surrounding areas."

Brandeis University
08/11/2022 Exploring Freely DIS Stockholm Semester

"Studying abroad taught me how to be a more self-sufficient adult and showed me just how diverse the world was. The relationships I built are irreplaceable and I'm grateful for the opportunity to have emersed myself in an environment so different to the one I was used to."

Brandeis University
08/08/2022 Incredible Experience DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned about different cultures, met incredible people, and got to see different parts of the world. It was 100% worthwhile and I would highly recommend that anyone who has the chance to participate does."

Middlebury College
08/08/2022 I Learned About Myself DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"More independence and personal growth"

Brandeis University
08/07/2022 Dis Copenhagen Supportive Program, Beautiful City DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"My semester at DIS helped me to understand my academic interests in a different socio-cultural context, develop connections with students from a range of collegiate experiences, and gain independence to explore the city on my own terms. It was such a wonderful and growing experience!"

Wellesley College
08/03/2022 Wild, Fun, Sophisticated, Independence DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"i learned so much about danish culture. learned a lot about myself"

Middlebury College
08/01/2022 Copenhagen Has My Heart DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Beyond getting to see a new part of the world and experience living in a different culture, I learned so many life skills and made so amazing memories that I will carry with me forever!"

Brandeis University
07/29/2022 A Life Changing Semester In Copenhagen! DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned so much about myself, my academic subjects, and Denmark. I gained a huge appreciation for Danish culture, made lovely friends, and fell in love with the city of Copenhagen. It is the most amazing place to explore and live in."

Brandeis University
07/29/2022 Falling In Love With Stockholm DIS Stockholm Semester

"I learned a lot about history, politics, traveling, and myself, and yes it was completely worthwhile. "

Brandeis University
07/29/2022 Best Semester Ever DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Independence and a yearning to see the world. 100% worth it. "

Brandeis University
07/29/2022 A Wonderful Unique Insightful Experience DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I gained some maturity and independence, setting my own schedule, and exploring while learning an incredible amount in each of my classes through the field studies which added vibrancy to the course material and a collegiality to the experience as well. "

Brandeis University
07/28/2022 Fun DIS Stockholm Semester

"na"

Middlebury College
07/21/2022 I Fell In Love With Copenhagen DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned how to be an independent traveler and how to handle myself in a completely foreign situation. I feel like I know Copenhagen incredibly well after my experience, and I have fallen in love with the city and Danish culture. This was a life-changing experience, and I am so grateful for all of the resources and exploration ..."

Wellesley College
07/20/2022 Danish Family Life Is Great DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I made great connections with my homestay family and learned that I really enjoy interacting with little kids."

Brandeis University
07/20/2022 Fun DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Got to travel a lot"

Middlebury College
07/19/2022 Life Changing DIS Stockholm Semester

"Every second of it was worthwhile. I learned how to step out of my comfort zone and try new things. I have definitely changed as a person. I am more spontaneous and appreciative of the people and nature around me."

Brandeis University
07/17/2022 Dismissed Immediately And Stranded In Europe!!! DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"nothing"

University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
07/17/2022 Great Opportunity For Travel And New Experiences DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I had the opportunity to take pretty interesting classes but not be stressed about academics. There were plenty of travel breaks to go elsewhere in Europe. Copenhagen is a really fun and safe city, albeit very expensive. I met lots of new friends and had a great experience overall. "

Middlebury College