4.5 - 812 Reviews

DIS - Study Abroad

http://www.DISabroad.org

DIS - Study Abroad is a program provider offering 3 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Research abroad programs in 2 countries such as Denmark and Sweden.

DIS is a non-profit study abroad foundation established in Denmark in 1959, with locations in Copenhagen and Stockholm. DIS provides semester, academic year, and summer programs taught in English, and offers high-impact learning experiences for upper-division undergraduate students from distinguished North American colleges and universities. The intellectually challenging curriculum is broad, cutting edge, and enriched by experiential learning components, including faculty-led study tours across Europe. It provides students with opportunities for meaningful cultural engagement and personal growth, which is further enriched through housing and extracurricular offerings.

Study Abroad with DIS - Study Abroad

OVERALL RATING 4.5
Based on 812 Reviews
Housing
Social/Cultural
Academics
Admin
Healthcare
Overall Experience
November 18, 2017
10/12/2017 Dream Semester For Design Lovers DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Life skills, new ways of thinking about design, lifelong friends, and a bit of Danish!"

Wellesley College
10/09/2017 I Learned More About Myself Than About Denmark DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Stronger design skills, more confidence and independence, travel skills, to enjoy life more for what is happening presently around me. "

Middlebury College
09/25/2017 Glamorous Excuse To Travel Europe DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Didn't change my life. Danish culture is very similar to western culture and everyone speaks English, so it won't "change your life" or make you grow. It might, however, be the best time of your life. Program isn't rigorous so it's possible to travel every weekend and see Europe, but you won't feel any attachment to Denmark. Sta..."

Claremont McKenna College
09/24/2017 A Growth Experience Filled With Fun, Learning, And Adventuring DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned how to be independent. That I really need meaning in my life, and part of that is because I lacked that in Denmark because I was having so much fun. "

Brandeis University
08/31/2017 Once In A Lifetime Experience DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"It was very interesting and a culture shock. It was cool to compare and contrast lifestyles."

Brandeis University
08/27/2017 The Summer Of A Lifetime! DIS Copenhagen: Summer

"My time abroad allowed me to become more independent. This was the first time I had been abroad by myself and I was a little nervous for it. But as soon as I got there, I was greeted by DIS staff that was friendly and made the transition easy. "

Trinity University
08/25/2017 The Bread Was Amazing DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"That food and fitness are very important to me"

Brandeis University
08/15/2017 Lived In A Dream World For Six Weeks! DIS Copenhagen: Summer

"I learned a lot about myself and was also very inspired by the Danish culture. It was definitely worth while "

Trinity University
08/12/2017 Integrating Into A Culturally Rich Country DIS Copenhagen: Summer

"I learned to appreciate the culture and enjoy the day as it comes rather than trying to figure out the future constantly. Danes like hygge, which can be understood as comfort, and it was very apparent in the city and the way people acted. There were blankets on every chair in an open cafe and there was no sense of rushing to eve..."

Trinity University
08/04/2017 Take Ii: Copenhagen After Sweden DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I feel far more globally aware as a result of my time abroad. The term "global citizen" is quite corny to consider when talking about yourself when you return from being abroad. Nonetheless, it is quite true. Being abroad undoubtedly allowed me to question at times both the culture I come from and the culture I was visiting. ..."

Middlebury College
07/24/2017 I Thought The Program Was Really Good But Mostly Interacted With Americans DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I gained some independence and got a chance to travel all around Europe."

Brandeis University
07/19/2017 Dis Spring Semester Review DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned that I was much stronger than I thought; that I could move to a foreign country and within four months make it into a home, with friends and meaningful events in my life that I wouldn't have had if I stayed home. I learned how to travel, and how essential it is to travel and see new places and people. "

Trinity University
07/17/2017 Home Is Where The Heart Is (So Take Your Housing Choice Seriously!) DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I became more independent, met different people from all over the world, and really dug my heels into Danish culture. Absolutely worth it."

Middlebury College
07/13/2017 Copenhagen DIS Copenhagen: Summer

"I felt like a full blown adult. I was able to take care of myself and get around in a completely new city. I was able to explore different sides of myself in a completely new setting."

Trinity University
07/13/2017 Left My Heart In Denmark DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Absolutely. I gained a sense of calm and confidence that I didn't have before. Traveling on my own gave me a sense of independence and that I can handle whatever life throws my way. Living with a host family gave me a new appreciation for work/life balance and a determination to maintain it I haven't had before. "

Wellesley College
07/13/2017 Denmark Is Paradise! DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned about the culture and architecture of Denmark, as well surrounding European countries. I also gained many skills in travelling on my own, and getting around the city comfortably. "

Wellesley College
07/11/2017 A Great Time DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"It was very worthwhile."

Wellesley College
07/10/2017 The Best Six Weeks DIS Copenhagen: Summer

"I think studying abroad is just a priceless experience. It was worthwhile to me. "

University of Georgia
06/30/2017 Semester In Copenhagen DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Living in Copenhagen for six months was a dream. Classes were interesting, but were not too challenging. It is a good balance between school and fun. "

Trinity University
06/30/2017 Great Mix Of Both Unique Academics, Experiencing Copenhagen, And Travel! DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Learned a lot about independence, becoming comfortable not knowing the language spoken around you. "

Middlebury College
06/26/2017 Host Family Helpful DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"learned to be independent, confident, observant. how to evaluate others cultures"

Brandeis University
06/26/2017 Academically Mediocre And Socially Fun DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I made some amazing friends. It was worthwhile."

Middlebury College
06/25/2017 Spring Semester Abroad DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"Studying abroad was definitely worthwhile because I was able to live with a host family and gain a better understanding of how a social welfare state works and compare it to the US. "

Brandeis University
06/20/2017 An Amazing Experience I Will Never Forget DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learned so much about myself and about other cultures"

Brandeis University
06/19/2017 Going Abroad Was The Best Decision I Made In College DIS Copenhagen: Semester

"I learnt a tremendous amount about Denmark, and from my classes. I am now doing an internship in Denmark for the summer at DONG Energy in wind power. Most worthwhile. "

Brandeis University