4.4 - 1342 Reviews

SIT Study Abroad

https://www.sit.edu/

SIT Study Abroad is a program provider offering 72 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Internship abroad programs in 38 countries such as Australia, Cameroon, Chile, and Ecuador.

A pioneer in experiential, field-based study abroad, SIT Study Abroad provides academically engaging semester and summer programs in Asia and the Pacific, Africa, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East for undergraduate students.

SIT Study Abroad programs examine critical global issues in a specific cultural and geographical context. Studying with host country faculty and living with families, students gain a deep appreciation for local cultures, develop language skills, and become immersed in diverse topics ranging from the politics of identity to post-conflict transformation, from global health to environmental policy.

For more information, visit our website at https://www.sit.edu/.

Study Abroad with SIT Study Abroad

OVERALL RATING 4.4
Based on 1342 Reviews
Healthcare
Admin
Housing
Academics
Social/Cultural
Overall Experience
April 21, 2024
06/22/2023 Come To Australia For A Semester In The Field! SIT Study Abroad: Australia - Rainforest, Reef, and Cultural Ecology

"I learned how to communicate with fellow scientists and researchers and conduct an independent project. I also became more comfortable in the field, and got experience in fieldwork I would never get at my home institution."

Scripps College
06/22/2023 Sit India Is A Great Program! SIT Study Abroad: India - Public Health, Gender, & Sexuality

"It was beyond worthwhile! This program is transitioning to have more of a gender/sexuality focus in coming years which I highly recommend! "

Swarthmore College
06/22/2023 Everything I Could Hope For SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Social Movements and Human Rights

"I gained increased language skills and comfort in communicating my needs, more confidence and independence navigating life in another country, and insight about my home culture and strategies for making social change."

Knox College
06/21/2023 Amazing Program! SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Social Movements and Human Rights

"I feel like I gained a completely different perspective on the world. It's a cliche but it's true; this program is life changing!"

Brandeis University
06/20/2023 Aussie At Heart SIT Study Abroad: Australia - Rainforest, Reef, and Cultural Ecology

"Definitely worthwhile. Besides the academic stuff, I became a better cook, more confident in my ability to navigate unfamiliar surroundings, and learned to go with the flow."

Villanova University
06/19/2023 Sit Switzerland Diplomacy And Ir SIT Study Abroad: Switzerland - International Studies and Multilateral Diplomacy

"I am someone who also likes to have fun, explore, and connect with peers. During my semester with SIT, I was able to do all 3 without any troubles. Although it can be somewhat difficult to meet people in new places depending on language barriers, age demographics, or interests, the connections always start internally, with the s..."

Claremont McKenna College
06/18/2023 Great Program For International Relations SIT Study Abroad: Switzerland - International Studies and Multilateral Diplomacy

"I gained networking skills and a better knowledge of the real-world application of international relations concepts. "

The College of Wooster
06/18/2023 Sit Ecuador SIT Study Abroad: Ecuador - Development, Politics and Languages

"This experience was very worthwhile. While some aspects (especially the ISP) were challenging, I learned so much, and made great friends along the way. The SIT community in-country was very supportive and they made the experience one that I would never regret. "

Colorado College
06/15/2023 Great Experience And People Not Very Challenging SIT Study Abroad: Switzerland - Global Health and Development Policy

"I gained a lot of independence and improved my research and time management skills. "

Middlebury College
06/12/2023 #Sit Arg: A Semester I Could Never Forget SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Social Movements and Human Rights

"I of course gained things like better language abilities, a deeper understanding of human rights, etc. However, I think the most important thing I gained was a sort of personal growth. I went from being a perfectionist who hated being late to understanding that sometimes your bus is late or slow and yet the world will keep turni..."

Sewanee: The University of the South
06/11/2023 A Life Changing Experience SIT Study Abroad: Mexico - Migration, Borders, and Transnational Communities

"As a child of migrants, this program explained and uncovered many truths often concealed by our families, institutions, and government while creating a community of trust and support among the student and between the admin. It's truly a life-changing experience, not just for those interested in immigration advocacy but who value..."

Wellesley College
06/05/2023 Sit Panama: Immersive, Unique, And Memorable SIT Study Abroad: Panama - Tropical Ecology, Marine Ecosystems, and Biodiversity Conservation

"My experience with SIT Panama exceeded my wildest expectations. I was drawn to the program as a hands-on learner passionate about environmental issues, but I could not have expected the level of immersion, cultural & natural beauty, and generally incredible experiences that I was exposed to. This program gave me a much more nuan..."

University of Richmond
06/05/2023 Had A Great Time In Australia! SIT Study Abroad: Australia - Rainforest, Reef, and Cultural Ecology

"I learned about Australia's evolution, culture and history. It was definitely worthwhile!"

Brandeis University
05/30/2023 Sit Ecuador: Ecology, Adaptability, And Connection SIT Study Abroad: Ecuador - Comparative Ecology and Conservation

"I gained an incredible amount from this experience. Among them: -Fantastic experiences in ecological methods that prepare me for a future career -The opportunity to see a myriad of ecosystems and wildlife across the country -Significant growth in Spanish ability -Ecuadorian connections in my professional sphere -Lifelong fr..."

Middlebury College
05/30/2023 Glad I Went SIT Study Abroad: IHP Health and Community - Globalization, Culture and Care

"I experienced other cultures and other ways of life. I was able to learn about the public health system in other countries and compare across countries"

Middlebury College
05/20/2023 Unique Experience With Homestay In A City Great For Gender/Sexuality Studies SIT Study Abroad: Netherlands - International Perspectives on Sexuality and Gender

"I learned that I was able to adapt to a new city and culture. This experience has motivated me to consider living abroad again. "

Brandeis University
05/15/2023 An Amazing Semester All Around Panama SIT Study Abroad: Panama - Tropical Ecology, Marine Ecosystems, and Biodiversity Conservation

"I had an incredible semester seeing some of the most amazing things and places that I've ever seen all while learning about ecology and conservation. It really was amazing and I would do it again in a heartbeat. The travel aspect of this program was what made it so amazing, since trips to some of the best parts of Panama were pl..."

Brandeis University
05/14/2023 A Great Place For Experiential Learning SIT Study Abroad: Samoa - Social and Environmental Change in Oceania

"this program prioritizes indigenous knowledge and decolonial methodologies and I got to experience new ways of living and value systems outside of a western context which was extremely valuable."

Wellesley College
05/11/2023 Best Experience Of My Life! SIT Study Abroad: Spain - Social Movements, Democracy, and Cultural Identity

"I learned to be flexible, go with the flow, enjoy life, and a lot about the Basque regional conflict!"

Wellesley College
03/10/2023 Stuck With Me! SIT Study Abroad: Peru - Indigenous Peoples and Globalization

"It was absolutely worthwhile. I improved quite a bit in my target language and saw multiple ways of life beyond what I knew existed before. Through my independent study project, I combined several areas of interest and learned a lot about my topic that I never would have learned otherwise. I will be discovering ways that this ex..."

Kenyon College
03/06/2023 Great For Spanish Learning And In Country Travel! SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Public Health in Urban Environments

"I learned so much Spanish, a lot about navigating big cities, and developed a lot of personal confidence."

Scripps College
02/23/2023 Immersive And Truly Once In A Lifetime!! And I Played With Lemurs! SIT Study Abroad: Madagascar - Biodiversity and Natural Resource Management

"There were definitely some grittier/harder moments, but I honestly learned so much and grew a ton during my time abroad. Madagascar is so very different from the US and I had so many opportunities to develop my language skills while meeting people who come from such different walks of life. I feel so much more mature in my desir..."

Wake Forest University
02/20/2023 A Time Of Great Growth And Fun SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Public Health in Urban Environments

"I learned a lot about living in a big city, as well as improved my Spanish significantly. I believe that the program was worthwhile"

DePauw University
02/19/2023 Once In A Lifetime SIT Study Abroad: Morocco - Human Rights, Social Justice, and Cultural Transformation

"I learned how to communicate with a language barrier, and learned how to step out of my comfort zone. "

Rollins College