4.6 - 617 Reviews

USAC

https://usac.edu/

USAC is a program provider offering 57 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad, Internship, Volunteer, Intensive Language, Gap Year, Research, and Online Program abroad programs in 24 countries such as Chile, The United Kingdom, Ireland, and Japan.

The University Studies Abroad Consortium (USAC) has been providing students with quality study abroad programs for over 30 years. USAC is a non-profit, university-based organization with 53 programs in 28 countries. USAC offers summer, winter, semester, and yearlong program options. We pride ourselves on providing well-rounded, academically sound and credible programs in non-traditional locations or in unique parts of more traditional places. By choosing a USAC program, you have flexibility in the length and time of your study (short-term summer or January programs from three to ten weeks, to semester, trimester, or year options) and a wide range of courses to choose from, plus small class sizes, a multitude of disciplines taught in English, and language study at any level of proficiency from beginning to advanced and with no language prerequisite. Many of our locations have the option of intensive language study, where you can earn up to two years-worth of credit in one semester. USAC alumni give our programs a 94% recommendation rate. USAC is honored to be recognized as a Top Study Abroad Provider and Organization by our friends GoAbroad and Go Overseas for 2019.

For more information, visit our website at https://usac.edu/.

Study Abroad with USAC

OVERALL RATING 4.6
Based on 617 Reviews
Housing
Academics
Healthcare
Social/Cultural
Admin
Overall Experience
April 21, 2024
09/13/2023 A Semester In Yeosu! USAC Korea: Gwangju - Undergraduate Courses

"I learned Korean and I really learned how to be independent. It was the best experience of my life!"

University of Nevada, Reno
09/13/2023 The Best 4 Months Of My Life! USAC England: London - Undergraduate and Graduate Courses

"The biggest thing I learned and gained from this program was independence and being able to figure things out on my own in a completely new culture and country."

University of Nevada, Reno
10/04/2022 An Experience I Will Never Forget USAC Korea: Kookmin University in Seoul - Korean and East Asian Studies

"I learned how much I can do on my own. I learned a lot about the Korean culture. It was definitely worthwhile. "

University of Nevada, Reno
10/04/2022 Life In Torino USAC Italy: Torino - International Business, Politics, Architecture, and Italian Studies

"One thing I learned from my time abroad was to have more fun and know that not everything needs to be taken seriously. I was very intimidated by the language barrier when I first got to Torino, but after forcing myself to go out on my own, I learned that it wasn't as scary as it seemed and that it was actually fun to try to figu..."

University of Nevada, Reno
10/03/2022 The Best Trip Of My Life USAC Spain: Alicante - Spanish Language, Linguistics, European, Mediterranean, and Gender Studies

"From this trip, I learned to get out of my comfort zone. From this experience, I became more comfortable speaking Spanish and I feel like this experience made me a more independent person. "

University of Nevada, Reno
08/15/2022 A Few Americans Roam The Cobblestone USAC Germany: Lüneburg - German Language, European and Sustainability/Environmental Studies

"I learned how to confidently interact with people who don't speak my native language and gained lots of self confidence in the process"

Northern Arizona University
07/20/2022 My Time In Thailand USAC Thailand: Chiang Mai - Southeast Asia Culture, Politics, and Business

"I made several friends who I was able to practice Chinese with (some who are fluent and some who are learning) and will keep in contact with. The Chinese course itself was also engaging and provided great practice with writing in addition to speaking and reading. Outside of the education component, Chiang Mai was a wonderful cit..."

Berea College
06/10/2022 Not Culturally Immersive USAC Italy: Reggio Emilia - Education, Health, Communications, and Italian Studies

"I learned a lot about traveling around Europe and about traveling around Italy in trains. "

Harvard University
Past Review Amazing Study Abroad That Improved Language Skills USAC France: Pau - French Language and European Studies

"Language skills, friends, cultural competency, global awareness"

Washington State University
Past Review A Semester Spent In A Sustainable Dream USAC Thailand: Chiang Mai - Southeast Asia Culture, Politics, and Business

"There is so much to learn from cultures that may be different from your own. The experiences I had in Thailand was absolutely worthwhile. "

Berea College
Past Review An Incredible, Eye Opening Learning Experience USAC Spain: Valencia - Spanish Culture, Language, and STEM Disciplines

"I became much more independent while growing my Spanish language skills greatly. It was absolutely worth it and I would do it 100 times over."

University of Hartford
Past Review Studying Abroad In Italy Is A Must, But Not With Usac. USAC Italy: Torino - International Business, Politics, Architecture, and Italian Studies

"Lots of great knowledge and insight from amazing local professors!"

West Valley College
Past Review The 6 P's: Peace, Party, Pengyous, Population, Propaganda, And Pollution USAC China: Chengdu - Chinese Language and Culture

"Language, social skills, international experience, how to socialize, how to open up a little more, how to be more independent definitely, how to be away from family, how to take better pictures, and a larger view of how the world works, what my role is, and what I can do to make it better. "

University of Nevada – Las Vegas
Past Review Dumplings Are Delicious USAC China: Chengdu - Chinese Language and Culture

"My Chinese ability definitely improved while I was here, and I think I opened up a little more. I was pretty shy coming here, but you're forced to become friends with these people and that means opening yourself up. It was definitely a worthwhile experience."

Central Michigan University
Past Review Great Country, Great School, Maybe I Took The Wrong Class USAC Scotland: St. Andrews - Undergraduate Courses

"I learned out to get comfortable in a foreign environment, how to make new friends."

Middlebury College
Past Review Mi Hogar USAC Spain: Alicante - Spanish Language, Linguistics, European, Mediterranean, and Gender Studies

"My experience was more than worthwhile. Before making the decision to study abroad I was afraid of being in a place I don't know. I was hesitant and unsure if this was going to be a good decision for me. But it was more than that. It's difficult to describe the amount of things learned abroad. Definitely became more independent ..."

University of Nevada, Reno
Past Review Enlightening USAC Italy: Viterbo - Intensive Italian Language, History, and the Arts

"Living on my own and gaining more knowledge on how to handle situations that I wouldn't be faced with day to day back home. It was definitely worth it and beyond wonderful to see such beautiful places."

University of Nevada, Reno
Past Review Living In A Culture Opposite Of My Comfort Zone USAC Uruguay: Montevideo - Spanish Language, Agribusiness, Viticulture, and Gender Studies

"My spanish immersion and exposure to the workings of sustainability in Latin America was incredible. I gained so much experience and knowledge in a new region I had no priors. "

Berea College
Past Review I Peaked USAC Chile: Santiago - Spanish Language, Latin American Cultures, Journalism, and International Studies

"I love speaking Spanish, I love all my friends, and I love Santiago so much because of its diversity and ability to never bore me. I had the perfect host family. I would sometimes get frustrated when it came to my Spanish, but everyday you are learning and improving. I felt like I was learning and improving every single day, no ..."

University of Massachusetts Amherst / UMass
Past Review Sa Bai Sa Bai In Thailand! USAC Thailand: Chiang Mai - Southeast Asia Culture, Politics, and Business

"Honestly, I learned so much that I could write a book! My experience taught me how to communicate across cultural boundaries. It taught me to value where I come from and how to see the value in other cultures. My experience taught me to take adventures to understand more about myself and my relationship as well as responsibilit..."

Berea College
Past Review Amazing Time In Spain USAC Spain: Valencia - Spanish Culture, Language, and STEM Disciplines

"I learned how to live on my own in a different world."

University of Maine - Orono
Past Review Life Changing Experience USAC Spain: San Sebastián - Spanish Language, Basque, Psychology, and European Studies

"I gained a lot from the experience, I think, both academically and personally. I gained a lot of knowledge in the Spanish language- how to speak it, understanding it, and knowing how it operates in comparison to the english language. It's really interesting (and really hard!). Having never traveled outside of the U.S before and ..."

University of Maine - Orono
Past Review San Sebastián Is A Magical Place USAC Spain: San Sebastián - Spanish Language, Basque, Psychology, and European Studies

"I learned so much!! I gained more independence, learned how to travel, and learned to budget as well as experience different cultures."

University of Maine - Orono
Past Review Great City, But Not A Great Program USAC Thailand: Chiang Mai - Southeast Asia Culture, Politics, and Business

"I learned countless lessons, but I think the one that sticks out is that I learned how to manage myself in a very different culture. "

Eastern Kentucky University
Past Review French, Food, Faces And Places! USAC France: Pau - French Language and European Studies

"I learned a lot about the French culture and language while at the same time analyzing the cultures I came from. I learned a lot about myself personally as well. "

Cottey College