4.4 - 1342 Reviews

SIT Study Abroad

https://www.sit.edu/

SIT Study Abroad is a program provider offering 72 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Internship abroad programs in 38 countries such as Australia, Cameroon, Chile, and Ecuador.

A pioneer in experiential, field-based study abroad, SIT Study Abroad provides academically engaging semester and summer programs in Asia and the Pacific, Africa, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East for undergraduate students.

SIT Study Abroad programs examine critical global issues in a specific cultural and geographical context. Studying with host country faculty and living with families, students gain a deep appreciation for local cultures, develop language skills, and become immersed in diverse topics ranging from the politics of identity to post-conflict transformation, from global health to environmental policy.

For more information, visit our website at https://www.sit.edu/.

Study Abroad with SIT Study Abroad

OVERALL RATING 4.4
Based on 1342 Reviews
Healthcare
Admin
Housing
Academics
Social/Cultural
Overall Experience
April 22, 2024
08/01/2023 Academics + Field Trips SIT Study Abroad: Iceland - Renewable Energy, Technology & Resource Economics (Summer 1)

"Learned a lot about renewable energy and Icelandic culture, gained some amazing friends, and saw incredibly cool and unique places. Definitely worthwhile. "

Brandeis University
07/28/2023 An Amazing 4 Months In A Beautiful Country Full Of Kind People SIT Study Abroad Nepal: Development, Gender, and Social Change in the Himalaya

"I gained a more nuanced view on development and multicultural thought, as well as learned through experience how to research in a foreign country and engage with local populations. It was most certainly worthwhile"

Middlebury College
07/28/2023 Fun And Enriching Semester Abroad SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Public Health in Urban Environments

"I think living in a new country for a period of time is without a doubt a worthwhile experience as it forces you out of your comfort zone and forces you to interact and meet new people and new lifestyles. For me this is so important as you gain a bigger understanding into the diversity that exists in the world, which is somethin..."

Gettysburg College
07/27/2023 Wonderful Visit To Amsterdam SIT Study Abroad: Netherlands - International Perspectives on Sexuality and Gender

"I learned how to adapt to a completely different culture and feel what it would be like to move to another country. I learned a lot about the culture in Amsterdam, including their work culture, and became immersed in life in the Netherlands. "

Brandeis University
07/20/2023 Transformative Experience! SIT Study Abroad: Spain - Social Movements, Democracy, and Cultural Identity

"I gained confidence with Spanish, independence traveling alone in Europe, and amazing friends!"

Washington University in St. Louis
07/20/2023 Sewing The Seeds For The Rest Of Your Life SIT Study Abroad: Nepal - Tibetan and Himalayan Peoples

"Aside from the obvious topics that I learned which was the focus of this program, one immediate gain that I can name was the ability to travel on my own. I had done some light travel on my own before but nothing to the extent of this program. During the program, you are required to be on your own for a month and study a topic of..."

Skidmore College
07/18/2023 A Lifechanging, Incredible Experience SIT Study Abroad: Nepal - Tibetan and Himalayan Peoples

"I was able to learn Tibetan Buddhist perspectives on mental health through an independent project. I was even able to meet His Holiness the Dalai Lama!"

Brown University
07/18/2023 Discovered So Many Different Parts Of Myself In Cameroon! SIT Study Abroad: Cameroon - Development and Social Change

"I had the most magical time in Cameroon and truly was able to immerse myself in so much of the country through SIT: Cameroon. In this program, we were not only able to experience the capital, Yaoundé, but also Kribi and Batoufam. I ended up returning to Batoufam for my internship, where I worked as a museum tour guide. Additiona..."

Wellesley College
07/16/2023 Wonderful Experience In Jordan SIT Study Abroad: Jordan - Geopolitics, International Relations, and the Future of the Middle East

"I think the main thing that I gained from my experience was confidence. It is scary to go somewhere new, with a language you don't fully understand, a new culture, and live with a host family that you know nothing about before arriving. BUT after doing all those things and having a good time it makes me a lot more confident in w..."

Colorado State University
07/16/2023 A Road To Discovery SIT Study Abroad: Switzerland - Banking, Finance, and Social Responsibility

"I learned more about myself from this experience abroad. - I learned more about the different financial institutions and structures. I learned more about Corporate Social Responsibility. I learned more about sustainability and how the UN is working toward its goals along with different institutions. - Growing up, I was n..."

Pomona College
07/14/2023 An Unforgettable Abroad Experience SIT Study Abroad: Nepal - Tibetan and Himalayan Peoples

"Participating in the study abroad program in Nepal and India was a truly enriching experience. Beyond academics, it was a journey of personal growth and cultural immersion. Living with local families, I witnessed their resilience in preserving traditions amidst geopolitical changes, which deepened my empathy and understanding of..."

University of Richmond
07/11/2023 An Unforgettable Learning Experience In The Natural Areas Of Australia SIT Study Abroad: Australia - Sustainability and Environmental Action

"It was very worthwhile. I gained a new perspective on the United States as well as gained a great wealth of knowledge in the area of study. I also gained great tools to use in my studies and further career in environmental studies. "

Hamilton College
07/10/2023 Learning And Creating Memories At The Same Time SIT Study Abroad: Nepal - Tibetan and Himalayan Peoples

"On an academic level, I gained a deeper understanding of how Nepal fits into the broader Asian and global geopolitical context, as well as the forces that shape this. I also gained conversational proficiency in the Tibetan language. On a personal level, I made some unforgettable memories traveling and experiencing a beautiful cu..."

Davidson College
07/05/2023 Wonderful Adventures In Samoa SIT Study Abroad: Samoa - Social and Environmental Change in Oceania

"This program was very worthwhile. Learning by experiencing another culture is always very rewarding, the way of life and strong cultural identity in Samoa is very special."

University of San Francisco
07/05/2023 Por La Razón O La Fuerza: An Immersion Of A Lifetime SIT Study Abroad: Chile - Public Health, Traditional Medicine, and Community Empowerment

"¡Sípo! Reflecting on my time studying abroad in Arica, I can confidently say that it was worth every moment and effort. This experience has broadened my horizons, enhanced my academic and professional skills, and shaped me into a more globally aware and culturally sensitive individual. I am immensely grateful for the opportun..."

University of Richmond
06/30/2023 Amazing Unforgettable Hands On Learning Experience In Australia! SIT Study Abroad: Australia - Rainforest, Reef, and Cultural Ecology

"Definitely worthwhile! Having the opportunity to learn in some of the world's most unique ecosystems and have "class" in the Wet Tropics and Great Barrier Reef was a fully memorable experience. Also, with the guidance of professionals in the field of conservation ecology, I was able to experience a deeper education, understandin..."

University of Mary Washington
06/29/2023 It Was Amazing SIT Study Abroad: Vietnam - Culture, Social Change and Development

"I learned a lot about navigating different dynamics in a cohort, as well as the local culture in Vietnam. My time abroad opened my perspective to new ideas that I would have not been able to have at my home institution. I also became more independent and started thinking in a different way about my life and what I wanted to do. "

Emory University
06/28/2023 A Lovely Semester Abroad! SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Public Health in Urban Environments

"SIT’s Public Health in Urban Environments Program was an incredible experience. Thanks to its emphasis on immersion, my Spanish improved dramatically. Their well-planned travel trips helped me see various, authentic sides of Argentina from public schools in rural areas to the Minister of Health in Buenos Aires. The staff were in..."

Claremont McKenna College
06/28/2023 Amazing Time Abroad SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Public Health in Urban Environments

"I gained a lot of experience within the profession I want to pursue, but also within the culture of Argentina. This has really made me want to explore other countries and get to know them as well."

Denison University
06/27/2023 An Impactful, Integrated Experience Living With A Host Family In Chile SIT Study Abroad: Chile - Public Health, Traditional Medicine, and Community Empowerment

"It was more than worthwhile. This is an experience I will remember forever. I learned how to love people I differ from in many ways. I discovered where my passions lie in my career path. And, I found a home in a whole new country. "

Washington University in St. Louis
06/26/2023 Great! SIT Study Abroad: Nepal - Tibetan and Himalayan Peoples

"Learned lots about myself and Nepal! Very worthwhile"

Middlebury College
06/26/2023 Amazing, Fun Educational Experience SIT Study Abroad: Australia - Rainforest, Reef, and Cultural Ecology

"I learned about Australian social culture, the endemic species found in the Wet Tropics, experience working in the lab studying coral reproduction (my chosen field), and aboriginal culture. Additionally, I made friends from all across the United States who were on the program with me. Definitely a worthwhile experience! "

San Diego State University
06/24/2023 This Program Was Best Study Abroad Decision I Could Have Made! SIT Study Abroad: Argentina - Social Movements and Human Rights

"The untraditional academic programing opens doors to conversation and connection with community members you otherwise would not meet enrolled directly with an Argentine university. I left this program feeling inspired and wanted to go back to Buenos Aires as soon as posible! "

University of Maryland - University College
06/23/2023 A Must Do In College SIT Study Abroad: Australia - Rainforest, Reef, and Cultural Ecology

"I cannot over emphasize how much I enjoyed this program. I made awesome friends, traveled to an amazing place, and learned so much from experiences I would be ignorant of otherwise. I obtained research experience at an Australian university and was able to develop new professional contacts. The memories I made here will not be f..."

Oberlin College