4.8 - 28 Reviews

Linguistic Horizons

http://www.linguistichorizons.com/

Linguistic Horizons is a program provider offering 5 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad, Internship, Volunteer, Intensive Language, Gap Year, Graduate Program, and Research abroad programs in 9 countries such as Spain, New Zealand, Peru, and Portugal.

Linguistic Horizons encourages foreign language and cultural immersion through study abroad and international internship programs. Our programs encourage authentic experiences abroad to off the beaten path destinations.

We send our participants to less touristy locations to encourage full immersion in the local language and culture. Currently, we offer programs in La Coruña, Spain, the Sacred Valley of the Incas, Peru and individual internship placements around Germany, the United Kingdom, France, Italy and New Zealand.

Our flagship program is in partnership with the Universidade Da Coruña, in Spain. We offer a Summer Spanish language immersion experience for all levels. Spanish classes will be given by native Spanish professors at a Spanish university. Studying Spanish with us in A Coruña is a smart choice for participants who truly want to improve their Spanish language skills. For those students who have at least intermediate Spanish, internships are available in a wide variety of fields.

Customized internships are available in all of our program destinations.

In Peru, we also offer a unique Nutrition & Natural Medicine program over Winter Break and summer!

Study Abroad with Linguistic Horizons

OVERALL RATING 4.8
Based on 28 Reviews
Social/Cultural
Healthcare
Academics
Housing
Admin
Overall Experience
December 7, 2019
09/14/2019 La Coruña, Hopefully See You Soon! Linguistic Horizons: Study Abroad and Intern in La Coruña

"I learned that the only way to grow is to allow yourself to get out of your comfort zone! I was scared and intimidated to leave home, go to the other side of the world, immerse myself into a city where they speak only Spanish, and all alone! Would 10/10 do it again."

University of California - Los Angeles / UCLA
08/31/2019 Local Charm In Undiscovered Spanish Community Linguistic Horizons: Study Abroad and Intern in La Coruña

"Spanish speaking skills, confidence in myself, lifelong friends, and so much more. "

University of Montana-Missoula
08/15/2019 Good Linguistic Horizons: Custom Internship Placements in Europe

"I learned more about 3D printing and learned how to carry responsibilities at work"

Lebanese American University
07/14/2019 Best Experience Of My Life Linguistic Horizons: Study Abroad and Intern in La Coruña

"I grew so much as a person, learned a new language, and made so many irreplaceable memories. "

University of California - Davis
07/07/2019 Love From Abroad Linguistic Horizons: Intern in the Sacred Valley, Peru

"My experience was more than I ever could have imagined. From start to finish, I felt welcomed. Leaving was one of the most heartbreaking things I ever had to do. The people I met became my family."

Rowan University
06/24/2019 Exceeded My Expectations Linguistic Horizons: Nutrition & Natural Medicine in Peru

"Learn not only new knowledge, but life lessons :)"

Universitat de Girona / University of Girona
02/12/2019 Clinical Work With Andean Plant Medicine In Sacred Valley Linguistic Horizons: Intern in the Sacred Valley, Peru

"Clinical experience"

University of Massachusetts Amherst / UMass
01/26/2019 Life Changing Experience! Linguistic Horizons: Nutrition & Natural Medicine in Peru

"Working in the oncology field, I am planning to practice and integrate the nutrition part, as well as the detox and fermentation techniques learned in the program. "

08/01/2018 Had A Great Time And Learned A Lot! Linguistic Horizons: Study Abroad and Intern in La Coruña

"Improved my Spanish a lot and learned from my internship"

University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
04/08/2018 I Am So Grateful! Linguistic Horizons: Intern in the Sacred Valley, Peru

" I came to Peru hoping to understand how herbs and nutritional remedies can be used to treat illness, as I have had a growing distaste of western medicinal philosophy–I left having witnessed that illness can be severely impacted using natural remedies!"

New York University
04/08/2018 Beautiful, Educating Experience Linguistic Horizons: Nutrition & Natural Medicine in Peru

" I came to Peru hoping to understand how herbs and nutritional remedies can be used to treat illness, as I have had a growing distaste of western medicinal philosophy–I left having witnessed that illness can be severely impacted using natural remedies! In addition to the knowledge gain, I met beautiful beautiful people, and Peru..."

New York University
03/12/2018 Internship In Peru Linguistic Horizons: Intern in the Sacred Valley, Peru

" I gained a lot of valuable knowledge in my career field, improved my Spanish, learned about the culture, and got to explore the beautiful landscape constantly. This program was definitely worth while."

Fort Lewis College
02/27/2018 Awesome! Linguistic Horizons: Study Abroad and Intern in La Coruña

"I gained a lot of clinical experience in my field of study and a lot of experience speaking Spanish. It was also very beneficial to be apart of another culture because I feel like it is very easy to get caught up in your own. "

Fort Lewis College
02/09/2018 Push Your Boundaries! Linguistic Horizons: Intern in the Sacred Valley, Peru

"I gathered life-long experiences that I would not achieve elsewhere. I was pushed to go far beyond my comfort zone, which paved the way for a fantastic journey. I personally got to know the local population, while trying new foods and exploring areas off the beaten path. Furthermore, I also learned quite a bit on subjects unrela..."

Western Kentucky University
01/10/2018 Open Mind Linguistic Horizons: Nutrition & Natural Medicine in Peru

"I learned a different perspective on nutrition that lead me to be open minded and try new things. "

Texas Christian University
11/03/2017 An Excellent Experience Linguistic Horizons: Intern in the Sacred Valley, Peru

"Not only was it an educational experience but also an opportunity for personal growth. I was able to apply the concepts and knowledge I had acquired in school to real life situations. "

California State University - Long Beach
08/19/2017 Amazing Intern And Study Abroad Opportunity! Linguistic Horizons: Study Abroad and Intern in La Coruña

"I gained a lot of experience in my field of study from my internship as well as improved my Spanish and learned about the rich Spanish culture. I also gained a lot of confidence and experience from living and traveling abroad."

Colorado School of Mines
08/13/2017 Great Program Linguistic Horizons: Intern in the Sacred Valley, Peru

"Knowledge about other regions of the world and how they live. Very fulfilling "

Kansas State University
08/09/2017 A Summer In Spain Linguistic Horizons: Study Abroad and Intern in La Coruña

"I learned some Spanish and made some amazing friends that I will visit someday hopefully in the near future. I have experiences from this program I will never forget."

Fort Lewis College
04/07/2017 An Authentic Experience Linguistic Horizons: Nutrition & Natural Medicine in Peru

"A hunger for further travel. It was one of the best experiences in my life so far."

College of the Canyons
03/31/2017 Do This For You! Linguistic Horizons: Nutrition & Natural Medicine in Peru

"I was looking for a program that focused on herbalism and a natural, holistic look at life and medicine. I was also hoping to find something that would get me back into a spanish speaking country to practice my fading language skills and support my love of cultural exploration. Nicole's program (and it really is her grown-up bra..."

University of Oregon
03/26/2017 Life Changing Experience Linguistic Horizons: Nutrition & Natural Medicine in Peru

" I learned so much about myself, the earth, and a more wholesome and caring culture in addition to the subjects the workshops were officially about. I learned a great deal of Spanish in a short amount of time, leaving with a determination to continue studying the language, apply what I had learned, and live in a more wholesome a..."

Oberlin College
02/19/2017 The Most Unique Study Abroad Experience You Will Find Linguistic Horizons: Nutrition & Natural Medicine in Peru

"From this experience abroad my eyes were opened to how different the culture is there, how the food and plants that are grown are so useful in ways that people in America normally wouldn't think to consider, and I discovered an interest in holistics that I did not have before. This experience was so worthwhile. "

Georgia College & State University
08/20/2016 Fantastic Language And Cultural Experience Linguistic Horizons: Study Abroad and Intern in La Coruña

"I learned a lot about the local culture. With great teaching and living with Spanish speakers, I really improved my Spanish."

Washington University in Saint Louis
Past Review Incredible Adventure Linguistic Horizons: Study Abroad and Intern in La Coruña

"I can not express how incredible this experience was for me through Lingustic Horizons. I was at a point were I wanted to travel, I needed Spanish credit for college, and I didn't have much money. The program director went above and beyond to help me reach my goals. In turn, I had an incredible experience in such an extraordinar..."

Azusa Pacific University