4.5 - 142 Reviews

CYA (College Year in Athens)

http://www.cyathens.org

CYA (College Year in Athens) is a program provider offering 5 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad, Internship, and Gap Year abroad programs in 2 countries such as Greece and Online Education Abroad - Virtual Study Abroad.

CYA (College Year in Athens) is a non-profit educational institution that has been acting as a cultural and educational bridge between the U.S. and Greece for nearly 60 years. Our study abroad program helps students to develop new perspectives on the world, their own countries and themselves.
CYA offers outstanding academic programs (semester, year, winter and summer), Virtual Internships and Gap programs all of which embrace the vibrant experience of day-to-day contact with the people, the monuments and the landscape of Greece. All the programs place an emphasis on learning beyond the classroom, offering hands-on learning experience in the rich and diverse environment of the country. Our extensive curriculum is complemented by on-site classes adding a new dimension to learning as well as a global understanding of the subjects taught.
All courses at CYA use the abundant resources in Athens and of what can be seen or experienced directly. The Archaeology and Art History courses provide a wealth of opportunities to study authentic material and original artifacts on-site, in the world-renowned museums of Athens and other Greek regions. Courses from other disciplines bring you in direct contact with the local community such as Anthropology, Environmental Studies, Political and Modern Greek, to name a few.
Field study is an integral part of the CYA program. Led by our faculty and experts with extensive knowledge of the relevant sites and locale, students have the opportunity to explore Greece and some of its most significant sites, which are among the most impressive and beautiful of the world.
Our CYA expert faculty and passionate staff are dedicated to offer students the best learning and life changing experience.

Study Abroad with CYA (College Year in Athens)

OVERALL RATING 4.5
Based on 142 Reviews
Admin
Academics
Social/Cultural
Housing
Healthcare
Overall Experience
August 4, 2021
07/30/2021 A Wonderful Lifechanging Experience CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I gained a true appreciation of Greek culture both ancient and modern. I learned how to be more adaptable and made life long friends. The experience was totally worthwhile and I would do it again in a heartbeat. "

College of the Holy Cross
07/14/2021 This Was An Amazing Experience! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Summer Program

"I learned to be more confident in myself and more independent. I loved my program and definitely thought it was worth it."

University of Virginia
07/09/2021 I Cannot Wait To Go Back To Greece; I Miss It Already! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"My experience with CYA was one of the coolest things I have ever done, and I would absolutely do it again, without question. In some sense, it’s hard to fully assess the benefits of studying abroad so close to my time abroad, but it is clear that the benefits of doing so are numerous. As it relates to Greece specifically, I ..."

Grinnell College
07/07/2021 Archaeological Adventure In The Aegean! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I have such a clear sense of direction from attending this program, and am so incredibly glad that I had decided to take part in it! A field school of this kind is the only way for students to know if field archaeology is the field for them, and I was lucky enough to find that the field fit me perfectly!"

North Carolina State University / NC State
06/28/2021 A Wonderful Time In A Wonderful Place! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"Incredibly worthwhile. Made friends, gained independence, and will go back to the US more confident in my language learning skills and my ability to adapt."

University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
06/25/2021 Greece: Filled W/Warm People/Rich Culture & An Unforgettable Learning Experience CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"It was definitely worthwhile. I gained friends who I would not have otherwise met. I tasted food that was not familiar to me. I took courses that allowed me actively experience & learn about the rich history of Greece. Greece is a very beautiful country."

Wellesley College
06/21/2021 Unusual And Awesome Semester! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"Definitely worthwhile. I gained friends both American and Greek! I made memories and was able to live in a foreign city for a few months of my life - Awesome!"

College of the Holy Cross
06/20/2021 Best Program In The Mediterranean CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned a lot about myself and my friends. I learned a lot about Greek culture and food"

College of the Holy Cross
06/18/2021 If Your Cease The Day Then This Was The Most Rewarding Experience Ever. CYA (College Year in Athens) - Summer Program

"I learned that if you open yourself to a new culture it will be more inviting of you and your experience becomes better."

Wellesley College
06/15/2021 Unforgettable Spring Term At Cya CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"It was absolutely worthwhile, the travel I did on the field study to Delphi and the Peloponnese was informative and interesting as our lectures took place at sites. I loved learning about the archaeological aspects of things and wandering around the city"

Wellesley College
06/10/2021 Greece In A Pandemic: It Is What It Is CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"Learned: Language matters A LOT for connecting with people Inspired to learn more languages! Cultural Immersion is important to me I want to live abroad again (where I speak the language or learn it) Yes it was worthwhile (just hard at times) "

Wellesley College
05/27/2021 I Had The Time Of My Life! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"Studying abroad in Athens has been an invaluable experience! The CYA program has truly change my life. The staff had some of the most compassionate and helpful people I have ever met. I got to form lasting connections with friends that will last a lifetime, while also exploring the beautiful city of Athens. While exploring arche..."

University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
05/07/2021 An Excellent Experience In A Chaotic Time CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I gained experience interacting/existing in an unfamiliar environment and also got to visit in person things/places that classes back home would only talk about theoretically."

Wellesley College
12/28/2020 Fantastic Semester In Greece CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned so much from living in Greece. I immersed myself in the local culture, traveled around Greece, and even hiked up Mount Olympus. I had a fantastic time."

University of Pennsylvania
04/29/2020 Engaging, Enriching, Life Changing. CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"We saw castles, mosques, churches, and of course many cats. All of the places we went we were welcomed by the locals and treated like friends. Falling in love with Greece wasn't just loving the sea, mountains, forests and temples; but getting to know the people and living like a Hellene. "

Lawrence University
04/28/2020 Once In A Lifetime Experience CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned to be more independent, flexible, and patient. It was 100% worthwhile."

Brandeis University
04/21/2020 An Incredible Year In Athens! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned so much about Greece, and I could not have learned as much in my archaeology classes anywhere else!"

College of the Holy Cross
04/16/2020 Time Of My Life! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I gained lots of friends and a world of experience that will live on in my memory (and my camera roll!)."

University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
04/16/2020 Amazing Program CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"This program was the best one I could have chosen. I am excited to "

Grinnell College
04/15/2020 Shaped Me As A Person CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

" I experienced so much joy and a new found sense of independence while studying in Greece. My experience was cut short due to COVID-19, yet it was still truly a transformative once in a lifetime opportunity I will never forget."

Oberlin College
04/09/2020 Did Not Want It To End! CYA (College Year in Athens): Winter/J-Term Program

"I undeniably gained a sense of global awareness from this class, and as an Urban Studies major I got out of the experience of being immersed in Athens, a fascinatingly ancient yet modern European city, for three weeks. "

Trinity University
04/08/2020 I Wish It Never Ended! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"My study abroad experience really "made the familiar strange", and allowed me to see the society I grew up in in a new light. It exposed me to life outside of the only culture I have ever known, and allowed me to gain a new sense of global awareness. Not only did I learn a lot about Greece, the world, and myself from my professo..."

Trinity University
03/29/2020 10/10 Experience, 10/10 Staff CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"CYA gives you so many opportunities. I was able to volunteer, go on trips around Greece, go on trips out of Greece, take field trips with my classes, and experience real Greek traditions. There is so much offered by CYA, and they truly make sure that you are having the time of your life."

Emory University
03/28/2020 The Cya Experience Comes Once In A Lifetime CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"CYA was the perfect balance of engaging academics and connection to place. Having the freedom to do other things than study gave me a chance to look inward at who I wanted to be, which is not something very many busy college students have the chance to do."

Middlebury College
02/27/2020 I Wish I Could Have Stayed Forever! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"It taught me to think more critically about power and governement"

University of Colorado - Boulder