4.5 - 128 Reviews

CYA (College Year in Athens)

http://www.cyathens.org

CYA (College Year in Athens) is a program provider offering 5 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad, Internship, and Gap Year abroad programs in 2 countries such as Greece and Online Education Abroad - Virtual Study Abroad.

CYA (College Year in Athens) is a non-profit educational institution that has been acting as a cultural and educational bridge between the U.S. and Greece for nearly 60 years. Our study abroad program helps students to develop new perspectives on the world, their own countries and themselves.
CYA offers outstanding academic programs (semester, year, winter and summer), Virtual Internships and Gap programs all of which embrace the vibrant experience of day-to-day contact with the people, the monuments and the landscape of Greece. All the programs place an emphasis on learning beyond the classroom, offering hands-on learning experience in the rich and diverse environment of the country. Our extensive curriculum is complemented by on-site classes adding a new dimension to learning as well as a global understanding of the subjects taught.
All courses at CYA use the abundant resources in Athens and of what can be seen or experienced directly. The Archaeology and Art History courses provide a wealth of opportunities to study authentic material and original artifacts on-site, in the world-renowned museums of Athens and other Greek regions. Courses from other disciplines bring you in direct contact with the local community such as Anthropology, Environmental Studies, Political and Modern Greek, to name a few.
Field study is an integral part of the CYA program. Led by our faculty and experts with extensive knowledge of the relevant sites and locale, students have the opportunity to explore Greece and some of its most significant sites, which are among the most impressive and beautiful of the world.
Our CYA expert faculty and passionate staff are dedicated to offer students the best learning and life changing experience.

Study Abroad with CYA (College Year in Athens)

OVERALL RATING 4.5
Based on 128 Reviews
Admin
Academics
Social/Cultural
Housing
Healthcare
Overall Experience
December 2, 2020
04/29/2020 Engaging, Enriching, Life Changing. CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"We saw castles, mosques, churches, and of course many cats. All of the places we went we were welcomed by the locals and treated like friends. Falling in love with Greece wasn't just loving the sea, mountains, forests and temples; but getting to know the people and living like a Hellene. "

Lawrence University
04/28/2020 Once In A Lifetime Experience CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned to be more independent, flexible, and patient. It was 100% worthwhile."

Brandeis University
04/21/2020 An Incredible Year In Athens! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned so much about Greece, and I could not have learned as much in my archaeology classes anywhere else!"

College of the Holy Cross
04/16/2020 Time Of My Life! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I gained lots of friends and a world of experience that will live on in my memory (and my camera roll!)."

University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
04/16/2020 Amazing Program CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"This program was the best one I could have chosen. I am excited to "

Grinnell College
04/15/2020 Shaped Me As A Person CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

" I experienced so much joy and a new found sense of independence while studying in Greece. My experience was cut short due to COVID-19, yet it was still truly a transformative once in a lifetime opportunity I will never forget."

Oberlin College
04/09/2020 Did Not Want It To End! CYA (College Year in Athens): Winter/J-Term Program

"I undeniably gained a sense of global awareness from this class, and as an Urban Studies major I got out of the experience of being immersed in Athens, a fascinatingly ancient yet modern European city, for three weeks. "

Trinity University
04/08/2020 I Wish It Never Ended! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"My study abroad experience really "made the familiar strange", and allowed me to see the society I grew up in in a new light. It exposed me to life outside of the only culture I have ever known, and allowed me to gain a new sense of global awareness. Not only did I learn a lot about Greece, the world, and myself from my professo..."

Trinity University
03/29/2020 10/10 Experience, 10/10 Staff CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"CYA gives you so many opportunities. I was able to volunteer, go on trips around Greece, go on trips out of Greece, take field trips with my classes, and experience real Greek traditions. There is so much offered by CYA, and they truly make sure that you are having the time of your life."

Emory University
03/28/2020 The Cya Experience Comes Once In A Lifetime CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"CYA was the perfect balance of engaging academics and connection to place. Having the freedom to do other things than study gave me a chance to look inward at who I wanted to be, which is not something very many busy college students have the chance to do."

Middlebury College
02/27/2020 I Wish I Could Have Stayed Forever! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"It taught me to think more critically about power and governement"

University of Colorado - Boulder
02/26/2020 Go To Greece, Not Cya CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I loved being in Athens, having wonderful people and amazing food all the time was wonderful. It made me want to move to Athens and keep learning Greek and having a great time!"

Tulane University
01/28/2020 Amazing Experience CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned how to travel on my own and be very independent. This experience was very worthwhile and I would absolutely recommend this program to anyone who wants to experience a new culture."

Oberlin College
01/17/2020 An All American Experience For Classics Majors CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned that playing it safe can decrease the rate of returns on investment of your time."

Brandeis University
10/28/2019 Will Be Back Soon CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"Learned to live more independently, had a more holistic learning experience"

Cornell University
08/23/2019 Best Decision I've Ever Made CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned so much about the Bible, early Christianity, and ancient Greece. Also, being abroad without my parents gave me so much self-confidence for traveling in the future!"

University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
08/21/2019 Wonderful Experience CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"Studying abroad develops what our colleges have taught us in the classroom, by giving us the opportunity to build on our academic skills in the real world and grow personally along the way. It was the most exciting experience of my eduction so far and I would recommend studying abroad and CYA to anyone!"

Bryn Mawr College
08/18/2019 A Greek Odyssey CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned about Greek heritage and was able to travel to the islands of Rhodes and Crete. "

Sarah Lawrence College
08/12/2019 Amazing Experience! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned a lot about the cultural differences between America and other countries. It was definitely worth it."

University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
08/12/2019 Unforgettable Learning At Its Best CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"This experience really taught me about history and connected me with a close group of individuals."

Fairfield University
08/07/2019 Amazing Experience! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"It was definitely a worthwhile experience - I became much more independent and learned how to plan and manage things on my own!"

Rhodes College
08/05/2019 Best Way To Experience Greece CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"My class (ARTH 356, a course on Greek Heritage) was taught by an amazing professor, our class excursions were immersive, and the friendships I built will last a lifetime! This study abroad was absolutely worthwhile, I'd do it over again in a heart beat!"

University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
07/28/2019 An Irreplaceable Experience In A Local Greek Neighborhood CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned that studying abroad is what you make it. The bonds and memories you make are entirely up to you and it is important to challenge yourself to make the most of such an incredibly unique opportunity. "

Oberlin College
07/16/2019 Amazing Experience, Can't Wait To Go Back! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"Learned how to be independent, how to adapt, how to quickly observe other cultures, how to communicate without language, and so much more. It may be one of the most valuable experiences in my educational career"

University of Notre Dame
07/07/2019 Genuinely So Amazing And I Learned So Much CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned more about myself and about art and about greece! all sounds obvious but honestly it was truly awesome"

Brandeis University