4.5 - 129 Reviews

CYA (College Year in Athens)

http://www.cyathens.org

CYA (College Year in Athens) is a program provider offering 5 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad, Internship, and Gap Year abroad programs in 2 countries such as Greece and Online Education Abroad - Virtual Study Abroad.

CYA (College Year in Athens) is a non-profit educational institution that has been acting as a cultural and educational bridge between the U.S. and Greece for nearly 60 years. Our study abroad program helps students to develop new perspectives on the world, their own countries and themselves.
CYA offers outstanding academic programs (semester, year, winter and summer), Virtual Internships and Gap programs all of which embrace the vibrant experience of day-to-day contact with the people, the monuments and the landscape of Greece. All the programs place an emphasis on learning beyond the classroom, offering hands-on learning experience in the rich and diverse environment of the country. Our extensive curriculum is complemented by on-site classes adding a new dimension to learning as well as a global understanding of the subjects taught.
All courses at CYA use the abundant resources in Athens and of what can be seen or experienced directly. The Archaeology and Art History courses provide a wealth of opportunities to study authentic material and original artifacts on-site, in the world-renowned museums of Athens and other Greek regions. Courses from other disciplines bring you in direct contact with the local community such as Anthropology, Environmental Studies, Political and Modern Greek, to name a few.
Field study is an integral part of the CYA program. Led by our faculty and experts with extensive knowledge of the relevant sites and locale, students have the opportunity to explore Greece and some of its most significant sites, which are among the most impressive and beautiful of the world.
Our CYA expert faculty and passionate staff are dedicated to offer students the best learning and life changing experience.

Study Abroad with CYA (College Year in Athens)

OVERALL RATING 4.5
Based on 129 Reviews
Admin
Academics
Social/Cultural
Housing
Healthcare
Overall Experience
January 27, 2021
07/07/2019 Genuinely So Amazing And I Learned So Much CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned more about myself and about art and about greece! all sounds obvious but honestly it was truly awesome"

Brandeis University
06/29/2019 Life Changing, Wonderful CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"It was worthwhile. I learned more about being independent, I learned about a new culture which in itself taught me so many things, like how to not be obsessed with productivity and how to appreciate the moment. My classes taught me about Greek and Byzantine art, business ethics and philosophy etc. I feel super enriched. "

Brandeis University
06/14/2019 Cya: The Intriguing Greek Experience CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"It was worthwhile, I was able to learn a lot about myself and also living on my own in a place that I didn't know. It instilled a lot of confidence in me about my own life navigation skills."

Wellesley College
06/10/2019 Enamored By Athens CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned about the immigration crisis and the toll it has taken on that area of the world, which is knowledge that is meaningful and useful for my career path. I gained experience traveling and holding my own in various countries, along with gaining a very much increased sense of independence and self-assuredness after living i..."

Wheaton College, MA
06/06/2019 Cya Spring 2019 CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned so much about Greece, Greek History, culture, food, etc. I cannot overestimate how amazing Athens is and how helpful CYA is to experiencing life here."

The Catholic University of America
06/01/2019 Wonderful Country, Decent Program, Not The Best Group Of Students. CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"It was worthwhile in that living in another country and culture can help you think about your own worldview. And I love Greece!"

Middlebury College
05/22/2019 Athens, You Stole My Heart. I Will Return To Get It Back One Day. CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"Independence, interacting with people of different cultural backgrounds, making new friends even with language barriers, etc. "

Skidmore College
05/12/2019 Athens— A New Home CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned a variety of things from my time abroad including many things about Greek culture, how to live in a city, balancing school with travel, etc. My abroad experience was SO worth it. "

Wheaton College, MA
01/23/2019 Athens: Unorthodox Decision But A Great One CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"Learned about Greece and history and it was absolutely worthwhile. "

Middlebury College
01/18/2019 Cya Fall 2018 CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned so much about traveling and interacting with a new culture. It was absolutely a worthwhile experience!"

Swarthmore College
01/17/2019 Great Experience. CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned too much to summarize. So much about Greek history, about contemporary Greek issues, and about archaeological methods. Outside of the classroom I learned a lot about budgeting, travelling, living alone, how to communicate with people who speak a different language, and about making the most of your time."

Wellesley College
01/17/2019 The Semester My Life Began CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"This program was more than worthwhile, it was really remarkable and impactful. I learned how to not be so afraid of the opportunities that life presents us. I learned that I am a much more fluid person than I believed, and I still have a lot to figure out about who I am, but this semester abroad was truly the beginning of that p..."

University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
01/15/2019 Incredible Semester! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I gained a whole new sense of independence, and a new understanding of being a citizen of the world. It was more than worthwhile, and I will be using the lessons I learned in and outside of the classroom for the rest of my life."

Mount Holyoke College
10/01/2018 I Wish I Could Stay Here Forever! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I gained a much greater level of independence overall, and I learned to make the most of things when they didn't go as planned. I learned to be more spontaneous (one of my favorite memories is taking a last minute train trip to Bulgaria with my roommate)!"

University of Southern California
09/05/2018 Cya Is An Unforgettable Experience! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I gained lifelong friends in my CYA program. I absolutely love Greece and cannot wait to return."

Brandeis University
08/19/2018 A Wholesome Experience You'll Want To Keep Repeating CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"My time abroad was truly a period of personal growth, in every sense of the word. Being introverted, shy and even often times clueless, I had to rely on myself and my individual strengths in ways that I just had not before. Definitely one benefit of being abroad is that because you are placed in a new environment, and no longer ..."

Smith College
08/17/2018 Fabulous, Enchanting, Liberating, And Unexpected CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned to be bold and ask questions when I have them. I learned that your time to figure things out will pass if you don't act fast. I learned to coordinate and be more organized in order to have a better overall experience when traveling and try to attend certain events. I learned that I love learning about the rich history ..."

University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
08/15/2018 A Bridge To Greek Culture CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"Even as a Greek American who thought I knew everything there was to know about my culture, CYA still taught me new things which speaks to the quality of the class. My professor encouraged open-mindedness towards our experience, which was so valuable and definitely a lesson that is applicable to any traveling whatsoever. CYA is w..."

University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
08/08/2018 Excellent For Travel And Exploration, Not Great For Language Learning CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I gained and learned a lot. It was definitely worthwhile; it's always worth it to put yourself in a new perspective and try to understand more of the world from a different view than you are used to. And of course, just going to new places you learn so much about the world around you."

Middlebury College
07/11/2018 Greek American Falls In Love With Greece CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I really grew as a person. I learned a lot about my heritage and saw a different side of my life. I see now how easy it is to travel and it opened up a lot of doors for my future. I am a lot stronger and more independent of a person now all from studying abroad with CYA. The time and money spent was so worthwhile. I can't imagin..."

University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
07/02/2018 A Beautiful Country, Great Academics, & An American Bubble CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I gained a much better understanding of that region and of Greece--it's ancient and modern history and its current situation. I learned about other cultures. Some of my favorite parts of the semester were traveling around Greece and other European countries. I've been abroad for a year before, so I'm not sure I really de..."

Brandeis University
06/19/2018 Greece Is Incredible! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I loved being immersed into the the Greek Culture! It was completely worthwhile, and I will cherish my time in Athens forever!"

Wellesley College
06/09/2018 Like No Other! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"Henry Miller once said that “One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.” The world has magnificent depth, and through study abroad with CYA, I believe that I have been transformed into a mature, well-rounded person who can appreciate this depth in every aspect of my life. Renown as an inevitable side-eff..."

University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
05/09/2018 A Great Semester With Cya! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"My semester abroad has been truly amazing! Living in a such a historical city as Athens, I had unique opportunities to have onsite lectures, such as at the Acropolis, or National Archeological Museum. I have been able to see in person, so much of what I had only previously learned in textbooks. And my professors have had so much..."

Gettysburg College
05/08/2018 Best Time Of My Life CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"CYA is exactly what I wanted from my study abroad. From friendly staff, to eager professors, to beautiful scenery, to amazing food, Greece has given me priceless memories and so many reasons to return. I learned about relying on myself and interacting in a new place"

Washington University in St. Louis