4.5 - 189 Reviews

AMIDEAST

http://www.amideast.org/abroad/home

AMIDEAST is a program provider offering 8 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad, Internship, Volunteer, and Intensive Language abroad programs in 4 countries such as Online Education Abroad - Virtual Study Abroad, Morocco, Jordan, and Tunisia.

Building on AMIDEAST’s mission, AMIDEAST Education Abroad Programs in the Arab World help develop mutual understanding through programs for Americans to study the Middle East and North Africa and interact with the peoples and cultures of the region, especially local university faculty members and students. At the same time, AMIDEAST Education Abroad Programs strive to develop students’ intercultural and global competence and provide students with living and learning environments that are academically free and stimulating, intellectually rigorous and challenging, interculturally open and accepting, and physically safe. Join us on one of our semester, academic year, or summer programs for an exceptional discovery of the Arab World.

Study Abroad with AMIDEAST

OVERALL RATING 4.5
Based on 189 Reviews
Academics
Social/Cultural
Housing
Admin
Healthcare
Overall Experience
July 27, 2021
02/21/2019 Morocco Is Incredibly Challenging But Incredibly Rewarding AMIDEAST: Rabat - Regional Studies in French

"I learned a lot about the importance of foreign language and was forced to confront my race in new ways. It was incredibly meaningful. "

Mount Holyoke College
02/21/2019 A Great Chance To Push Boundaries. AMIDEAST: Ifrane - Direct Enrollment at Al-Akhawayn University

"I learned Arabic and non verbal communication skills and how to figure things out based off of contextualization. I also learned a lot about other cultures. It was worthwhile. "

Case Western Reserve University
02/20/2019 Wonderful AMIDEAST: Rabat - Regional Studies in French

"I learned learned valuable language skills, and made a great deal of personal discoveries."

Oberlin College
02/20/2019 Amideast In Amman AMIDEAST: Amman - Area & Arabic Language Studies

"I improved my Arabic especially my colloquial. The smaller size of the program was also great because you really got close with all of the students."

George Washington University
07/10/2018 Get Out Of Here And Go To Amman AMIDEAST: Amman - Area & Arabic Language Studies

"The best experience. It's cliche but you learn more about who you are and what you really want. "

Syracuse University
07/08/2018 Learning Through Doing AMIDEAST: Rabat - Regional Studies in French

"I gained a much wider worldview. For each time I was frustrated with the environment around me, I had at least five moments that made up for it with beautiful views, friendly people, and new skills to take with me."

SUNY - College at Geneseo
07/04/2018 Amazing AMIDEAST: Amman - Area & Arabic Language Studies

"Improved language skills "

Boston College
07/03/2018 Morocco: A Second Home AMIDEAST: Rabat - Regional Studies in French

"My experience abroad was most certainly worthwhile. I became very close with my host family, and felt that I was really able to immerse myself in the culture through my host family living arrangement, Moroccan language partners, weekly intercultural dialogues, and weekend travel/exploration. I became much more comfortable using ..."

Kenyon College
02/06/2018 Feeling Welcomed: A Semester In Rabat AMIDEAST Rabat - Area & Arabic Language Studies

"I gained confidence in my speaking ability and also improved my problem solving and communication skills."

Mount Holyoke College
01/31/2018 Jordan Is Wonderful, You Should Consider Going! AMIDEAST: Amman - Area & Arabic Language Studies

"I met amazing teachers abroad. The program in general was a little disappointing. "

Dickinson College
01/31/2018 Finding A Second Home In Amman AMIDEAST: Amman - Area & Arabic Language Studies

"I gained the ability to communicate without using language and a mindset to travel more. I am so grateful for the opportunity to study in Amman."

Knox College
Past Review Morocco: My New Home AMIDEAST: Rabat - Summer Intensive Arabic

"I learned a ton of Arabic and so much of Moroccan culture, it was most definitely worthwhile."

University of Arkansas - Fayetteville
Past Review Jordan: The Country Of Many Cultures AMIDEAST: Amman - Intensive Arabic, Summer

"I gained valuable experience with the Arabic language and even more valuable understanding of the Arab culture. It was worthwile, but also worth the money. It's an expensive program, but AMIDEAST did everything right."

Yale University
Past Review Language Intense! AMIDEAST: Rabat - Summer Intensive Arabic

"I hugely improved my language skills."

Whitman College
Past Review From Nothing To So Much More AMIDEAST: Amman - Intensive Arabic, Summer

"It was worth it to come here knowing nothing because it motivated me to learn as much as I could before leaving. "

University of Maryland - College Park
Past Review Great Program AMIDEAST: Amman - Area & Arabic Language Studies

"This program, as well as the host country, can be a life changing experience. I would highly recommend for people interested in the region, people, and language."

Northeastern University
Past Review A Challenging, Yet Rewarding, Semester In Morocco! AMIDEAST: Rabat - Regional Studies in French

"I learned a lot about myself. My program was definitely more challenging than a lot of my friends who studied in Europe, but I also feel that I got a lot more out of my experience. "

American University
Past Review Moroccan Lessons AMIDEAST Rabat - Area & Arabic Language Studies

"I learned a lot about myself and how I handle different situations. I grew as well and adapted new healthier ways to handle struggles. "

Case Western Reserve University
Past Review Personal Growth + Beautiful Sights AMIDEAST Rabat - Area & Arabic Language Studies

"This experience was very much worthwhile for me. Studying in Morocco had its challenges, but by the end of the semester, I felt like I had found a new home for myself. I met some amazing people, who I know I will keep in touch with for the rest of my life because they became a part of my family. I learned to be more independen..."

University of Richmond
Past Review Wow AMIDEAST: Rabat - Regional Studies in French

"I gained independence and language skill and cultural awareness. Yes it was worhtwhile"

Macalester College
Past Review Cultural Immersion AMIDEAST: Amman - Intensive Arabic, Summer

"I learned a lot about Jordanian culture and I appreciate this program for what it taught me in that regard. "

Dickinson College
Past Review An Incredible, Almost Indescribable Experience (Not That I Won't Stop Trying!) AMIDEAST: Amman - Area & Arabic Language Studies

"So much...I don't even know where to begin. Mostly, I saw a lot of self-growth in my confidence and knowledge of myself, which, of course, makes the program very worthwhile."

Cornell College
Past Review An Incredible Experience AMIDEAST Rabat - Area & Arabic Language Studies

"Well, obviously I learned a lot, more than I could ever write in a review. Morocco is definitely a unique place to live for four months as an American, but in all the good ways. A very different experience than those who studied in Europe for sure!"

Knox College
Past Review Go To Morocco! AMIDEAST Rabat - Area & Arabic Language Studies

"Maybe the most important thing I learned is how difficult it is to be a foreigner anywhere. I now have much more empathy of immigrants and refugees struggling in a strange new place."

United States Military Academy
Past Review Semester In Amman AMIDEAST: Amman - Area & Arabic Language Studies

"I would definitely go back and recommend the program/city to other students"

Brandeis University