4.4 - 71 Reviews

Academic Programs Abroad (APA)

http://www.apaparis.com

Academic Programs Abroad (APA) is a program provider offering 16 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad, Internship, Intensive Language, and Gap Year abroad programs in 5 countries such as France, Senegal, Online Education Abroad - Virtual Study Abroad, and Morocco.

APA is a boutique program provider in Paris, France with a passion to provide a first-rate study abroad experience that unites academic excellence with the beauty and richness of French and Francophone culture. For over 30 years, students from more than 80 US colleges and universities have received a personalized, immersive education abroad in Paris, France; Dakar, Senegal; Rabat, Morocco; and Fort-de-France, Martinique.

Built on the pillars of academics, culture, and community, each program in the APA portfolio is thoughtfully designed to challenge each student to immerse her or himself in all aspects of the French and Francophone lifestyle. Through this immersion, we have witnessed students grow to become not only more fluent but, mature and globally-minded citizens.

Study Abroad with Academic Programs Abroad (APA)

OVERALL RATING 4.4
Based on 71 Reviews
Social/Cultural
Admin
Housing
Healthcare
Academics
Overall Experience
December 9, 2021
04/08/2021 Could Not Recommend More Highly! Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"I improved my french enormously, I was able to genuinely integrate into a different culture and country, and I built all of these skills of open-mindedness, resilience, confidence, and others. I was supported at all times, and APA gave me the tools to feel at home in this new city, with constant excursions, shows, and workshops...."

Swarthmore College
01/10/2020 An Incredible Adventure Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"I experienced a significant improvement in my french language skills. "

George Washington University
01/10/2020 GĂ©nial! Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"For one thing, I achieved a much higher level of proficiency in French. Beyond that, I gained new friends, a broader cultural perpective, more independence, and of course, wonderful memories. This semester was absolutely worthwhile."

George Washington University
11/04/2019 Apa: An Authentic Parisian Learning Experience Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"I learned how to speak French in many registers. I learned a lot about myself in tandem with learning valuable information about the history and lifestyle of the city. "

Sewanee: The University of the South
08/19/2019 A Really Bad Experience! Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Dakar - Summer Program

"Yes, I would still say it was worthwhile because I was able to be immersed in a Francophone country and forced to challenge myself in ways I never could had I stayed back in the US for the summer. There are things I learned that I'm still thinking about how to articulate and that can't be summed up simply in this review. Even if..."

Vassar College
07/29/2019 Experience Of A Lifetime Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"I had a wonderful time in France with APA! The language immersion really improved my skills. The events we had planned such as neighborhood visits, and weekend excursions were super fun and gave a lot of great historical overview. Academics were not too challenging but I still had some work to do with the language on a college l..."

Swarthmore College
07/25/2019 Amazing Study Abroad Experience Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"My semester abroad was easily one of the most amazing semesters of college. My french significantly improved, I was able to take very interesting classes and was able to fully immerse myself in the french culture. "

Franklin & Marshall College
07/19/2019 The Full Immersion Experience Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"Absolutely! I am a big traveler, but after flying solo for 5 months and relying on a second language was the most incredible experience. I am so much more confident in my abilities now, not to mention fluent in French."

Southern Methodist University
05/15/2019 Apa Paris Was The Best Program For Me! Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"I gained am immense amount of confidence in my French language skills and had endless opportunities to use and improve upon them."

Brandeis University
05/07/2019 My Second Hometown, Paris Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"Cultural experience Language integration Native expressions Broaden horizon"

Brandeis University
01/16/2019 Great, Immersive Abroad Experience! Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"My language skills improved a lot, I met some great people, did some great traveling. Definitely worthwhile!"

Swarthmore College
09/20/2018 A Inspiring And Life Changing Semester Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"My language skills increased immensely and I learned how to integrate into a new culture "

Brandeis University
08/15/2018 Dakar: Experiencing Francophone West Africa In Senegal Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Dakar - Summer Program

"I greatly improved my grasp of the French language, which was my main academic goal in choosing this program. First-hand experiences in the African context were also extremely valuable to me in expanding my worldview."

Grand Valley State University
06/24/2018 An Immersive Experience Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"I felt at home in the Parisian culture after my semester. I got a taste of what it's like to be a French student, I made new friends, and I perfected my language skills. I would do it again in a heartbeat."

DePauw University
05/30/2018 Semester In Paris With Apa Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"My French improved drastically and it was fun to explore a major city on my own. I learned a lot about myself and other cultures."

DePauw University
05/30/2018 Apa Is Incredibly Responsive And Goes Out Of Their Way To Help Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"I gained french skills, local friends, a new understanding of the francophone world, and confidence. Very worthwhile. "

Princeton University
Past Review A Semester In Paris! Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"Very worthwhile! For language improvement, there is no substitute for total immersion. I also became more confident living and traveling on my own."

Brandeis University
Past Review Get Out Of Your Comfort Zone And Truly Love Life! Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"I learned how to be independent and self-sufficient. In the beginning, I had trouble being academically confident in myself. However, I did not give up and by the end I was succeeding in my classes. I also learned how to problem solve on many different levels, especially by traveling between countries, oftentimes by myself. "

Brandeis University
Past Review Spring In Paris! Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"I believe that my French speaking, reading, writing, and comprehension skills were significantly improved while in Paris. My university classes were very challenging but "

Brandeis University
Past Review Nothing Can Quite Measure Up To Living In Paris For A Year. Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"i learned a lot about myself. i know it sounds cliche but it takes so much bravery to go abroad for a year, and i got to make the most out of my sejour in paris, as well as explore the rest of europe. i feel like i really was able to get to know paris as a city, and by the time my program end date rolled around, it felt like i w..."

Brandeis University
Past Review Paris Holds The Key To My Heart Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"I learned a lot about how to deal with setbacks and how to move forward as well as how important it is for others to feel understood and validated during a social interaction. "

Amherst College
Past Review Great In House Courses Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"The programme organised a show to go to each week, so I was really exposed to the art scene and saw a lot of art I hadn't seen before "

Swarthmore College
Past Review Wonderful Study Abroad Experience Academic Programs Abroad (APA): Paris - Immersion for Intermediate & Advanced French Speakers

"There were only ten students in the program which made the experience very personal. It was just what I needed to improve my French. The two classes that they offered were very interesting and included weekend study tours to other countries. They were taught by dedicated professors who enjoyed working with international stude..."

Bryn Mawr College