4.5 - 244 Reviews

The School for Field Studies / SFS

http://www.fieldstudies.org/

The School for Field Studies / SFS is a program provider offering 10 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Research abroad programs in 12 countries such as Tanzania, Peru, Panama, and Kenya.

The School for Field Studies (SFS) is one of the nation’s oldest and largest environmental study abroad programs, combining hands-on interdisciplinary environmental studies with scientific research to develop sustainable solutions to critical environmental problems. SFS students work with communities to discover practical ways to manage their natural resources. In the process, SFS students undergo a transformational experience that assists them in advancing their careers as skilled professionals and globally-aware citizens.

Study Abroad with The School for Field Studies / SFS

OVERALL RATING 4.5
Based on 244 Reviews
Housing
Healthcare
Admin
Academics
Social/Cultural
Overall Experience
January 16, 2021
07/28/2020 Unexpected Pandemic! The School for Field Studies / SFS: Peru – Amazon Studies

"I learned new perspectives on happiness as well as the dependence of many people on nature. I gained so much knowledge and it was completely worthwhile."

Wellesley College
04/17/2020 A Completely Immersive Education In Environmental Issues Facing Tropical Areas. The School for Field Studies / SFS: Panama - Tropical Island Biodiversity Studies

"Extremely worthwhile. Although I do not want to study hard science in college, I found the experience working on a microbiology research project for nearly a month to be super valuable. It is very rare for undergrads to participate in such worthwhile research projects. While the project I was on did not end up getting published,..."

Middlebury College
01/17/2020 An Unforgettable, Life Changing Experience The School for Field Studies / SFS: Tanzania - Wildlife Management Studies

"I was able to learn a lot about myself though this experience and broaden my worldview while gaining a lot of knowledge that I can take to my majors. It was definitely worthwhile"

Wellesley College
12/17/2019 A Life Changing Experience The School for Field Studies / SFS: Peru – Amazon Studies

"Peru gave me the confidence to travel and live abroad, amazing friends, and applicable experience for my future as an ecologist. I never regretted for a second that I went."

University of Colorado - Boulder
11/26/2019 Purgatorial Entrapment In A Gorgeous Country The School for Field Studies / SFS: Costa Rica - Sustainable Development Studies

"Costa Rica is beautiful, and I learned some neat stuff. Throughout the semester, I was extremely frustrated that I wasn't trusted to take care of my self. I feel like I missed out on a lot because I wasn't able to do anything on my own."

Kenyon College
06/20/2019 So Much Learning In So Little Time The School for Field Studies / SFS: Costa Rica - Sustainable Development Studies

"I learned about another culture and the biodiversity in other parts of the world. Due to being there, I was able to see hands on new kinds of plants and environmental interactions instead than read about them. I also got to know how Costa Rica has become a leader in environmentalism and how we may be able to bring that back to t..."

Muhlenberg College
05/31/2019 A Great Experience For Wildlife Lovers! The School for Field Studies / SFS: Tanzania - Wildlife Management Studies

"I think that this program showed me a lot about the importance of the human side of conservation, and got me really excited about conservation strategies that actually consider the livelihoods and wellbeing of people. This is an issue that is certainly not as widely discussed in the US, and I think that coming to Tanzania and do..."

Brandeis University
05/26/2019 Sfs Bhutan Opened Up My World And Gave Me Hope! The School for Field Studies / SFS: Bhutan - Bhutan - Himalayan Studies

"This experience has been life-changing, so I would certainly say it was worthwhile. I learned much about myself, in terms of self-reliance, self-compassion, and self-reflection. I learned about a new culture and way of life that is unlike anything I had experienced before. I learned how complex environmental problems are and how..."

Muhlenberg College
04/30/2019 The Experience Of A Lifetime, With (Difficult To Avoid) Limitations The School for Field Studies / SFS: Peru – Amazon Studies

"I gained a thorough understanding of local ecology, conservation efforts, and political and social movement in theory from my semester abroad. I think the only thing that could have been improved upon was the local cultural immersion through more opportunities to explore the city on our own, less curfew and campus building restr..."

Columbia University
02/19/2019 A Semester Of Rashes, Parasites, And Mold But Also Fun Times The School for Field Studies / SFS: Peru – Amazon Studies

"I learned how to navigate foreign cities and that some people are really into plants."

Carleton College
02/15/2019 Amazing Interactive Opportunity To Learn About Peruvian Culture And Environment The School for Field Studies / SFS: Peru – Amazon Studies

"Yes, I improved my use of the spanish language ten-fold and I now have an extensive knowledge on some of the issues that the Amazon Rain Forest is faced with. I now use this information daily to educate children through my job as a wildlife educator and I hope I can teach the next generation that it is important to stop them. "

Delaware Valley University
02/14/2019 Incredible Community And Fascinating Study Abroad Location The School for Field Studies / SFS: Peru – Amazon Studies

"This program is so worthwhile. I learned so much about the Peruvian culture, ecology, political and social landscape, and got a wonderful experience that I will always carry with me."

Gonzaga University
02/08/2019 Sfs Center For Amazon Studies, Fall 2018 The School for Field Studies / SFS: Peru – Amazon Studies

"I learned so much about environmental justice and how ecology is so tied in to people's well being."

University of Richmond
01/29/2019 The Best 3.5 Months Of My Life, And I Highly Recommend This Program! The School for Field Studies / SFS: Costa Rica - Sustainable Development Studies

"I gained a new way to look at things by being surrounded by people coming from different universities and countries, and I also gained skills I'll take to the field one day. This experience was extremely worthwhile. "

Wellesley College
01/26/2019 Would Choose To Do It Again Without A Doubt. The School for Field Studies / SFS: Cambodia – Conservation and Development Studies

"To name a few: * practices in navigating through multicultural environments * friendships * resilience * understanding the complexities of environmental problems in Cambodia through field research * field research techniques, data management and analysis * self-understanding * Khmer culture and ways of life Defi..."

Wellesley College
01/26/2019 Rainforest Research: A Wild Time The School for Field Studies / SFS: Australia & New Zealand - Rainforest Studies

"I gained an understanding of just how big the world is, and a sense for the different parts of biology I want to study later in life. It was worthwhile."

Grinnell College
01/25/2019 Highs And Lows The School for Field Studies / SFS: Costa Rica - Sustainable Development Studies

"Definitely worthwhile. I learned a lot about myself. "

Wellesley College
01/18/2019 Unique Experience Studying Enviro In A Buddhist Eco Friendly Country The School for Field Studies / SFS: Bhutan - Bhutan - Himalayan Studies

"I learned about Buddhism, GNH, environmental governance, Bhutanese culture, elevational zonation, mountain ecology, and political dimensions of the environment. Definitely worthwhile!"

Brandeis University
01/18/2019 Finding Balance (And Maybe Happiness) In Bhutan The School for Field Studies / SFS: Bhutan - Bhutan - Himalayan Studies

"I learned about environmental science, how living in another country is different from living in the US, and I gained new friends!"

Wellesley College
01/16/2019 Amazing Study Abroad Research Experience The School for Field Studies / SFS: Costa Rica - Sustainable Development Studies

"I gained research skills and became a better global citizen and more aware of my environmental impact. "

Wellesley College
01/09/2019 Best Way To Experience Cambodia As A Country The School for Field Studies / SFS: Cambodia – Conservation and Development Studies

"I got to experience an amazing country and solidify my choice to work in environmental education abroad. I believe that this experience was worthwhile because I grew as a person, experienced a new country, met a lot of new people, and learned about elephants. Although the field experience was not what I expected, I do think that..."

University of Connecticut
01/07/2019 Traveling Across Cambodia For Classroom Interactions Hot The School for Field Studies / SFS: Cambodia – Conservation and Development Studies

"I learned that it is important to advocate for yourself and your needs, especially in regards to your mental and physical health. It was worthwhile, but I would not do it again. "

Wellesley College
12/20/2018 A Positive Learning Experience The School for Field Studies / SFS: Bhutan - Bhutan - Himalayan Studies

"I learned about local culture, ecology and land use, and myself. It was worthwhile."

Brandeis University
12/19/2018 The Himalayan Experience The School for Field Studies / SFS: Bhutan - Bhutan - Himalayan Studies

"I gained more confidence in my ability to interact with people from a different culture. I feel more comfortable having to navigate a language barrier and talking to strangers."

Brandeis University
09/23/2018 Hands On Science In A Close Knit Group The School for Field Studies / SFS: Panama - Tropical Island Biodiversity Studies

"I gained a group of friends who care about the same things as me and have experienced living in the amazing town of Bocas. "

University of Wisconsin - Madison