4.5 - 286 Reviews

The School for Field Studies / SFS

https://fieldstudies.org/

The School for Field Studies / SFS is a program provider offering 10 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Research abroad programs in 12 countries such as Peru, Panama, Bhutan, and Chile.

The School for Field Studies (SFS) is one of the nation’s oldest and largest environmental study abroad programs, combining hands-on interdisciplinary environmental studies with scientific research to develop sustainable solutions to critical environmental problems. SFS students work with communities to discover practical ways to manage their natural resources. In the process, SFS students undergo a transformational experience that assists them in advancing their careers as skilled professionals and globally-aware citizens.

For more information, visit our website at https://fieldstudies.org/.

Study Abroad with The School for Field Studies / SFS

OVERALL RATING 4.5
Based on 286 Reviews
Healthcare
Academics
Social/Cultural
Housing
Admin
Overall Experience
June 13, 2024
05/30/2024 Worth The Heat The School for Field Studies / SFS: Costa Rica – Ecological Resilience Studies

"I gained knowledge about climate solutions being practiced internationally. Very worth it."

Brandeis University
05/25/2024 Highly Recommend With All My Heart! Unique Experience The School for Field Studies / SFS: Cambodia – Environmental Justice and Mekong Ecologies

"So worthwhile. I learned that I love hearing people's stories, love Cambodia, and the people there! I also learned how I am very adaptable, but need space from people. It is a LOT of time with the same group."

Wellesley College
05/21/2024 Great Safari, Mediocre Education! The School for Field Studies / SFS: Tanzania - Wildlife Management Studies

"It was definitely worthwhile. I did not go in with any real expectations, but I learned a lot about sustainable development which is something I had never really learned about before."

Brandeis University
02/02/2024 The World Is Greater Than You Think The School for Field Studies / SFS: Bhutan - Bhutan - Himalayan Studies

"I learned so much about the world and Bhutanese culture. I feel like it expanded my consciousness"

Wellesley College
01/21/2024 3 Months Of Australian Rainforest Immersion The School for Field Studies / SFS: Australia – Rainforest studies

"I gained a lot of personal growth and field experiences. It was hard but very beautiful to live in the rainforest for 3 months. Gained a very different academic experience than being in a classroom at middlebury. Very worthwhile."

Middlebury College
01/11/2024 Off The Beaten Path! The School for Field Studies / SFS: Turks and Caicos Islands - Marine Resource Studies

"I learned a lot about marine biology, and local culture. I really enjoyed the tight knit commitment, although it could be isolating at some points. "

Middlebury College
01/08/2024 A Semester Full Of Incredible Bonds, Learning Experiences, And Joy. The School for Field Studies / SFS: Australia – Rainforest studies

"I made friends who were way different from me, learned how to work in groups with all kinds of people, developed field skills, learned to live without a lot of modern comforts (ex. dryer, dishwasher, wifi, heat/electricity), fell in love with being outdoors all day. One of the best experiences of my entire life. "

Middlebury College
12/29/2023 The Himalaya The School for Field Studies / SFS: Bhutan - Bhutan - Himalayan Studies

"I got to live in a country that I otherwise wouldn't be able to"

Brandeis University
12/28/2023 20% Like Being At A Resort, 80% Like Being On Survivor. The School for Field Studies / SFS: Turks and Caicos Islands - Marine Resource Studies

"I learned valuable research techniques, became scuba certified, and got real good at darts. It was definitely worthwhile."

Wellesley College
12/26/2023 Beautiful Bhutan <3 The School for Field Studies / SFS: Bhutan - Bhutan - Himalayan Studies

"Saw Bhutans rich cultures and fell in love with the natural landscape of the area "

Brandeis University
12/14/2023 Group Work In The Field Studying The Enviornment The School for Field Studies / SFS: Panama - Tropical Island Biodiversity Studies

"I learned how to conduct field research, even regarding grants and research in a foreign country. "

Wellesley College
11/06/2023 Field Based Learning With Beautiful Sights! The School for Field Studies / SFS: Chile – Climate Studies in Patagonia

"I gained a sense of political and social dimensions of conservation in Chile as well as a real-world sense of geological concepts that we cover in Wellesley classes but don't get the chance to see "

Wellesley College
08/15/2023 Exploration Of Culture And Science The School for Field Studies / SFS: Panama - Tropical Island Biodiversity Studies

"I gained lots of cultural competency, independent researching skills, ecology techniques, and advanced my knowledge of the Spanish language. It was worthwhile. "

Brandeis University
07/18/2023 Learning To Learn For Life The School for Field Studies / SFS: Panama - Tropical Island Biodiversity Studies

"This was absolutely a worthwhile experience. Staying in a bubble will not help you grow as a person or as a life-long learner. Experiencing and actively learning about different cultures is key to forming a wider worldview."

Brandeis University
06/05/2023 Incredible Adventure The School for Field Studies / SFS: Chile – Climate Studies in Patagonia

"I learned how much you can learn outside of the classroom."

Brandeis University
05/24/2023 Stories With Incredible People, In An Incredible Place, At An Incredible Time. The School for Field Studies / SFS: Bhutan - Bhutan - Himalayan Studies

"I have a lot of stories now with a lot of incredible people, in an incredible place, at an incredible time. Worthwhile absolutely."

Middlebury College
02/06/2023 Lots Of Bugs! Lots Of Fun! Lots Of Friends! The School for Field Studies / SFS: Australia – Rainforest studies

"It was worthwhile. I learned to live and work with challenging people and how to conduct research in the field. "

Wellesley College
01/23/2023 A New Home In Tanzania: Life Changing And Eye Opening! The School for Field Studies / SFS: Tanzania - Wildlife Management Studies

"Beyond just new academics, this program was really a learning experience in a different lifestyle. It taught me flexibility, "pole-pole" or slow-living, the beauty of being present, a reduction in materialistic tendencies (which the world needs more of), and made community a greater priority in my life. I can't speak well enough..."

Wellesley College
01/22/2023 Sfs Kenya More Than A Study Abroad Experience, A Family The School for Field Studies / SFS: Kenya – Endangered Species Conservation

"I got to experience how climate change, specifically drought, has transformed the landscape around the Amboseli ecosystem. People and wildlife alike have been extremely impacted, and it makes me think even more about how companies continue to pollute, quite literally threatening the lives of communities. "

Wellesley College
01/21/2023 People & Wildlife Sharing The Land The School for Field Studies / SFS: Kenya – Endangered Species Conservation

"I learned about a culture entirely different than what I know in the US. I got to meet amazing people and see so much wildlife. These parts were worthwhile."

Wellesley College
01/20/2023 Great Program In Concept, Just Okay In Execution, But I'm Glad I Went The School for Field Studies / SFS: Bhutan - Bhutan - Himalayan Studies

"I saw many different ways of life in Bhutan, learned about environmental politics from a Bhutanese perspective, experienced incredible landscapes and culture, and had an intensive field work experience. "

Wellesley College
12/29/2022 Each Day Was A New Adventure And I'll Always Cherish My Time Spent In Panama. The School for Field Studies / SFS: Panama - Tropical Island Biodiversity Studies

"I learned about myself and the general career path I want to pursue in the future. It was a rewarding experience. "

Brandeis University
11/02/2022 Incredible Experience Of Experiential Learning Outside The Classroom The School for Field Studies / SFS: Cambodia – Environmental Justice and Mekong Ecologies

"The opportunity to live abroad in Cambodia through this program drastically changed my research and life goals. It taught me the importance of including cultural context and local knowledge in my work and made me interested in integrative Biology approaches. It also led to me traveling through Asia for several months after gradu..."

Bucknell University
10/15/2022 Exciting, Educational, And Humbling The School for Field Studies / SFS: Kenya – Endangered Species Conservation

"Challenges quite a few assumptions and really deepened my understanding of life, humanity, and the commonalities (and differences) between people(s)."

University of Maryland - Baltimore County / UMBC