4.6 - 238 Reviews

CYA (College Year in Athens)

https://www.cyathens.org

CYA (College Year in Athens) is a program provider offering 3 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad abroad programs in 1 country such as Greece.

CYA (College Year in Athens) is a non-profit educational institution that has been acting as a cultural and educational bridge between the U.S. and Greece for nearly 60 years. Our study abroad program helps students to develop new perspectives on the world, their own countries and themselves.

CYA offers outstanding academic programs (semester, year, winter and summer) and Virtual Internships programs all of which embrace the vibrant experience of day-to-day contact with the people, the monuments and the landscape of Greece. All the programs place an emphasis on learning beyond the classroom, offering hands-on learning experience in the rich and diverse environment of the country. Our extensive curriculum is complemented by on-site classes adding a new dimension to learning as well as a global understanding of the subjects taught.

All courses at CYA use the abundant resources in Athens and of what can be seen or experienced directly. The Archaeology and Art History courses provide a wealth of opportunities to study authentic material and original artifacts on-site, in the world-renowned museums of Athens and other Greek regions. Courses from other disciplines bring you in direct contact with the local community such as Anthropology, Environmental Studies, Political and Modern Greek, to name a few.

Field study is an integral part of the CYA program. Led by our faculty and experts with extensive knowledge of the relevant sites and locale, students have the opportunity to explore Greece and some of its most significant sites, which are among the most impressive and beautiful of the world.

Our CYA expert faculty and passionate staff are dedicated to offer students the best learning and life changing experience.

For more information, please visit our website at https://cyathens.org/

Study Abroad with CYA (College Year in Athens)

OVERALL RATING 4.6
Based on 238 Reviews
Admin
Healthcare
Housing
Social/Cultural
Academics
Overall Experience
June 12, 2024
09/29/2022 Great Time CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I had a great time with CYA Athens! Met a lot of people from all over the world and even learned a little bit of Greek. I felt immersed in the culture as I got my daily coffee or saw my favorite waiter for dinner. The professors made you feel welcome and all the staff was willing to help and take the extra mile to help you. A tr..."

University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
09/20/2022 Loved The Ability To Travel Despite Mediocre Program CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned how to be more independent and how to deal with personal disagreements with those around me. The travel on weekends made it worth it alone."

Brandeis University
09/13/2022 Studying Political Science In The Birthplace Of Democracy CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned a lot about the origins of democracy and the local culture in Athens. It was definitely worthwhile."

University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
09/07/2022 Trip Of A Lifetime! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I loved Greece, and specifically living in Pangrati. I genuinely miss the food, culture, and the people. The sense of community I had while in Greece was unlike any other and I can't wait to return. I learned how to be more independent and comfortable with myself by being abroad."

Lafayette College
09/05/2022 The Most Amazing Summer Experience! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"The knowledge I gained and the people I met expanded my view of the world tenfold. Had I not studied abroad, the entire treasure trove of rich archaeological, social, and cultural history that is Greece would remain hidden from me."

Harvard University
09/05/2022 College Class On The Beach! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned so much about excuvating and the process of it. I loved the trip. "

George Washington University
09/05/2022 Fantastic Experience! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"Of all the things I learned during my time in Greece, I think the most important was how to look at my own life in the U.S. from an international perspective. Seeing the culture of another place made it a lot clearer what aspects of life in the U.S. were more culturally entrenched than I had previously thought, and it's motivate..."

University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
09/01/2022 Travelings & Writing In Greece During The Summer — Perfection! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned a lot about travel writing and had a lot of personal growth as well so it was definitely worth it."

Pomona College
09/01/2022 Great Experience CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"Definitely worthwhile. Cultural exposure"

Grinnell College
08/16/2022 Great To Be Among The Culture I Study! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned to be more independent, and better budgeting skills."

Brandeis University
07/10/2022 The Best Month Of My Life In My Favorite New City CYA (College Year in Athens) - Summer Program

"I learned a lot about life outside of the U.S., and the many similarities and differences between my home and Greece. It was definitely worthwhile to get to learn directly in the place I was studying in- there are some experiences that the classroom alone at home cannot provide!"

University of Rochester
06/08/2022 Seriously The Best Time Of My Life CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"1000% worthwhile. Learned so much about myself and grew so much by experiencing new cultures, languages, people, etc. Traveled every weekend of my four months abroad except for 3. SO fun, met people who I consider some of my closest friends. Incredible incredible time abroad and I only wish that every single person on this plane..."

University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
05/26/2022 Greece Was An Awesome/Growing/Learning Experience! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"Studying abroad, you gain a new sense of independence and confidence I didn't feel as much in college. It was worthwhile and helps shape character"

Brandeis University
05/16/2022 Study Abroad Is The Best Decision I Made! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I was able to become more independent and experience so many amazing things! I saw lots of amazing places and fell in love with living in Athens."

Emory University
05/10/2022 Greece Is An Unforgettable Experience CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned how to be patient and relax, working on time management and pacing myself. I also learned a lot about Greek society as a whole in comparison to things in the US, and I wouldn't trade this experience for the world. I loved Athens and I didn't want it to end!"

Wellesley College
04/07/2022 A Gander Into Greek Society CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned true independence as the insurer of my own well being and explored a culture so different from my own. "

Wellesley College
02/16/2022 Cya Winter Program 2022: Archaeology CYA (College Year in Athens): Winter/J-Term Program

"This was truly one of the most interesting and exciting programs I have ever been on. College Year in Athens is dedicated to teaching students in a way that gets them out of the classroom and into the world around them. This three week long winter program is a great way to familiarize oneself with the fundamentals of an archaeol..."

College of the Holy Cross
02/09/2022 Choose Athens! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned so much about the perspective of world history, and for the first time from and Eastern, rather than Western perspective. I have a much better understanding of what formed the world we experience today. On a personal level, I also learned how to explore, be curious, and live life to the fullest. I made lifelong fri..."

University of Notre Dame
02/09/2022 An Amazing First Semester!!! CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"Spending my first semester as a college student abroad was incredibly worth it! I made incredible memories, saw so many historical/beautiful nature sites, and was able to explore so much independently. "

Wellesley College
01/30/2022 Fun, Education, And A Lovely Semester CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned much about Greek history and archaeology, which is not something I have been exposed to in detail before. I also learned about taking care of oneself in a foreign country and learning to live in the moment. This was certainly a worthwhile experience."

Wellesley College
01/27/2022 Unforgettable Experience CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I am so, so glad that I chose to go abroad with CYA. I got the academics that I needed while still having the time and support to explore Greece both with the program and on my own time. The apartments are in a great location -- you can walk to the Parthenon! -- and you get opportunities to meet your Greek neighbors, too. The fa..."

Tufts University
01/17/2022 Enriching Cultural Experience CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"Learned how to be independent and adapt to a changing environment. Studying abroad is a way to explore who you are and test and improve your capabilities to be flexible in an environment different from the one you are used to. "

Wellesley College
01/17/2022 An Experience Everyone Should Have. CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned about the sights and culture of another country, and also gained a lot of independence. Yes it was worthwhile."

Wellesley College
01/17/2022 Eye Opening CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned more about myself and I what I need to work on when it comes to professional skills and I learned a lot about a culture that I wasn’t initially familiar with."

Wellesley College
01/12/2022 Really Good Program For First Time Travelers CYA (College Year in Athens) - Semester/Academic Year Program

"I learned a lot about European history which I was not aware of before-hand, and it was interesting to see the way that the things we would learn in class (such as my sociology class or immigration class) could be applied to the daily life in Greece."

Wellesley College