4.4 - 48 Reviews

Budapest Semesters in Mathematics (BSM)

https://www.budapestsemesters.com/

Budapest Semesters in Mathematics (BSM) is a program provider offering 1 abroad program. Programs offered include Study Abroad abroad programs in 1 country such as Hungary.

Initiated by Paul Erdős, László Lovasz, and Vera T. Sós, the program Budapest Semesters in Mathematics (BSM) provides a unique opportunity for North American undergraduates. Through this program, mathematics and computer science majors in their junior/senior years may spend fall, spring or summer semester in Budapest and study under the tutelage of eminent Hungarian scholar-teachers. The instructors of BSM are members of Eötvös University, the Mathematical Institute of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, and Budapest University of Technology and Economics, the three institutions known for having educated more than half of Hungary’s highly acclaimed mathematicians. BSM classes are held at the College International, a Hungarian-based educational institution focusing on international students studying in Budapest. Most instructors have had teaching experience in North America and are familiar with the cultural differences.

Study Abroad with Budapest Semesters in Mathematics (BSM)

OVERALL RATING 4.4
Based on 48 Reviews
Housing
Admin
Social/Cultural
Academics
Healthcare
Overall Experience
August 8, 2020
09/20/2019 It Was A Very Challenging Program, But I Really Enjoyed It. BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"I learned a lot about living on my own (cooking for myself, etc) and how to be comfortable in a new place."

Middlebury College
10/30/2018 Academically Challenging. BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"As expected I learned a lot more about the subject of mathematics and the difficulty of graduate level coursework. It is worthwhile. "

Middlebury College
07/18/2018 Budapest Is The Best! BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"Unique cultural experience, opportunities to travel, unique course offerings, amazing professors"

Middlebury College
06/28/2018 Great Math& Challenging Class BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"Mathematics. It totally worths it. "

Middlebury College
06/03/2018 Need Help Deciding Whether Bsm Is Right For You? BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"It was very worthwhile. I gained both mathematical confidence and experience living independently in a foreign city. "

Whitman College
01/10/2018 A Challenging Mathematical Endeavor That You Don't Want To Miss. BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"Improving my mathematical maturity. Having confidence in my abilities."

Middlebury College
01/10/2018 Bsm BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"I learned that its good to travel and experience new things"

Middlebury College
01/03/2018 Cheap, Incredible Hungarian Math Experience! BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"Apart from just the new math knowledge, I got to travel and experience many new cultures and languages and "broaden my horizons," to be cliche. I am so glad I went; it was definitely worthwhile."

Wellesley College
09/18/2017 A Program That Lacks Diversity And Academic Resources BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"I learned how to live and cook in an apartment for the first time in my life, along with travelling extensively and navigating a city where I didn't speak the language. "

Wellesley College
08/07/2017 Challenging Classes In A Beautiful City BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"I had a fabulous time studying in Budapest this past summer. I made some amazing new friends who are math nerds like myself, and loved exploring the city."

Brandeis University
Past Review Amazing Math Culture + Beautiful City BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"As wonderful and fulfilling as the mathematical side of BSM is, the program is much more than just math. Hungarian, and European culture, in general, are very different from that of America. I had never been to Europe, and consequently had lots of idiosyncrasies to adjust to, like paying for bags at the grocery store, taking pu..."

Tulane University
Past Review Thinking About Study Abroad? Do It. BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"This program was very worthwhile to me. I learned to be more independent, to cook, to better balance work and fun; I was surrounded by people who taught me everything from math to cooking. "

Wellesley College
Past Review Great Math And Beautiful City. Disappointing In Terms Of Meeting Locals. BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"I learned a lot of math and gained some cultural experience by living in a post-Soviet country."

Wellesley College
Past Review Great Cultural And Mathematical Experience BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"I gained a greater degree of independence and got to learn about a new culture. It was definitely worth it!"

Berea College
Past Review Bsm: The Hardest/Most Rewarding Semester Yet. BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"I had a semester to focus solely on math, which made me see that I really do want to go to grad school. I was also able to live more independently than I had before, which helped me grow a lot as a person. This was definitely a worthwhile program."

Wellesley College
Past Review Bsm Is An Excellent Program! BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"I learned a lot of math and a lot about personal independence. Absolutely one of the best trips I've ever taken."

Middlebury College
Past Review My Happiest Semester In College (+Math) BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"Absolutely. I loved being in a program of all mathematicians, and realized that I want to go to grad school for math."

Wellesley College
Past Review Budapest Is Awesome! BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"Yes. "

The University of Texas at Austin
Past Review Fantastic Academics, Excellent Program BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"Learned lots of math. Definitely worth doing."

The University of Texas at Austin
Past Review An Intensive Math Semester In A Beautiful City. BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"I learned more math in one semester than I had in my previous 2 years in college. It was a lot of work but in the end, it was definitely worth it."

Middlebury College
Past Review Beautiful Mathematics, Beautiful City BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"Going to Budapest was one of the most meaningful experience I have had. I gained so much from being able to immerse myself in mathematics, as well as an appreciation for a culture and place distinct from anything I had experienced before. "

Middlebury College
Past Review Serious Math And Fun In Budapest BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"I learnt a lot of math and made friends with other students from many top North American university who also loves Math. Also two months' of staying in Budapest gave me a comprehensive understanding of this city. I am glad that I've chosen this program because it was really a wonderful experience from many aspects."

Brandeis University
Past Review Bsm BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"I learned a lot of math, first of all. I undoubtedly could have learned as much at Wellesley or MIT, but I learned in a different environment, so I appreciated that. I also got a lot better at cooking, and gained a lot of independence as well. I am confident that I could get myself out of a lot of bad situations in America, b..."

Wellesley College
Past Review Budapest = Love BSM: Budapest - Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

"Budapest is AMAZING! Loved the city but wouldn't choose the same program just because I didn't love my classes. The professors weren't great (in my opinion). "

Wellesley College