4.2 - 206 Reviews

Wellesley College

https://www.wellesley.edu/ois

Wellesley College is a program provider offering 1 abroad program. Programs offered include Study Abroad abroad programs in 1 country such as France.

Students who wish to study abroad may choose from more than 180 programs.

About 45% of Wellesley College juniors elect to study abroad for a semester or a year. Motivation for study abroad is as diverse as our student population. Many students study abroad to perfect a foreign language, or to conduct field research, or to gain a new perspective on their major. Others seek the opportunity to study in a major research university, live in an urban setting, or to experience life in a developing country. Whatever your goals, the Office of International Study wants to work with you to identify the most appropriate host university or study abroad program for an experience that will challenge you and provide you with the opportunity to grow as a global citizen.

Study Abroad with Wellesley College

OVERALL RATING 4.2
Based on 206 Reviews
Academics
Housing
Admin
Healthcare
Social/Cultural
Overall Experience
May 30, 2020
03/25/2020 An Incredible Few Months Immersed In French Life And Culture Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"I definitely think that my experience abroad was worthwhile. I believe that I gained a lot of independence and a greater understanding of myself. The thing that I am the most proud of is how much my language skills improved over my months abroad. "

Wellesley College
03/25/2020 I Loved Wellesley In Aix! Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"I gained and learned so much. I learned how independent and resilient I am. I made wonderful friends that I will stay in touch with for years to come. I advanced my French skills immensely. I challenged myself each and every day to expand my comfort zone and take full advantage of the experience before me. I got to travel and ex..."

Williams College
03/25/2020 Thriving With The Mistral Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"I learned how to be a bit more independent and my French skills improved a lot. "

Grinnell College
03/25/2020 A Semester In The Land Of Lavender Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"I gained near fluent levels of French, great friendships, amazing food experiences, and a European fashion sense."

Williams College
03/25/2020 Experience Of A Lifetime Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"I learned to step outside my comfort zone. It was scary stepping into classrooms with hundreds of French students and not knowing anyone, but I made friends. It was definitely worthwhile "

Wellesley College
03/11/2020 Great Time In Aix En Provence Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"YES! My French dramatically improved and I became a lot more independent. "

Syracuse University
01/30/2020 An Amazing Semester Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"I learned that I was able to feel comfortable living in a new country, and that I am capable of balancing academic, social, and personal responsibilities."

Wellesley College
01/29/2020 A Challenging But Worthwhile Experience In A Host Family. Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"I learned that I am able to integrate myself into French culture, and was able to make lifelong friends with my host family. I learned that Sciences Po has difficult courses. "

Wellesley College
01/05/2020 Immersive Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"Knowledge of French culture and more fluency with the language"

Wellesley College
01/03/2020 Not A Linear Process, But Infinitely Rewarding Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"I could go on forever about all I gained from this abroad experience. It was truly the most valuable part of my college years to date where I learned the most about myself and what it means to live in another culture so far from home. I grew much stronger in my French language abilities, I learned how to connect and form relatio..."

Wellesley College
12/22/2019 An Incredible Learning Curve Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"Language would be the biggest component, and also an appreciation for the difficulty of mastering a language and how different other cultures are from ours."

Wellesley College
11/05/2019 Discovering The South Of France Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"Improved language skills and greater cultural understanding"

Wellesley College
10/22/2019 Build Listening/Speaking Skills, Not So Much Writing/Reading Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"Both my ability and confidence in speaking and understanding spoken French improved dramatically. However, because many courses in France had little work during the semester (and then big papers or exams at the end) I got much less practice reading and especially writing than I did taking French classes in the US. I loved the ..."

Wellesley College
09/07/2019 Language And Cultural Immersion Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"It was definitely a worthwhile experience and I completed my goal of becoming better at French. However the program made it very difficult to integrate. "

Wellesley College
07/23/2019 Probably Have Chosen A Different Program Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"I made lifelong friends that I may not have met otherwise."

07/19/2019 Speaking French Is Not So Terrifying Anymore! Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"Better French language skills and confidence"

Wellesley College
07/19/2019 Many Good Points, But Areas To Be Improved Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"I was kinda recovering from a previous abroad experience so I didn't immerse myself in French culture as much as I could've. But I made amazing French friends and bonded with students from other American schools, which alone made it worthwhile. Wish I could've improved my French more, though, as I feel it actually regressed."

Wellesley College
07/12/2019 Beautiful City But Stressful Program Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"I did learn some cultural differences through my host family. My French level did improve a little but not as drastically as I had hoped."

Wellesley College
05/30/2019 A Terrific Program Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"again, massive language gains, and definitely cultural knowledge too. a very fun time"

Wellesley College
03/29/2019 Challenging But Worthwhile Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"I gained a comfort with speaking in French throughout the day and cooked a lot more, which brought me a lot of joy. It was worthwhile"

Wellesley College
01/12/2019 Bienvenu En France! Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"I learned how to live in France! Being in Aix taught me the ways of the French (both the good and bad). I got to do a lot of traveling, both in France and around Europe, and gained a second family that I will be staying in touch with. I feel way more confident speaking French. I had to fight for these things but it feels worthwh..."

Wellesley College
01/05/2019 A Great City, A Not So Great Program Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"I got so much better at French, and even if I didn't make close local friends, I made friendships in the program that will last, and that's ultimately what is so important to me. "

Wellesley College
01/04/2019 Direct Enrollment Wasn't Worth It, But The In Program Classes Were Okay Wellesley College: Aix-en-Provence - Wellesley-in-Aix

"I did improve my french! Now I can understand most spoken and written french. Also I've improved my writing greatly. I can hold conversations with french people without much difficulty. I still have a long way to go with grammar but I'm happy to have made the progress. I think it was helpful and eye-opening. I was definitely ..."

Wellesley College