4.6 - 73 Reviews

Round River Conservation Studies

Round River Conservation Studies is a program provider offering 5 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Research abroad programs in 5 countries such as Costa Rica, Mongolia, Canada, and Chile.

Round River Conservation Studies is a non-profit organization that offers students unique, field-based study abroad programs in North America, South America, and Africa. These programs vary from 6 week summer programs to full semester programs. Round River's courses are accredited through Westminster College, and students can earn up to 15 semester credits on our program.

The following aspects characterize a Round River program:

Small group size (5-10 students)
Field-based (students are camping for much or all of the semester)
Hands-on, interactive learning
Research (students conduct fieldwork and gain valuable research skills)
Cultural exchange (students often work alongside local people, and/or have opportunities to interact with the local community)

Round River is dedicated to conservation strategies that preserve and restore wild places; to that end, we strive to develop and support traditions that sustain wildness. These efforts are anchored in the principles of conservation biology, supported by field research and community planning.We take our name from Aldo Leopold’s essay Round River, along with the idea that ecological study enriches one’s personal land ethic.

Our programs bring students to remote places to conduct real research and contribute to real, local conservation efforts. These experiences enhance a student's sense of place, and allow students to work alongside Round River's conservation staff as well as our local community partners. This often involves a good dose of adventure, cultural exchange, and personal growth.

Study Abroad with Round River Conservation Studies

OVERALL RATING 4.6
Based on 73 Reviews
Academics
Admin
Housing
Social/Cultural
Healthcare
Overall Experience
April 26, 2017
04/06/2017 Unique Opportunity Exploring Natural History In Patagonia Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I gained a remarkable understanding and interest in the natural history of Patagonia. I also learned and experienced the importance and difficulty of conservation planning in rural areas like Patagonia. My study abroad experience was incredibly worthwhile overall. "

Middlebury College
02/14/2017 It Inspired Me To Pursue Being A Conservation Scientist! Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I gained many valuable skills but mostly an appreciation for the outdoors and learned how to be more adaptable."

University of Vermont
02/07/2017 Time Flies In Patagonia Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I gained insights in my field of interest that I otherwise wouldn't have gained any other way. I found program, as a whole, was pretty gratifying/worthwhile but at times sometimes I felt that it wasn't simply because of some of the adverse conditions we happened to face. "

Westminster College, UT
02/07/2017 An Awaking Of Existing Knowledge Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned a lot about the ecosystem and myself."

Seattle University
01/31/2017 Round River Patagonia Was One Of The Most Incredible Experiences Of My Life. Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Absolutely, I'm certain the international, conservation, and field experience I gained there will stay with me for my entire life."

Carleton College
01/17/2017 Amazing And Breathtaking Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"it was 100% worthwhile "

University of Vermont
01/04/2017 Hands On, Experiential Conservation Adventuring In Chilean Patagonia Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I feel like the program prepared me extremely well for doing future research in conservation biology. Not simply from academic knowledge, but having the experience of what it's like to spend months doing field research, of what it takes to prepare an expedition, of field research methods, etc."

Middlebury College
01/03/2017 Unique Experience In An Incredible Place Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned an immense amount about scientific fieldwork and cultural history. The experience redefined my notions of environmentalism and cemented my desire to pursue a career in the field. Additionally, it provided me with cultural knowledge to continue traveling in Chile and Bolivia for three months following the program. "

Westminster College, UT
12/02/2016 Discovering Untouched Wilderness Amongst Local Adventurers Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Learned a lot about myself, gained confidence in being independent and self sufficient. Realized bonds and keeping in touch are some of the most important parts of life. Very worthwhile."

University of Vermont
11/29/2016 Good Bread, Good Meat, Good God Let's Eat Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Very formative...Some Spanish, some wildlife skills, a whole new breadth of perspective on the overlap between culture and ecology."

College of Saint Benedict and Saint Johns University
10/17/2016 Amazing Wildlife, Once In A Lifetime Experience Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"I learned how to live and work in the field. I gained experience and skills in the field that I have already used to work in the USA as a wildlife tech intern. I also learned what it is like to work in conservation in Africa and the trials and rewards that come along with it. "

University of Alaska Fairbanks
09/06/2016 A Paradigm Shift In Conservation And The Intersection With First Nations. Round River Conservation Studies - Taku River Watershed Program

"Lots of schemas and tactics for observing the interactions and cycling of an environment. Then applying these observations into systematic and helpful catalogues and introspections. "

Northland College
09/06/2016 Spoiled With Biodiversity And The Pura Vida Round River Conservation Studies: Costa Rica – The Osa Peninsula

"Personal enlightenment, field research. Yes, I aim to pursue conservation biology."

Western Washington University
09/01/2016 Truly Rewarding Learning Experience Abroad Round River Conservation Studies - Taku River Watershed Program

"I learned a lot from the Tlingit people and local people who work with the TRTFN about their connection to the land and the difficulties they face in the area and as native people in general. In addition, I learned to identify numerous plants, birds, and animals out in the field. This program is worthwhile as you not only learn..."

Colby College
08/31/2016 Incredible Opportunity To Dive Into The World Of Conservation Biology Round River Conservation Studies: Costa Rica – The Osa Peninsula

"Three new courses worth of knowledge, language skills, field work experience, and literature review knowledge."

University of Vermont
08/30/2016 One Of A Kind Study Abroad Experience Round River Conservation Studies - Taku River Watershed Program

"Absolutely worthwhile. I learned a lot about what direction I want to take the rest of my college career in, which is something even a college counselor may have trouble helping you with. I went into this program with no expectations at all and left Atlin knowing that if I did have any sort of expectations going in, it would hav..."

Westminster College, UT
08/30/2016 An Amazing Cultural/Conservation Based Program In A Beautiful Location Round River Conservation Studies - Taku River Watershed Program

"I learned about science and culture. I believe there even should be a diversity course wrapped in the program somewhere. We are taught of where science and culture meet, and how they can benefit eachother with mutual goals and respect."

University of Vermont
08/10/2016 One Of The Most Biologically Diverse Places Out There! Round River Conservation Studies: Costa Rica – The Osa Peninsula

"I gained life experience, knowledge, patience, and a better appreciation for the natural world. I was into conservation before I left, but now I am obsessed. I truly feel like I came back a different person and I still can't believe I was able to be a part of this amazing opportunity. It was 100% worthwhile, I would do it all ov..."

Weber State University
08/08/2016 Appreciating All Things Wild Round River Conservation Studies: Costa Rica – The Osa Peninsula

"I learned about surveying, conservation efforts, life in CR"

University of New Hampshire
06/23/2016 Rugged And Beautiful Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Yes. How to live by myself and realize what's important in life."

University of Vermont
06/09/2016 Extraordinary Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"A new cultural experience and an unbelievable knowledge about ecology, evolution, and biological interactions. The hard work put in for research and field experiences is well worth it when you can see how that work is positively influencing the local people and wildlife."

University of Vermont
01/15/2016 An Amazing Opportunity To Learn And Use Practical Research Skills. Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"I learned great research skills and also that there are stupid people everywhere."

Northland College
01/10/2016 Three Months Living Wild Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned a lot about myself and about my views of conservation. It was so, so worth it!"

Carleton College
01/04/2016 Nuanced Look At Conservation Practices And Policies In Patagonia. Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Man. I learned about how conservation gets done, how to debate my viewpoint, how to be a guest, how to make friends across language borders."

Marlboro College
12/26/2015 Powerful Places Of Patagonia Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"It was the best semester I've had at college and one of the most amazing experiences of my life. Not only did I see the most beautiful places in the world, I also made connections that will last a lifetime. My outlook on the world and conservation of it was changed for the better and I left with an optimistic view on what I will..."

Northland College