4.7 - 132 Reviews

Round River Conservation Studies

https://www.roundriver.org/

Round River Conservation Studies is a program provider offering 5 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Research abroad programs in 5 countries such as Belize, Chile, Canada, and Botswana.

Round River Conservation Studies is a non-profit organization that offers students unique, field-based study abroad programs in North America, South America, Asia, and Africa. These programs vary from 6 week summer programs to full semester programs. Round River's courses are accredited through Westminster College, and students can earn up to 15 semester credits on our program.

The following aspects characterize a Round River program:

Small group size (5-10 students)
Field-based (students are camping for much or all of the semester)
Hands-on, interactive learning
Research (students conduct fieldwork and gain valuable research skills)
Cultural exchange (students often work alongside local people, and/or have opportunities to interact with the local community)

Round River is dedicated to conservation strategies that preserve and restore wild places; to that end, we strive to develop and support traditions that sustain wildness. These efforts are anchored in the principles of conservation biology, supported by field research and community planning.We take our name from Aldo Leopold’s essay Round River, along with the idea that ecological study enriches one’s personal land ethic.

Our programs bring students to remote places to conduct real research and contribute to real, local conservation efforts. These experiences enhance a student's sense of place, and allow students to work alongside Round River's conservation staff as well as our local community partners. This often involves a good dose of adventure, cultural exchange, and personal growth.

Study Abroad with Round River Conservation Studies

OVERALL RATING 4.7
Based on 132 Reviews
Housing
Admin
Social/Cultural
Healthcare
Academics
Overall Experience
July 10, 2020
05/12/2020 The Adventure Of A Lifetime Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Friends, a framework of how to enact conservation globally, an understanding of the importance of community participation in conservation, and how to truly be self sufficient. "

College of Saint Benedict and Saint Johns University
05/12/2020 An Environmental Science Major's Study Abroad Dream: Round River Patagonia Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned so many things! From improving my Spanish to understanding the implications behind conservation management decisions, there really is so much to learn with Round River. Most importantly, I learned so much about the world at large and my place within it, as I would definitely consider my time worthwhile,"

SUNY - Binghamton
05/07/2020 Outside Or In A Tent Always Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"knowledge and personal growth, definitely worthwhile"

Colby College
05/01/2020 Fieldwork, Backpacking, And Peaceful Bliss In Chilean Patagonia Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"It was an immensely worthwhile experience - the academics and field work placed within the cultural context of Patagonia provided a whole new approach and perspective to my biology and environmental studies education that I couldn't have experienced at my home institution. It was also awesome to watch myself grow into a stronger..."

Oberlin College
04/14/2020 Life Changing Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"I gained a connection to a place much different from my home, something I had never done before that made it all worthwhile. "

University of Vermont
04/13/2020 Worth It Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Field research experience as an undergrad is priceless"

University of Vermont
04/08/2020 The Trip Of A Lifetime Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned about the importance of human inclusion in conservation and how great it can be to feel uncomfortable. It was 100% worthwhile."

College of Saint Benedict and Saint Johns University
03/07/2020 Most Impactful Field Work, Research Experience, And Partnerships I've Made, Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"The program was so thoughtful and the hands on experience, people, and location was unbeatable. If you are interested in conservation and care about ethical and responsible international work, this is one of the best programs. Also, the parks there are great to partner with and really made our work and classes successful and mea..."

University of Vermont
01/01/2020 I Didn't Want To Come Back To The States Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned a lot about ecology obviously, but I also learned a lot about human's place in nature and about my place in nature. I learned about Chile's history and people and relationship to nature as well. My Spanish improved over the months, but I wish I had begun the program with more. I learned about living outside, and living..."

University of Vermont
12/23/2019 Conservation And Adventure Outside In The Most Beautiful Place Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned ways of existing and learning that are fulfilling and outside the high-pressure normal college environment. Also Patagonia is beautiful. "

Williams College
12/21/2019 I Miss This Program Every Day Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"I learned how to be a naturalist, I learned a ton about the nuances of conservation work, I learned how to examine my own culture in comparison to other cultures, and I learned a lot about how I want to live my life and what kind of life I want. I also made such close friends!"

Williams College
10/02/2019 An Fun Outdoor Experience Where You Learn Practical Field Skills! Round River Conservation Studies - Taku River Watershed Program

"I grew in my field skills, knowledge of conservation, and overall understanding of my place on the earth. "

Truman State University
09/27/2019 Wildlife Intensive Hands On Experience Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"I learned so much about conservation and many of the issues Botswana and the entire world faces in human-wildlife coexistence. This was an amazing once-in-a-lifetime experience and I could not be more happy that I was able to participate."

University of Vermont
08/13/2019 An Incredible Experience In An Incredibly Beautiful Place Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"I learned a lot about the conservation efforts of the Taku River Tlingit (in congruence with Round River). I gained a new perspective on conservation and the importance of protecting wild and untouched places."

Carleton College
01/12/2019 I Left A Piece Of My Heart In The Horidol Saridag Mountains Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"We nailed field work, designed full fledged research projects and successfully executed them. We learned about other lenses through which people view and interact with the land and that really changed my perspective. "

University of Vermont
12/19/2018 Best Decision Made In College! Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"I gained experience with wildlife monitoring techniques, the research experience, backpacking, camping, and travelling abroad. The program was definitely worthwhile and I highly recommend it. "

SUNY - College of Environmental Science & Forestry
12/16/2018 The Mongolian Landscape And People Stole My Heart!! Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"I would not take back any of the experiences I had during my semester (even the freezing cold nights and not showering for weeks). I could not have asked for a better opportunity for my first time abroad. I learned about field research techniques for various taxonomic groups, challenged myself academically and physically, critic..."

SUNY - College of Environmental Science & Forestry
12/16/2018 Beautiful People, Places And Work Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned a lot of outdoor and backpacking skills as well as good conservation strategies and techniques. "

College of Saint Benedict and Saint Johns University
10/18/2018 Conservation And Backpacking In Chilean Patagonia Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I really got a good understanding of what conservation means in the field, and how much of an impact each individual can have on the larger projects that are going on. It didn't feel like I was just a student, I felt like I was a researcher in something much bigger than just a class or an individual project that lasts a few week..."

The College of William and Mary
09/10/2018 Life Changing Program Through Round River Conservation Studies Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"I learned so much about myself and what I want to do with my life and my future career.I gained so many skills in research, field work, wildlife biology, natural history, conservation biology, environmental science, language, culture, and the list continues. I use to avoid research whenever I could and now I am not only comforta..."

Westminster College, UT
08/08/2018 A Life Changing Experience In Mongolia Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"While in Mongolia, I learned a lot about the culture, conservation, and myself. I saw what real, meaningful research looked like, and I felt like we were really making a difference in the national park. I learned about the type of relationships the Mongolian people have with each other and the environment. It was very inspiring,..."

Saint Michael's College
08/08/2018 Trip Of A Lifetime Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"On the program, I not only learned immense amounts about environmental research and conservation, but also about Mongolian perspectives towards land and other people. It was extremely inspiring and I've returned to the states with a perspective towards relationships that I had not previously understood."

Carleton College
08/08/2018 Wonderful Study Abroad Exeperience Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"I learned job-applicable ecological skills by actually doing fieldwork outside of a classroom. "

Westminster College, UT
08/07/2018 A Life Changing Experience In Mongolia Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"While in Mongolia, I learned a lot about the culture, conservation, and myself. I saw what real, meaningful research looked like, and I felt like we were really making a difference in the national park. I learned about the type of relationships the Mongolian people have with each other and the environment. It was very inspiring,..."

Saint Michael's College
08/07/2018 An Incredible Experience! Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"I learned a lot about field work, research, the Mongolian culture, and building interpersonal relationships. It was absolutely worthwhile. The classes were so immersive, it made it easy to grasp concepts and learn the material."

University of Vermont