4.7 - 120 Reviews

Round River Conservation Studies

https://www.roundriver.org/

Round River Conservation Studies is a program provider offering 5 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Research abroad programs in 5 countries such as Botswana, Belize, Mongolia, and Canada.

Round River Conservation Studies is a non-profit organization that offers students unique, field-based study abroad programs in North America, South America, Asia, and Africa. These programs vary from 6 week summer programs to full semester programs. Round River's courses are accredited through Westminster College, and students can earn up to 15 semester credits on our program.

The following aspects characterize a Round River program:

Small group size (5-10 students)
Field-based (students are camping for much or all of the semester)
Hands-on, interactive learning
Research (students conduct fieldwork and gain valuable research skills)
Cultural exchange (students often work alongside local people, and/or have opportunities to interact with the local community)

Round River is dedicated to conservation strategies that preserve and restore wild places; to that end, we strive to develop and support traditions that sustain wildness. These efforts are anchored in the principles of conservation biology, supported by field research and community planning.We take our name from Aldo Leopold’s essay Round River, along with the idea that ecological study enriches one’s personal land ethic.

Our programs bring students to remote places to conduct real research and contribute to real, local conservation efforts. These experiences enhance a student's sense of place, and allow students to work alongside Round River's conservation staff as well as our local community partners. This often involves a good dose of adventure, cultural exchange, and personal growth.

Study Abroad with Round River Conservation Studies

OVERALL RATING 4.7
Based on 120 Reviews
Housing
Admin
Social/Cultural
Healthcare
Academics
Overall Experience
December 9, 2019
10/02/2019 An Fun Outdoor Experience Where You Learn Practical Field Skills! Round River Conservation Studies - Taku River Watershed Program

"I grew in my field skills, knowledge of conservation, and overall understanding of my place on the earth. "

Truman State University
09/27/2019 Wildlife Intensive Hands On Experience Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"I learned so much about conservation and many of the issues Botswana and the entire world faces in human-wildlife coexistence. This was an amazing once-in-a-lifetime experience and I could not be more happy that I was able to participate."

University of Vermont
08/13/2019 An Incredible Experience In An Incredibly Beautiful Place Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"I learned a lot about the conservation efforts of the Taku River Tlingit (in congruence with Round River). I gained a new perspective on conservation and the importance of protecting wild and untouched places."

Carleton College
01/12/2019 I Left A Piece Of My Heart In The Horidol Saridag Mountains Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"We nailed field work, designed full fledged research projects and successfully executed them. We learned about other lenses through which people view and interact with the land and that really changed my perspective. "

University of Vermont
12/19/2018 Best Decision Made In College! Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"I gained experience with wildlife monitoring techniques, the research experience, backpacking, camping, and travelling abroad. The program was definitely worthwhile and I highly recommend it. "

SUNY - College of Environmental Science & Forestry
12/16/2018 The Mongolian Landscape And People Stole My Heart!! Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"I would not take back any of the experiences I had during my semester (even the freezing cold nights and not showering for weeks). I could not have asked for a better opportunity for my first time abroad. I learned about field research techniques for various taxonomic groups, challenged myself academically and physically, critic..."

SUNY - College of Environmental Science & Forestry
12/16/2018 Beautiful People, Places And Work Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned a lot of outdoor and backpacking skills as well as good conservation strategies and techniques. "

College of Saint Benedict and Saint Johns University
10/18/2018 Conservation And Backpacking In Chilean Patagonia Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I really got a good understanding of what conservation means in the field, and how much of an impact each individual can have on the larger projects that are going on. It didn't feel like I was just a student, I felt like I was a researcher in something much bigger than just a class or an individual project that lasts a few week..."

The College of William and Mary
09/10/2018 Life Changing Program Through Round River Conservation Studies Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"I learned so much about myself and what I want to do with my life and my future career.I gained so many skills in research, field work, wildlife biology, natural history, conservation biology, environmental science, language, culture, and the list continues. I use to avoid research whenever I could and now I am not only comforta..."

Westminster College, UT
08/08/2018 A Life Changing Experience In Mongolia Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"While in Mongolia, I learned a lot about the culture, conservation, and myself. I saw what real, meaningful research looked like, and I felt like we were really making a difference in the national park. I learned about the type of relationships the Mongolian people have with each other and the environment. It was very inspiring,..."

Saint Michael's College
08/08/2018 Trip Of A Lifetime Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"On the program, I not only learned immense amounts about environmental research and conservation, but also about Mongolian perspectives towards land and other people. It was extremely inspiring and I've returned to the states with a perspective towards relationships that I had not previously understood."

Carleton College
08/08/2018 Wonderful Study Abroad Exeperience Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"I learned job-applicable ecological skills by actually doing fieldwork outside of a classroom. "

Westminster College, UT
08/07/2018 A Life Changing Experience In Mongolia Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"While in Mongolia, I learned a lot about the culture, conservation, and myself. I saw what real, meaningful research looked like, and I felt like we were really making a difference in the national park. I learned about the type of relationships the Mongolian people have with each other and the environment. It was very inspiring,..."

Saint Michael's College
08/07/2018 An Incredible Experience! Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"I learned a lot about field work, research, the Mongolian culture, and building interpersonal relationships. It was absolutely worthwhile. The classes were so immersive, it made it easy to grasp concepts and learn the material."

University of Vermont
08/07/2018 Trip Of A Lifetime Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"On the program, I not only learned immense amounts about environmental research and conservation, but also about Mongolian perspectives towards land and other people. It was extremely inspiring and I've returned to the states with a perspective towards relationships that I had not previously understood."

Carleton College
05/22/2018 The Best Decision I Have Made At College Yet Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned more about who I am and how I see my career in conservation moving forward. I gained invaluable research experience and my instructors became mentors who I will look up to for a long time. "

Carleton College
05/05/2018 Experiencing About Community Based Conservation Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I gained field skills and Spanish communication skills. I learned to be more self-sufficient as well. "

University of Vermont
04/25/2018 My Summer Up North! Round River Conservation Studies - Taku River Watershed Program

"I learned so much about Conservation Biology. As someone who came in with almost no prior knowledge, I was a little nervous about falling behind but the leaders ensured I didn't. They were very encouraging and made all of the work reasonable and rigorous, while also enjoyable. I also made some deep and lasting friendships"

Carleton College
02/23/2018 Round River Was A Great Way To Gain Real World Conservation Experience. Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"It was very worthwhile. I learned so much about the field of conservation doing hands on work, as well as the natural history of the area. "

St. John's University
02/21/2018 Monate Thata! Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"Yes, it gave me direction for future jobs and showed me what kind of research I'm interested in. It broadened my perspective, stretched me out of my comfort zone, taught me about Botswana's culture, and opened my eyes to a lifestyle drastically different to the common North American lifestyle. "

University of Montana-Missoula
02/09/2018 Tough Living And Good Classes In A Beautiful, If Harsh, Place Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Cultural immersion, Spanish practice, and community engagement were worthwhile."

Middlebury College
01/30/2018 A Huge Growing And Learning Experience With A Lot Of Fun! Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"How to work with a tight-knit field research community and the importance of teaching local people conservation practices. Most definitely worthwhile."

Colby College
01/28/2018 An Incredible Semester In One Of The Most Beautiful Places On Earth Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I think my biggest take-away from the program was getting real field experience in conservation biology- the discipline that I'm majoring in. We spent more than a month in the field in remote parts of Patagonia collecting data, which was challenging, fun, and exciting. I'll also take away an appreciation for the local Gaucho cul..."

Middlebury College
01/13/2018 Without A Doubt, The Best Experience In College Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"My experience abroad was completely worthwhile. I gained valuable field research skills and learned about the challenges of conservation work. I also made life long friends and joined the supportive and caring community that is Round River."

University of Maine - Orono