4.6 - 84 Reviews

Round River Conservation Studies

Round River Conservation Studies is a program provider offering 5 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Research abroad programs in 5 countries such as Costa Rica, Mongolia, Canada, and Chile.

Round River Conservation Studies is a non-profit organization that offers students unique, field-based study abroad programs in North America, South America, Asia, and Africa. These programs vary from 6 week summer programs to full semester programs. Round River's courses are accredited through Westminster College, and students can earn up to 15 semester credits on our program.

The following aspects characterize a Round River program:

Small group size (5-10 students)
Field-based (students are camping for much or all of the semester)
Hands-on, interactive learning
Research (students conduct fieldwork and gain valuable research skills)
Cultural exchange (students often work alongside local people, and/or have opportunities to interact with the local community)

Round River is dedicated to conservation strategies that preserve and restore wild places; to that end, we strive to develop and support traditions that sustain wildness. These efforts are anchored in the principles of conservation biology, supported by field research and community planning.We take our name from Aldo Leopold’s essay Round River, along with the idea that ecological study enriches one’s personal land ethic.

Our programs bring students to remote places to conduct real research and contribute to real, local conservation efforts. These experiences enhance a student's sense of place, and allow students to work alongside Round River's conservation staff as well as our local community partners. This often involves a good dose of adventure, cultural exchange, and personal growth.

Study Abroad with Round River Conservation Studies

OVERALL RATING 4.6
Based on 84 Reviews
Academics
Admin
Housing
Social/Cultural
Healthcare
Overall Experience
November 22, 2017
09/20/2017 Best Experience In The Far North! Round River Conservation Studies - Taku River Watershed Program

"From this experience I was able to gain a sense of self, physical conditioning and new friends. This experience was completely worthwhile. I was able to persevere - just when I thought I couldn't go on, I found that I was so near to the top. So I would push through, reach the top of the mountain, and see that all of the hard wor..."

Weber State University
08/07/2017 Amazing Views, Field Work Experience, And Interactions With Locals. Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Language skill, field work experience, and yes it was entirely worthwhile"

Middlebury College
06/16/2017 A Semester Abroad Round River Conservation Studies: Costa Rica – The Osa Peninsula

"Totally worthwhile, gained invaluable experience and memories I will cherish forever "

University of Vermont
06/06/2017 Awesome Conservation Experience Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"Learned how complex conservation is, how to use different tools to collect and enter data "

University of Vermont
05/23/2017 A Wild Reality In Southern Chile, Patagonia. Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Gained immense knowledge on how to traveling and how to let yourself become absorbed in a culture. I met incredible people that I will have in my life forever. "

University of New Hampshire
05/17/2017 A Life Changing And Immersive Outdoor Conservation Experiencee. Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"Too much to want to list everything here, but I'll name a few. A newfound love for natural history and conservation biology. A brief experience in a continent and country that was incredibly remote and abstract to me. A better ability to live outdoors for weeks and weeks at a time and to tolerate long travel days in tough condit..."

University of Montana-Missoula
05/09/2017 Experiential Learning At It's Best: A Semester Of Fun In The Field Round River Conservation Studies: Costa Rica – The Osa Peninsula

"We learned different field skills (everything from measuring river slope to identifying birds), outdoor skills (jungle navigation and camp cooking), and academic skills (reading and writing scientific papers). Plus, we experienced the culture and natural history of the Osa Peninsula and made some great friendships. A very wor..."

The College of William and Mary
05/09/2017 Getting To Know The Real Patagonia Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"A deeper understanding of the complexities of conservation and new ways of looking at it as a scientific and social issue."

University of Vermont
05/05/2017 Incredible People, Views, Culture, And Nature! Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Field techniques, group dynamics, as well as cultural experience and travel experience"

Bowdoin College
04/29/2017 A Crazy, Beautiful, Challenging Adventure Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I grew out of a lot of anxiety and learned to deal with challenges as they came and adapt to ever-changing plans and conditions. Absolutely worthwhile, brought me to some of the most amazing places I will ever go and crazy experiences I will remember for a lifetime."

University of Vermont
04/28/2017 An Incredible Combination Of Fieldwork And Engagement With The Local Community. Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I gained a deeper appreciation for the complexities of conservation and that other countries struggle with many of the same problems the United States struggles with. I loved the immersive projects in which we learned about and put into play economic, political, social, and environmental factors. "

University of Vermont
04/06/2017 Unique Opportunity Exploring Natural History In Patagonia Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I gained a remarkable understanding and interest in the natural history of Patagonia. I also learned and experienced the importance and difficulty of conservation planning in rural areas like Patagonia. My study abroad experience was incredibly worthwhile overall. "

Middlebury College
02/14/2017 It Inspired Me To Pursue Being A Conservation Scientist! Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I gained many valuable skills but mostly an appreciation for the outdoors and learned how to be more adaptable."

University of Vermont
02/07/2017 Time Flies In Patagonia Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I gained insights in my field of interest that I otherwise wouldn't have gained any other way. I found program, as a whole, was pretty gratifying/worthwhile but at times sometimes I felt that it wasn't simply because of some of the adverse conditions we happened to face. "

Westminster College, UT
02/07/2017 An Awaking Of Existing Knowledge Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned a lot about the ecosystem and myself."

Seattle University
01/31/2017 Round River Patagonia Was One Of The Most Incredible Experiences Of My Life. Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Absolutely, I'm certain the international, conservation, and field experience I gained there will stay with me for my entire life."

Carleton College
01/17/2017 Amazing And Breathtaking Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"it was 100% worthwhile "

University of Vermont
01/04/2017 Hands On, Experiential Conservation Adventuring In Chilean Patagonia Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I feel like the program prepared me extremely well for doing future research in conservation biology. Not simply from academic knowledge, but having the experience of what it's like to spend months doing field research, of what it takes to prepare an expedition, of field research methods, etc."

Middlebury College
01/03/2017 Unique Experience In An Incredible Place Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned an immense amount about scientific fieldwork and cultural history. The experience redefined my notions of environmentalism and cemented my desire to pursue a career in the field. Additionally, it provided me with cultural knowledge to continue traveling in Chile and Bolivia for three months following the program. "

Westminster College, UT
12/02/2016 Discovering Untouched Wilderness Amongst Local Adventurers Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Learned a lot about myself, gained confidence in being independent and self sufficient. Realized bonds and keeping in touch are some of the most important parts of life. Very worthwhile."

University of Vermont
11/29/2016 Good Bread, Good Meat, Good God Let's Eat Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Very formative...Some Spanish, some wildlife skills, a whole new breadth of perspective on the overlap between culture and ecology."

College of Saint Benedict and Saint Johns University
10/17/2016 Amazing Wildlife, Once In A Lifetime Experience Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"I learned how to live and work in the field. I gained experience and skills in the field that I have already used to work in the USA as a wildlife tech intern. I also learned what it is like to work in conservation in Africa and the trials and rewards that come along with it. "

University of Alaska Fairbanks
09/06/2016 A Paradigm Shift In Conservation And The Intersection With First Nations. Round River Conservation Studies - Taku River Watershed Program

"Lots of schemas and tactics for observing the interactions and cycling of an environment. Then applying these observations into systematic and helpful catalogues and introspections. "

Northland College
09/06/2016 Spoiled With Biodiversity And The Pura Vida Round River Conservation Studies: Costa Rica – The Osa Peninsula

"Personal enlightenment, field research. Yes, I aim to pursue conservation biology."

Western Washington University
09/01/2016 Truly Rewarding Learning Experience Abroad Round River Conservation Studies - Taku River Watershed Program

"I learned a lot from the Tlingit people and local people who work with the TRTFN about their connection to the land and the difficulties they face in the area and as native people in general. In addition, I learned to identify numerous plants, birds, and animals out in the field. This program is worthwhile as you not only learn..."

Colby College