4.7 - 142 Reviews

Round River Conservation Studies

https://www.roundriver.org/

Round River Conservation Studies is a program provider offering 6 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Research abroad programs in 6 countries such as Belize, Canada, Chile, and United States.

Round River Conservation Studies is a non-profit organization that offers students unique, field-based study abroad programs in North America, South America, Asia, and Africa. These programs vary from 6 week summer programs to full semester programs. Round River's courses are accredited through Westminster College, and students can earn up to 15 semester credits on our program.

The following aspects characterize a Round River program:

Small group size (5-10 students)
Field-based (students are camping for much or all of the semester)
Hands-on, interactive learning
Research (students conduct fieldwork and gain valuable research skills)
Cultural exchange (students often work alongside local people, and/or have opportunities to interact with the local community)

Round River is dedicated to conservation strategies that preserve and restore wild places; to that end, we strive to develop and support traditions that sustain wildness. These efforts are anchored in the principles of conservation biology, supported by field research and community planning.We take our name from Aldo Leopold’s essay Round River, along with the idea that ecological study enriches one’s personal land ethic.

Our programs bring students to remote places to conduct real research and contribute to real, local conservation efforts. These experiences enhance a student's sense of place, and allow students to work alongside Round River's conservation staff as well as our local community partners. This often involves a good dose of adventure, cultural exchange, and personal growth.

Study Abroad with Round River Conservation Studies

OVERALL RATING 4.7
Based on 142 Reviews
Academics
Social/Cultural
Housing
Healthcare
Admin
Overall Experience
April 21, 2024
02/21/2024 Experience Of A Lifetime ! Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"I learned so much about the community and how conservation work within this region. This program made me think about the larger implications of effect community based natural resource management and how it offers a alternative method of conservation that focuses on the economics of the region."

Bowdoin College
01/25/2024 The Greatest Three Month Period Of My Life Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"I gained so much knowledge about the environment, culture, and biodiversity in this area as well as political issues along with just great advice and learning from the students-instructors with me I feel we as a group grew to learn each other so much and grow off of each other to all become better."

University of Tennessee - Chattanooga
05/10/2023 Great Hands On Study Abroad Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"I gained resume builders, lessons about life, and cultural knowledge."

University of Montana-Missoula
12/14/2022 Most Meaningful Experience I've Had In College Round River Conservation Studies: USA - Sky Island Borderlands

"I was initially signed up to go to Mongolia with Round River and only ended up going to the Sky Islands because of Covid. I won't lie, I was apprehensive at first about living in Arizona in the summer and a little disappointed to be studying "abroad" in the US instead of Mongolia. Luckily, it turned out to be one of the most spe..."

University of Vermont
11/20/2022 Patagonia? Yes, Please. Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Completely worthwhile! I would do it all again in a heartbeat. Some parts are tough, but you'll learn a lot about yourself and what you're capable of. I've arrived back to the traditional classroom feeling refreshed and with new appreciation for what aspects of learning really matter. I learned how to cook, live in a group, jump..."

University of Montana-Missoula
11/16/2022 The Way Learning Should Be Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"All explained above! It was most certainly worthwhile."

University of Vermont
08/08/2022 A Rigorous And Engaging Experience That Benefits The Local Community Round River Conservation Studies - Taku River Watershed Program

"I learned how to see the world in a different way. There's a difference between just visiting a place and knowing most of the plants, animals, culture, and history of the area. The Taku River program taught me how to go to a place and understand it, not just be there."

University of Vermont
04/29/2022 Immersive Research In An Unbeatable Setting Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned that field research is a challenging, yet charming endeavor. I gained a deep understanding of local plants and animals. I learned how to put myself outside of my comfort zone when faced with strong communication barriers. I learned how to cooperate with a small group of people for an extended period of time. I gained v..."

College of Saint Benedict and Saint Johns University
12/20/2021 A Challenging And Growthful Experience! Round River Conservation Studies - Belize Program

"We learned how to take data in the field, organize, analyze and present it. "

University of Vermont
05/17/2021 Round River Is Awesome! Round River Conservation Studies: USA - Sky Island Borderlands

"I learned about how the border is affecting wildlife, how to do ecological surveys, how to carry out a scientific study and write a paper that will be used by conservationists, and how conservation and cultural issues tie together."

Bowdoin College
Past Review The Adventure Of A Lifetime Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Friends, a framework of how to enact conservation globally, an understanding of the importance of community participation in conservation, and how to truly be self sufficient. "

College of Saint Benedict and Saint Johns University
Past Review An Environmental Science Major's Study Abroad Dream: Round River Patagonia Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned so many things! From improving my Spanish to understanding the implications behind conservation management decisions, there really is so much to learn with Round River. Most importantly, I learned so much about the world at large and my place within it, as I would definitely consider my time worthwhile,"

SUNY - Binghamton
Past Review Outside Or In A Tent Always Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"knowledge and personal growth, definitely worthwhile"

Colby College
Past Review Fieldwork, Backpacking, And Peaceful Bliss In Chilean Patagonia Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"It was an immensely worthwhile experience - the academics and field work placed within the cultural context of Patagonia provided a whole new approach and perspective to my biology and environmental studies education that I couldn't have experienced at my home institution. It was also awesome to watch myself grow into a stronger..."

Oberlin College
Past Review Life Changing Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"I gained a connection to a place much different from my home, something I had never done before that made it all worthwhile. "

University of Vermont
Past Review Worth It Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Field research experience as an undergrad is priceless"

University of Vermont
Past Review The Trip Of A Lifetime Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned about the importance of human inclusion in conservation and how great it can be to feel uncomfortable. It was 100% worthwhile."

College of Saint Benedict and Saint Johns University
Past Review Most Impactful Field Work, Research Experience, And Partnerships I've Made, Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"The program was so thoughtful and the hands on experience, people, and location was unbeatable. If you are interested in conservation and care about ethical and responsible international work, this is one of the best programs. Also, the parks there are great to partner with and really made our work and classes successful and mea..."

University of Vermont
Past Review I Didn't Want To Come Back To The States Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned a lot about ecology obviously, but I also learned a lot about human's place in nature and about my place in nature. I learned about Chile's history and people and relationship to nature as well. My Spanish improved over the months, but I wish I had begun the program with more. I learned about living outside, and living..."

University of Vermont
Past Review Conservation And Adventure Outside In The Most Beautiful Place Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned ways of existing and learning that are fulfilling and outside the high-pressure normal college environment. Also Patagonia is beautiful. "

Williams College
Past Review I Miss This Program Every Day Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"I learned how to be a naturalist, I learned a ton about the nuances of conservation work, I learned how to examine my own culture in comparison to other cultures, and I learned a lot about how I want to live my life and what kind of life I want. I also made such close friends!"

Williams College
Past Review An Fun Outdoor Experience Where You Learn Practical Field Skills! Round River Conservation Studies - Taku River Watershed Program

"I grew in my field skills, knowledge of conservation, and overall understanding of my place on the earth. "

Truman State University
Past Review Wildlife Intensive Hands On Experience Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"I learned so much about conservation and many of the issues Botswana and the entire world faces in human-wildlife coexistence. This was an amazing once-in-a-lifetime experience and I could not be more happy that I was able to participate."

University of Vermont
Past Review An Incredible Experience In An Incredibly Beautiful Place Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"I learned a lot about the conservation efforts of the Taku River Tlingit (in congruence with Round River). I gained a new perspective on conservation and the importance of protecting wild and untouched places."

Carleton College
Past Review I Left A Piece Of My Heart In The Horidol Saridag Mountains Round River Conservation Studies - Mongolia Conservation Program

"We nailed field work, designed full fledged research projects and successfully executed them. We learned about other lenses through which people view and interact with the land and that really changed my perspective. "

University of Vermont