4.7 - 99 Reviews

Round River Conservation Studies

Round River Conservation Studies is a program provider offering 5 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad and Research abroad programs in 5 countries such as Mongolia, Costa Rica, Chile, and Canada.

Round River Conservation Studies is a non-profit organization that offers students unique, field-based study abroad programs in North America, South America, Asia, and Africa. These programs vary from 6 week summer programs to full semester programs. Round River's courses are accredited through Westminster College, and students can earn up to 15 semester credits on our program.

The following aspects characterize a Round River program:

Small group size (5-10 students)
Field-based (students are camping for much or all of the semester)
Hands-on, interactive learning
Research (students conduct fieldwork and gain valuable research skills)
Cultural exchange (students often work alongside local people, and/or have opportunities to interact with the local community)

Round River is dedicated to conservation strategies that preserve and restore wild places; to that end, we strive to develop and support traditions that sustain wildness. These efforts are anchored in the principles of conservation biology, supported by field research and community planning.We take our name from Aldo Leopold’s essay Round River, along with the idea that ecological study enriches one’s personal land ethic.

Our programs bring students to remote places to conduct real research and contribute to real, local conservation efforts. These experiences enhance a student's sense of place, and allow students to work alongside Round River's conservation staff as well as our local community partners. This often involves a good dose of adventure, cultural exchange, and personal growth.

Study Abroad with Round River Conservation Studies

OVERALL RATING 4.7
Based on 99 Reviews
Academics
Admin
Housing
Social/Cultural
Healthcare
Overall Experience
February 24, 2018
02/23/2018 Round River Was A Great Way To Gain Real World Conservation Experience. Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"It was very worthwhile. I learned so much about the field of conservation doing hands on work, as well as the natural history of the area. "

St. John's University
02/21/2018 Monate Thata! Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"Yes, it gave me direction for future jobs and showed me what kind of research I'm interested in. It broadened my perspective, stretched me out of my comfort zone, taught me about Botswana's culture, and opened my eyes to a lifestyle drastically different to the common North American lifestyle. "

University of Montana-Missoula
02/09/2018 Tough Living And Good Classes In A Beautiful, If Harsh, Place Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Cultural immersion, Spanish practice, and community engagement were worthwhile."

Middlebury College
01/30/2018 A Huge Growing And Learning Experience With A Lot Of Fun! Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"How to work with a tight-knit field research community and the importance of teaching local people conservation practices. Most definitely worthwhile."

Colby College
01/28/2018 An Incredible Semester In One Of The Most Beautiful Places On Earth Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I think my biggest take-away from the program was getting real field experience in conservation biology- the discipline that I'm majoring in. We spent more than a month in the field in remote parts of Patagonia collecting data, which was challenging, fun, and exciting. I'll also take away an appreciation for the local Gaucho cul..."

Middlebury College
01/13/2018 Without A Doubt, The Best Experience In College Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"My experience abroad was completely worthwhile. I gained valuable field research skills and learned about the challenges of conservation work. I also made life long friends and joined the supportive and caring community that is Round River."

University of Maine - Orono
12/23/2017 Round River Patagonia: Learning And Living In The Austral Wilderness Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned an incredible amount of detail about local species of plants and animals, and also a lot about the complexity and necessity of planning well for large, long-term group expeditions. It was absolutely worthwhile and the skills and knowledge I gained there will serve me for a lifetime."

Carleton College
12/21/2017 Semester Abroad In Patagonia Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I learned a lot of field skills, but I also learned how to live and work with a small group of people for long periods of time. I gained a lot of confidence in myself. Studying abroad challenges you, but Round River supports you. "

Franklin & Marshall College
12/20/2017 Conservation And Adventure In The Jungles Of Costa Rica Round River Conservation Studies: Costa Rica – The Osa Peninsula

"This program gave me valuable experience in fieldwork as well as a deeper understanding of how conservation can be put into practice by combining research, community involvement, and government leadership."

University of New Hampshire
12/18/2017 A Life Changing Experience Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"We learned real field work and were able to present our findings to local government officials giving us experience with science communication as well. These experiences will be incredibly valuable for me in the future. "

Colby College
12/18/2017 An Enlightening Experience Round River Conservation Studies - Taku River Watershed Program

"I learn about the Tlingit Indigenous people and their connection to the land in relation to conservation biology. Being able to help contribute to life changing conservation efforts was worthwhile. "

Northland College
12/13/2017 Round River Was Incredibly Life Changing! Round River Conservation Studies - Taku River Watershed Program

"I learned an incredible amount about the ecology and natural history of the area. I also learned a lot about what field studies include and some methods around them. Another huge aspect of this course was learning about the Tlingit First Nation People and their rich history. There are so many things that I learned on this cou..."

University of Vermont
12/13/2017 Jungle Living, Field Studying, Immersive Study Abroad Round River Conservation Studies: Costa Rica – The Osa Peninsula

"So much field experience, between plants, mammals and birds. All skills that my future employers are looking for"

Westminster College, UT
09/20/2017 Best Experience In The Far North! Round River Conservation Studies - Taku River Watershed Program

"From this experience I was able to gain a sense of self, physical conditioning and new friends. This experience was completely worthwhile. I was able to persevere - just when I thought I couldn't go on, I found that I was so near to the top. So I would push through, reach the top of the mountain, and see that all of the hard wor..."

Weber State University
08/10/2017 Tent City Backpacking In Valleys & On Glaciers With Some Of My Favorite People Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I came away from the program with so many new friendships and a much deeper understanding of what it means to be a conservationist. Also, I learned how to be a more flexible and successful member of a community. "

Oberlin College
08/07/2017 Amazing Views, Field Work Experience, And Interactions With Locals. Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Language skill, field work experience, and yes it was entirely worthwhile"

Middlebury College
06/16/2017 A Semester Abroad Round River Conservation Studies: Costa Rica – The Osa Peninsula

"Totally worthwhile, gained invaluable experience and memories I will cherish forever "

University of Vermont
06/06/2017 Awesome Conservation Experience Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"Learned how complex conservation is, how to use different tools to collect and enter data "

University of Vermont
05/23/2017 A Wild Reality In Southern Chile, Patagonia. Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Gained immense knowledge on how to traveling and how to let yourself become absorbed in a culture. I met incredible people that I will have in my life forever. "

University of New Hampshire
05/18/2017 The Experience Of A Lifetime Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"I learned a variety of field biology skills, I learned how to grind and laugh through tough situations, I learned all about the wildlife of the Okavango, and I gained a whole bunch of close relationships. "

Middlebury College
05/17/2017 A Life Changing And Immersive Outdoor Conservation Experiencee. Round River Conservation Studies - Botswana Program

"Too much to want to list everything here, but I'll name a few. A newfound love for natural history and conservation biology. A brief experience in a continent and country that was incredibly remote and abstract to me. A better ability to live outdoors for weeks and weeks at a time and to tolerate long travel days in tough condit..."

University of Montana-Missoula
05/09/2017 Experiential Learning At It's Best: A Semester Of Fun In The Field Round River Conservation Studies: Costa Rica – The Osa Peninsula

"We learned different field skills (everything from measuring river slope to identifying birds), outdoor skills (jungle navigation and camp cooking), and academic skills (reading and writing scientific papers). Plus, we experienced the culture and natural history of the Osa Peninsula and made some great friendships. A very wor..."

The College of William and Mary
05/09/2017 Getting To Know The Real Patagonia Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"A deeper understanding of the complexities of conservation and new ways of looking at it as a scientific and social issue."

University of Vermont
05/05/2017 Incredible People, Views, Culture, And Nature! Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"Field techniques, group dynamics, as well as cultural experience and travel experience"

Bowdoin College
04/29/2017 A Crazy, Beautiful, Challenging Adventure Round River Conservation Studies - Patagonia, Chile Program

"I grew out of a lot of anxiety and learned to deal with challenges as they came and adapt to ever-changing plans and conditions. Absolutely worthwhile, brought me to some of the most amazing places I will ever go and crazy experiences I will remember for a lifetime."

University of Vermont