4.6 - 33 Reviews

IPSL

http://www.ipsl.org/

IPSL is a program provider offering 19 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad, Internship, Volunteer, Intensive Language, Gap Year, Graduate Program, and Research abroad programs in 15 countries such as Thailand, Italy, Ecuador, and Online Education Abroad - Virtual Study Abroad.

“IPSL changed my life because I learned how to live a simple life while remaining completely happy. I’m glad I was removed from my privileges outside of the U.S. because this experience opened my mind and heart.” - Cristal, IPSL participant; Cusco, Peru Program Spring 2015

Our participants have repeatedly acknowledged the vast potential for personal growth, cultural immersion, and the fostering of international ties and a global identity through IPSL programs.

IPSL engages students, educators, and grassroots organizations around the world in hands-on service to promote equitable relationships, social justice, sustainable change, and a commitment to our shared humanity. We prioritize Fair-Trade Learning (FTL), which heralds reciprocity in relationships through cooperative, cross-cultural participation in learning, service, and civil societal efforts.

What makes IPSL unique is its commitment to total cultural immersion through both family home-stays and service work, which contributes to community-driven development, economic equity, self-determinism, cooperative and positive social change, and sustainability.

IPSL offers undergraduate service-learning™ and Advocacy Research™ programs (as well as two Graduate Programs) in nations across the globe—programs in which the last thirty years nearly 4,500 students from more than 400 universities or colleges in the U.S. and 25 other nations have participated. Furthermore, IPSL students have completed nearly 1 million hours of service with over 166 non-profit organizations & NGOs across five continents.

IPSL offers its core undergraduate programs in Ecuador, France, Greece, Ireland, Peru, Tanzania, Colombia and Vietnam.

IPSL programs vary (Semester-Long, Short-Term Summer, Year-Long, Individualized Research Opportunity) but the basic components of each program are:
• academic courses for college/university credit
• intensive academic language training- all levels welcome
• volunteer service-learning placement and oversight
• homestay with a local family
• academic excursions
• Service-Learning PLUS™
• Advocacy Research™

“IPSL is small by choice, impactful by nature + culturally sensitive by necessity”

Study Abroad with IPSL

OVERALL RATING 4.6
Based on 33 Reviews
Housing
Academics
Healthcare
Social/Cultural
Admin
Overall Experience
October 30, 2020
11/06/2019 Greek Cultural Experience IPSL: Greece - Refugees, Migration and Resilience & Micro-Entrepreneurship

"I gained a better understanding on another part of the world. I honestly felt like a native after just a month there. The Greek culture is so welcoming and inviting. I made so many friends who I still keep in contact with it. At first I was apprehensive about going away for school, as I was the only person in my program, but I a..."

College of Mount Saint Vincent
10/08/2019 Great Community Experience. Ecuador Community Based Health & Coastal Ecology And Development IPSL: Reviews from former Locations

"I gained an appreciation for the community of Ecuador "

Washington State University
12/06/2018 Excellent Experience And Caring Support Staff IPSL: Peru - Environmental Justice, Indigenous Health and Human Rights

"I certainly gained a deeper appreciation for other cultures and understanding of cultural relativism. My Spanish improved tremendously. It was absolutely worthwhile. "

Transylvania University
01/05/2018 Trans Formative. Guayaquil Study Abroad + Service Learning In Ecuador IPSL: Reviews from former Locations

"I learned how to view the world from another perspective. I learned the beauty of adventure and courage. I learned overall how we all connect together on this planet and how much love can change people and the world, one step at a time."

College of Mount Saint Vincent
12/15/2017 Interesting And Challenging IPSL: Ireland - Social and Environmental Stewardship for Sustainable Communities

"I learned how to work hard and adjust to a new country"

El Camino College
08/28/2017 Growth. Guayaquil Study Abroad + Service Learning In Ecuador IPSL: Reviews from former Locations

"I gained a love for myself, my strengths, my language and skills"

Duke University
06/25/2017 I Loved It. Chiang Mai Study Abroad + Service Learning In Thailand IPSL: Reviews from former Locations

"It was so worth it, it changed me as a person"

St. Lawrence University
06/07/2017 My Experience Was Self Reflective And Transformative. Chiang Mai Study Abroad + Service Learning In Thailand IPSL: Reviews from former Locations

"I learned how to reflect on my home culture in a more worldly view. "

St. Lawrence University
03/07/2017 Amazing Guatemalan Experience With A Local Flair IPSL: Guatemala - Ecology, Culture and Justice

"A new dose of perspective and appreciation for where my food comes from and how hard the local farmers and people work. 100% worthwhile. "

College of Mount Saint Vincent
02/07/2017 A Lifetime Remembrance IPSL: Greece - Refugees, Migration and Resilience & Micro-Entrepreneurship

"I've learned a lot about myself, but mainly I've learned that you can never take anything for granted because (A) other people are either doing okay with less than you and (B) life moves faster than you can blink"

College of Mount Saint Vincent
01/22/2017 Becoming Comfortable With The Uncomfortable. Siena: Study Abroad + Service Learning In Italy IPSL: Reviews from former Locations

"i can speak very good italian! it was absolutely worthwhile...i gained a sense of confidence and security and safety within myself that i carry with me now everywhere."

The Evergreen State College
01/11/2017 Go For It IPSL: Ireland - Social and Environmental Stewardship for Sustainable Communities

"One thing I really learned was how to handle stressful situations. I'm overall a pretty daring person, but there were times where i was well out of my comfort zone. I learned not to panic, to keep my head on, and handle what needs to be handled. "

College of Mount Saint Vincent
01/04/2017 Best Semester Ever. IPSL: Ireland - Social and Environmental Stewardship for Sustainable Communities

"I learned about another culture that was very different than my own. I also learned a lot about myself and how I really don't know what I want to do with my life yet, but there is a whole world out there with opportunities. "

Emory & Henry College
Past Review The Journey Of A Lifetime IPSL: Greece - Refugees, Migration and Resilience & Micro-Entrepreneurship

"You should take nothing for granted. This entire trip and learning experience was certainly worthwhile."

College of Mount Saint Vincent
Past Review Truly Nothing Like It. Siena: Study Abroad + Service Learning In Italy IPSL: Reviews from former Locations

"Italian language skills, friendships with local Italians and Americans, unique experiences that still are asked about in conversation, the opportunity to truly experience life as an Italian."

University of Colorado - Boulder
Past Review Traveling Helped Me Realize What I Truly Want For My Life. Guayaquil Study Abroad + Service Learning In Ecuador IPSL: Reviews from former Locations

"I gained the ability to speak Spanish and confidence. As a foreigner, I was put out of my comfort zone countless time and from that, I learned to embrace who I am and open myself up to others more. "

College of Mount Saint Vincent
Past Review A Different World IPSL: Peru - Environmental Justice, Indigenous Health and Human Rights

"Worth it for sure. I learned a lot about how to live in a different culture and just how much culture infiltrates out everyday personalities and we don't even know it."

SUNY - College at New Paltz
Past Review Incredible Program. Galapagos & Quito Study Abroad + Service Learning In Ecuador IPSL: Reviews from former Locations

"The Galapagos are an incredible place for so many reasons."

Pomona College
Past Review People And Experiences I Will Never Forget! Guayaquil Study Abroad + Service Learning In Ecuador IPSL: Reviews from former Locations

"Learned how to interact with a culture very different from my own. Express my feelings and opinions to people who have been exposed to something very different from me. "

University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
Past Review It Was An Experience That Everyone Needs To Have To Understand Culture. IPSL: Ireland - Social and Environmental Stewardship for Sustainable Communities

"I learned to learn about a community before putting my own ideas into it. It was definitely worthwhile!"

Emory & Henry College
Past Review An Amazing Service Learning Opportunity In A Culturally Fascinating Location IPSL: Peru - Environmental Justice, Indigenous Health and Human Rights

"My Spanish abilities greatly improved, I now have a much better understanding of Peruvian and Latin American history and culture, I made wonderful friends, saw amazing historical and cultural sites, and grew in my understanding of service."

Seton Hall University
Past Review The Most Integrated Experience Possible In A Program With American Students. Siena: Study Abroad + Service Learning In Italy IPSL: Reviews from former Locations

"I learned a lot of patience with the italian culture. The program was definitely worth while. "

Middlebury College
Past Review Study, Volunteer, And Travel In Cusco: Life Changing IPSL: Peru - Environmental Justice, Indigenous Health and Human Rights

"I learned how to live in a new culture, I became much more patient after volunteering at a clinic here in Cusco, and I gained many new skills and experiences."

Drake University
Past Review Ecuador: A Small Country With A Huge Variety Of Adventures. Galapagos & Quito Study Abroad + Service Learning In Ecuador IPSL: Reviews from former Locations

"YES!!! I gained a lot more confidence in my abilities to do things on my own and to live in a place that is totally foreign to me. I loved the chance to make new friends, explore a new country,and speak a new language. My eyes have been more opened to the wealth of experiences in the world. I am now more interested in a caree..."

Middlebury College