4.6 - 113 Reviews

Spanish Studies Abroad

http://www.spanishstudies.org/

Spanish Studies Abroad is a program provider offering 11 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad, Internship, Volunteer, Intensive Language, Graduate Program, and High School abroad programs in 5 countries such as Argentina, Spain, Puerto Rico, and Cuba.

The mission of Spanish Studies Abroad is to promote our students' in-depth understanding of Spanish-speaking countries through specifically-designed and academically rigorous university-level and cultural travel programs.

Spanish Studies Abroad (The Center for Cross-Cultural Study) was founded in 1969, providing unique learning experiences in Seville, Alicante and Barcelona, Spain; Córdoba, Argentina; San Juan, Puerto Rico; and Havana, Cuba.

We invite you to expand your view of the world through immersion in these fascinating cities. With a strong dedication to academic integrity and an emphasis on your personal growth, Spanish Studies has developed a reputation for superior quality and value in study abroad programming.

Study Abroad with Spanish Studies Abroad

OVERALL RATING 4.6
Based on 113 Reviews
Academics
Healthcare
Admin
Housing
Social/Cultural
Overall Experience
November 25, 2020
05/19/2020 Wish It Was Longer Spanish Studies Abroad: Alicante - Semester, Year or Summer in Alicante

"I was able to gain the beginnings of language comprehension for another language and start to grasp the ideologies of another culture."

University of Hartford
01/30/2020 The Best Experience! Spanish Studies Abroad: Alicante - Semester, Year or Summer in Alicante

"I learned that it's okay to make a mistake. This may seem like something simple but for me it was a huge realization. Now whenever I'm speaking I feel more relaxed. I also learned that there is so much of the world to explore and you can't let the fear of the unknown stop you."

University of Wyoming
01/25/2020 Home Away From Home Spanish Studies Abroad: Alicante - Semester, Year or Summer in Alicante

"From being completely integrated into the language, my level of Spanish improved from intermediate to nearly fluent. My mind was also open to many new cultures (the culture of Spain in addition to cultures from all around the world from people I met). I also learned more independence and became more outgoing and less shy."

University of Hartford
12/02/2019 Thanks For The Memories! (And The Mate) Spanish Studies Abroad: Córdoba - Internship and Service Learning in Argentina

"I got to play field hockey with a club team at the Universidad Nacional de Córdoba, which honed my language AND social as well as my field hockey skills. The hockey season after I got home was my best in four years. I gained so much invaluable life experience and language skills. It was so worth it. "

Houghton College
10/11/2019 The Hidden Gem On The Costa Blanca Spanish Studies Abroad: Alicante - Semester, Year or Summer in Alicante

"It was incredibly worthwhile. During my time abroad, I realized that I didn't know as much as I thought I did and it made me re-evaluate how I see myself as a student."

Susquehanna University
04/23/2019 Life Changing Experience Spanish Studies Abroad: Seville - Semester, Year or Summer in Seville

"I gained a better understanding of the world around me, in terms of history and culture. I became more confident and independent. "

Mount Holyoke College
01/06/2019 Pretty Frickin Cool Spanish Studies Abroad: Barcelona - Semester, Year or Summer in Spain

"I learned the importance of Spanish culture, language, and more importantly the art of Barcelona and Europe. "

University of Hartford
09/04/2018 A Whole New World Spanish Studies Abroad: Barcelona - Semester, Year or Summer in Spain

"Before my semester abroad I had never been out of the country. Being in Spain and in Europe I learned to appreciate other cultures and branch out of my shy tendencies. It also gave me the nerves to finally speak Spanish with people other than my grandparents without feeling like I was being judged."

University of Hartford
08/29/2018 Stay In Seville, Spain Spanish Studies Abroad: Seville - Semester, Year or Summer in Seville

"I have a better understanding of the language and my personality changed. I'm more relaxed (I was pretty uptight), I'm willing to try more things, and it was amazing. "

Wartburg College
05/26/2018 A Life Changing Experience In Seville Spanish Studies Abroad: Seville - Semester, Year or Summer in Seville

"I can communicate in Spanish better. "

University of Hartford
05/16/2018 Would Not Recommend Spanish Studies Abroad! Spanish Studies Abroad: Seville - Semester, Year or Summer in Seville

"I'm really glad that I went abroad and that I went out of my way to integrate myself into Spanish life. "

Carleton College
04/06/2018 I Would Go Back In Heartbeat Spanish Studies Abroad: Barcelona - Semester, Year or Summer in Spain

"My Spanish improved significantly. I was able to see amazing things in person. I was able to adapt to and learned to love a new city."

Hollins University
06/04/2017 Go Abroad Spanish Studies Abroad: Seville - Semester, Year or Summer in Seville

"I learned so much about myself and have grown as a person, I got to experience a new culture and learn the language, it was 100% worth it and i was so sad to leave "

Wartburg College
06/01/2017 I Fell In Love With Barcelona. Spanish Studies Abroad: Barcelona - Semester, Year or Summer in Spain

"I gained about 10 pounds and a lot of international experience. I also learned so much about the culture from living with a host family. It was completely worthwhile."

Birmingham-Southern College
05/30/2017 Tuscaloosa, Hollywood, And Disney World Have A Child It's Called Sevilla. Spanish Studies Abroad: Seville - Semester, Year or Summer in Seville

"I learned the value and importance of not talking a lot. While studying abroad, I learned that verbal communication, while a precious gift, is not always necessary. I also learned that I can live a simpler life. In Europe, people do not seem to as frequently have these Texas sized, huge personalities, massive tracts of land, and..."

Birmingham-Southern College
04/04/2017 Argentina Adventure And Growth (Linguistic And Personal) Spanish Studies Abroad: Córdoba - Semester, Year or Summer in Argentina

"I learned a ton of spanish, I became more independent, I am less self-conscious, my compassion and love for humanity (in its million different forms and places of life) grew greatly, I appreciate the opportunity to get an education so much more and I have more respect for others in that we each have wonderfully complex lives and..."

Trinity University
02/28/2017 The Most Incredible Experience I Could Have Asked For Spanish Studies Abroad: Seville - Semester, Year or Summer in Seville

"What didn't I gain from this experience? I learned how to accept and immerse myself into a new culture, speak a new language, navigate cities (without WiFi), be willing to try new things, more about who I am. This experience was beyond incredible and more than worthwhile. "

Susquehanna University
02/23/2017 I Wish I Could Go Again. Spanish Studies Abroad: Seville - Semester, Year or Summer in Seville

"I was able to do so much with my experience abroad. I taught English, visited 10 countries, and became so much more fluent in the Spanish language. "

Susquehanna University
01/23/2017 Everyone Should Study Abroad In Sevilla Spanish Studies Abroad: Seville - Semester, Year or Summer in Seville

"I gained confidence in myself. It is such an eye opening experience and you really learn how to be an adult when you're away from American life. I would 110% say it was definitely worthwhile. "

Xavier University of Louisiana
01/10/2017 One Of The Best Experiences I've Had, And Wouldn't Change A Thing About It. Spanish Studies Abroad: Seville - Semester, Year or Summer in Seville

"I was able to learn more Spanish, was able to learn and appreciate more the Spanish culture and travel all through Europe. It was definitely worthwhile."

Wartburg College
Past Review Worth It. Spanish Studies Abroad: Seville - Semester, Year or Summer in Seville

"I gained a greater perspective on the world while gaining a greater perspective on myself."

Wartburg College
Past Review Fantastic Winter Study Abroad Course In Havana, Cuba Spanish Studies Abroad: Havana - Semester, Year or Summer in Cuba

"It was absolutely worthwhile. I made long-lasting connections with Cubans and with Cuban history, politics, and economics, and learned enough about the country to enable further academic study. "

CUNY - Brooklyn College
Past Review A Dream Come True Spanish Studies Abroad: Seville - Semester, Year or Summer in Seville

"My ability to communicate in Spanish and learn effectively greatly improved during my time abroad. Living in Sevilla taught me independence and helped me gain a more global perspective on life. "

Ithaca College
Past Review A Year Of Adventure In Sevilla Spanish Studies Abroad: Seville - Semester, Year or Summer in Seville

"Study abroad is the most worthwhile thing I did while in college. I feel like it is one of those things that everyone should do, especially the people that feel they don't need to or don't want to. I learned so much about myself, I challenged myself, I explored new places, met new people and improved my Spanish. This is truly a ..."

Linfield College
Past Review Great Program With Some Minor Reservations Spanish Studies Abroad: Havana - Semester, Year or Summer in Cuba

"Yes, absolutely! It was an affordable program that returned so much to me. "

Carleton College