4.6 - 16 Reviews

Gustolab International

https://www.gustolab.com/

Gustolab International is a program provider offering 5 abroad programs. Programs offered include Study Abroad, Internship, and Research abroad programs in 3 countries such as Italy, Vietnam, and Japan.

With over 10 years of experience, Gustolab International Food Systems and Sustainability is a pioneering leader in developing study abroad programs and research projects on Food Systems and Sustainability. Its courses broadly cover topics related to food such as the history of food, the chemistry of production processes, the critical analysis of food systems, the study of food cultures, sustainable agriculture, the architecture of space related to food, food waste, nutrition, psychology, communication and the design of food systems, just to name a few. GLi’s programs and courses focus promote critical thinking, trans-disciplinary and multicultural knowledge acquisition through field research that incorporates ethnographic analysis and interactions with communities and visits to territories that are vital for food production and food culture in Italy. Students emerge with skills and training that can be implemented in their future studies and careers (the future experts of food systems and sustainability). Gustolab International has worked on study abroad programs in collaboration with over 30 universities.

Study Abroad with Gustolab International

OVERALL RATING 4.6
Based on 16 Reviews
Admin
Academics
Social/Cultural
Housing
Healthcare
Overall Experience
July 11, 2020
08/24/2018 The Most Eye Opening Experience Of My Life! Gustolab International: Rome - Institute for Food Studies Semester and Programs

"I gained an abundance of independence and confidence in my ability to meet new people. I learned a new perspective on food, nutrition and sustainability of Italian culture versus American. I learned to respect differences in cultures and fully immerse myself to get the most out of my experience. It was extremely worthwhile and e..."

University of Massachusetts Amherst / UMass
07/13/2018 An Amazing Experience: Wish I Could Do It Again! Gustolab International: Rome - Critical Studies on Food in Italy Food Systems and Sustainability

"This was my first time in Europe, so I was able to learn and understand the European and Mediterranean cultures. I also was able to learn from locals about food systems and sustainability within Italy, and understand the differences between both Italy and the USA. I loved everything about my experience with Gustolab and Rome, it..."

University of Massachusetts Amherst / UMass
07/04/2018 An Amazing And Challenging Study Abroad Experience That I Would Reccomend. Gustolab International: Rome - Institute for Food Studies Semester and Programs

"i learned how to be more adapatable, patient, determined, and to figure things out for myself while staying calm. It was absolutely worthwhile. "

University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign
06/20/2018 An Experience Of A Lifetime! Gustolab International: Rome - Critical Studies on Food in Italy Food Systems and Sustainability

"As a person living in the US there is so much to learn from other cultures especially when it pertains to food and health. The past can teach us so much about how we should be eating and living now. This program gave me a taste of what eating a true Mediterranean diet means. "

Teachers College, Columbia University
06/18/2018 A Summer Of Gastronomic Education In Roma Gustolab International: Rome - Institute for Food Studies Semester and Programs

"I learned much about the cultural importance of food, the nutritional aspects of the food we eat, and how much of a problem food waste is in the world. The program was extremely worthwhile."

University of Massachusetts Amherst / UMass
06/11/2018 Ti Amo, Roma Gustolab International: Rome - Institute for Food Studies Semester and Programs

"I learned how different the world is outside of America. I had been to Europe before, but only by living in another country for an extended period of time can you understand the different cultural nuances. I think this un-American view is important to have because I plan on spending more time out of the states. "

University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign
05/15/2018 Love Rome, Hate Gustolab Gustolab International: Rome - Institute for Food Studies Semester and Programs

"Abroad was definitely worth it and I had an amazing time due to being with close friends, however the program was almost unbearable."

University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign
01/24/2018 Life Changing Experience! Gustolab International: Rome - Institute for Food Studies Semester and Programs

"Gained knowledge and experience of what life is like outside of the US!"

University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign
10/01/2017 Vegan Foodie Studies Sustainability And Stays Full In Rome. Gustolab International: Rome - Institute for Food Studies Semester and Programs

"I learned that there are amazing people doing amazing work to combat the social and environmental issues that I am passionate about. I also learned how important it is to get worldly views of these issues and to compare and contrast how effectively they are being dealt with in one place compared to another. "

University of Vermont
09/26/2017 Perfect City And Perfect Country! Gustolab International: Rome - Institute for Food Studies Semester and Programs

"Learned more about Sustainability, and Italian food culture. "

University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign
09/26/2017 The Best Food. Ever! Gustolab International: Rome - Institute for Food Studies Semester and Programs

"I learned a lot about olive oil and wine, so I am very boujee about those things now. I also did a lot of growing up in terms of navigating a new space on my own."

University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign
09/26/2017 The Greatest Experience Of My Undergraduate Career Gustolab International: Rome - Institute for Food Studies Semester and Programs

"Gained friendship and the ability to live out of my comfort zone"

University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign
09/26/2017 Great Experience! Gustolab International: Rome - Institute for Food Studies Semester and Programs

"I learned all about food and culture of Italy. It was also a great opportunity to travel around Europe. It was a great experience"

University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign
09/26/2017 The Best Semester Of College! Gustolab International: Rome - Institute for Food Studies Semester and Programs

"This experience was completely worthwhile for me. Not only did I come home with a group of new friends but I also felt like I learned a lot living in a foreign country. I think it's so important for people to get out of their comfort zone and experience a culture different than their own. I learned a lot about myself as well as ..."

University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign
09/26/2017 Gustolab Gave Me A New Appreciation For Food & Wine! Gustolab International: Rome - Institute for Food Studies Semester and Programs

"I gained an extensive knowledge of the Italian food & wine business, which is vastly different from how America does it. I discovered how much passion farmers have for their products and how we can learn and apply this knowledge to encourage sustainable and innovative food systems."

University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign
09/19/2017 I Love Rome Gustolab International: Rome - Institute for Food Studies Semester and Programs

"I knew I wanted to keep going abroad!"

University of Massachusetts Amherst / UMass
06/02/2017 Not Worth It Gustolab International: Rome - Institute for Food Studies Semester and Programs

"-Foreign culture -Life Experience "

Auburn University