Parent Review: Dream Come True for our Son September 05, 2018

By (Parent Reviews of Study Abroad) - abroad from 06/29/2018 to 07/29/2018 with

CLA: Guanajuato - Summer Spanish & Culture

What did you gain/learn from your experience abroad? Was it worthwhile?
Our son is interested in speaking Spanish, traveling and returned with confidence and more open-minded.

Personal Information

How much international exposure did you have prior to this program? 0-2 weeks

Review Your Program

* Overall educational experience

Academic rigor, intensity, resources, etc.

Our son, age 17, returned home motivated to further his studies in Spanish. Prior to the visit he was uninterested. It what beyond what we had hoped for him. Highly recommend.

* Host Country Program Administration

On-site administration of your program

Fabiola was supportive and inspiring. Our son, age 17, was on his own for the first time and she provided the most nurturing and enriching experience. She was a reliable correspondent prior to and during his stay in Guanajuato. She is worldly and so gifted at community building and her passion is contagious. We're recommending this program to other parents.

* Housing:

How satisfied were you with your living arrangements?

Our son felt a connection to his house mom who was reported to be an amazing cook. The location was convenient to the university. The location allowed for safe exploration and involvement in the city.

* Food:

Apparently it was outstanding because our son raved about it which is unusual for him. He's vegetarian.

* Social & Cultural Integration:

How integrated did you feel with the local culture?

Very integrated. The city and Fabi's love for it was life changing for our son, age 17.

* Health Care:

How well were health issues addressed during the program?

He had an upset stomach and could talk about it to Fabi and his house mom. He texted us and together we all agreed on something he could buy over the counter.

* Safety:

Very safe.

If you could do it all over again would you choose the same program? Yes

Our son, age 17, wants to return and we are recommending Fabi and the program to parents of other mature teens.

Finances

* Money: How easily were you able to live on a student's budget?

(1 = not very easy/$200+ on food & personal expenses/week, 2.5 = $100/week, 5 = very easily/minimal cost)

Our son, age 17, had an ATM card and banks in Guanajuato were accessible. He hardly spent any additional money there.

Language

* Did your program have a foreign language component? Yes
How much did the program encourage you to use the language?

0 = No encouragement, 5 = frequent encouragement to use the language

How would you rate your language skills at the beginning of the program? Beginner
How would you rate your language skills at the end of the program? Intermediate
What was the highest level language course you had completed prior to departure? highschool grade 11
How many hours per day did you use the language?

Other Program Information

* Where did you live?

Select all that apply

  • Host Family
* Who did you live with?

Select all that apply

  • International Students
  • Host Family
* Who did you take classes with?

Select all that apply

  • International Students
About how many local friends did you make that you will likely keep in touch with?

A Look Back

* What did you like most about the program?
  • Fabi's passion about Mexico
  • Spanish immersion opportunity
  • very safe
* What could be improved?
  • it was perfect for us
* What do you know now that you wish you knew before going on this program? we are completely satisfied and we found Fabi's program at the exact right time for our son